We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
1,389 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
“Great room and location”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Reading the other reviews, I feel lucky that we had such a great experience. We got upgraded to a huge suite with a very good view. We had coffee in our room, a shuttle to our restaurant and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was not very good, but it was included, and we went down pretty late, so everything had been sitting a while. The staff at the front desk, the valet and the server at breakfast were all excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    435
    143
    64
    48
See reviews for
276
297
69
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I am a pilot and travel a lot! As a Diamond member of Hilton Hotels I've seen almost everything there is in a hotel! There were no surprises here, good room, good location for downtown, shuttle to ballgames, good restaurant in hotel. Overall, Good Room/Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilot_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, MI, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2014

From the time that I called to make the reservation to the time I got into my vehicle to leave, everyone was incredibly nice! We stayed two nights for 4th of July weekend to attend Tigers games. The hotel was exceptional, friendly staff, clean and very accommodating to our group. Greektown and Comerica Park were within walking distance, but the people mover was only a block away if walking was inconvenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked a conference here and they reneged on all their promises and cannot be trusted. Very unprofessional. They lied about security arrangements and liaisons with the Detroit Police Department. They left all of our delegates stranded.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 161limeywestlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, however it's the little things that make or break a room experience. Our curtain was broken (hanging off the rod) and as soon as we tried to close it the curtain rod came crashing to the floor. There are black marks on the walls in every room from previous guest's suitcases. The shower needs a re-grouting desperately and there were hair strands on the shower floor. The showerheads had rust-colored calcium deposits built up on every hole. The couch looked like it belonged in a college dorm due to the extreme pilling and faded nature of the fabric. On the positive side, the carpet looks new, the bed was comfortable, and the separate living room and bedroom areas were great.


As a Hilton Honors Diamond member, I was shocked to receive complimentary breakfast coupons that only included a continental breakfast. We were told we'd have to pay a $4 upcharge per person if we wanted hot buffet items. I have never experienced this tiered complimentary breakfast system at any other Hilton property I've stayed in domestically or internationally. What a way to shortchange your best customers... if we stayed at a Hampton Inn (sister Hilton property) we could have gotten all hot/cold breakfast items at no cost. Why establish an upcharge system at a Doubletree?

We checked out the buffet and the hot items looked mediocre at best, so we went with the continental breakfast. The server came to our table after we'd gotten our food and said (direct quote), "So you went with the free stuff, huh?". That comment was extremely unprofessional and off-putting. It made us feel very judged for sticking with what looked like the better breakfast choices anyway, free or not.

Based on the room and breakfast experience, this will be our last stay here. We've stayed here twice before when in Detroit for business, but we can easily find another hotel in the area. In fact, if you don't mind a drive into the city, I'd highly recommend the Hampton Inn in Canton.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookiemonster1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Business traveler... Good food, nice room, good fitness center. No complaints. Friendly, helpful staff. I would certainly stay here again. I don't really have anything to add, except to say I hope this gets me over 200 characters.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Considering how bad the cab service was in Dearborn, where we spent 3 days, we were afraid of getting a cab to take us to Detroit. My husband called the Doubletree and Eric recommended a private driver who picked us up and took us to Detroit at a very reasonable price. The hotel is very well kept, rooms very clean and spacious at a very good price. The hotel offers shuttle service to different attractions even beyond the 3 mile radius around downtown. All the drivers were very friendly and helpful. The Finn & Porter Round Bar offered a good selection of food until 11 PM.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,089 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.8 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing