We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, close to Cobo Hall, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice, close to Cobo Hall, great staff!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I planned a trip to the North American Auto Show in Detroit and I selected the Doubletree Ft. Shelby. It was about 3 blocks from the entrance. Turned out to be a great choice. Spacious and clean rooms, good restaurant, shuttle service almost anywhere in the vicinity and very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Valet parking was available for $23 per day but event parking at Cobo was only $10
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIRoadWarrior42416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, Director of Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to being of service again.



Larry Brown,Director of Guest Relations
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
525 W. Lafayette Blvd., Detroit, MI 48226
313.963.5600 | Fax 313.963.5604
to being of service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    420
    134
    62
    46
See reviews for
252
287
66
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband booked this hotel for our weekend getaway to Detroit to see a Red Wings game. The hotel was great. We had a one bedroom type room with a cozy livingroom area with a tv and pull out sofa bed. We really enjoyed the room as it was very spacious and cozy. The hotel was perfectly located within walking distance to the people mover which was extremely easy to use. I loved it. Hotel staff was great and gave us cookies upon checking in, yum!!! I would recommend this hotel to travelers. We would dfeinitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audreybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. I would defintely visit again. The brunch is a must have even if you don't stay at the hotel. The variety of foods are wonderful, everything tasted great. I would definitely recommend hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Laisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We got a 2 room king suite for a great deal & it was an AMAZING room! The Bartender Cassandra in the Round bar was SO helpful getting us directions & telling us about the local places around town. (& she makes one AWESOME margarita!!) The shuttle was the perfect transport the the Joe & only had to wait a few minutes between pickups. Over all I would definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Visitors to Detroit will want to stay at the Doubletree only for its generally good prices or if they have business in the immediate area.

While the staff is very friendly and quite helpful, and the rooms are overly large, we found the Doubletree to be very noisy, with loud music evident in the lobby area and sometimes in the hallways. We discovered that this is mostly due to the fact that hotel is a popular venue for weddings, often several during a single weekend. The lobby is also very unappealing, and seemed to serve as hangout for locals.

While the hotel restaurant offers a very good breakfast, and perhaps the best grits on the planet, its bar is very shabby and disappointing. Located on the front corner of the hotel, the bar seems to be more interested in appealing to a neighborhood clientele rather than its hotel guests. After my initial visit to the bar, on the second night in Detroit I walked a short distance to the Westin whose bar is more refined and offers better meals.

As a Hilton Honors member I enjoyed the points I earned, but I would not stay at the Doubletree again, but rather the Westin around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ovando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The lobby of the hotel was beautiful and impressive. The room was very nice other than the sofa in the room which appeared to be in need of being replaced or professionally cleaned. The rest of the room was excellent and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend using staying at this hotel for pleasure again and to anyone asking for a nice place to stay. Before you arrive I would recommend that they look for parking as the hotel will charge you for using the valet service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I spent 3 nights at the DoubleTree Suites hotel in downtown Detroit and would recommend to anyone needing a hotel in downtown Detroit. The room was big and clean and centrally located close to Cobo Hall. The restaurants had very good food and the bar was great after work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing