We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DoubleTree Suites in Detroit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I spent 3 nights at the DoubleTree Suites hotel in downtown Detroit and would recommend to anyone needing a hotel in downtown Detroit. The room was big and clean and centrally located close to Cobo Hall. The restaurants had very good food and the bar was great after work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mark H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

So I was walking barefoot in my hotel room - HUGE MISTAKE. They had exposed wood from pulled back carpet with staples/nails sticking out and it sliced into my foot which is bleeding as we speak. Mike from the front desk came up after I called and all he said was, "Do you want to change rooms?" No big apologies, nothing. Nevermind that a nail from your hotel went into my foot. I can barely walk right now, let alone pack everything up and hall it to a different room. I asked if they had a rug or mat or anything to place over this as it is an extreme safety hazard. He said maintenance would take care of it and left. I'm still waiting for someone to fix this.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your comments. I am so sorry that you stepped on a nail in your room. I can assure you that this issue is extremely rare to occur and sincerely apologize for the terrible inconvenient you went though. I hope you will not let this isolated incident detour you from staying with us in the future. I am confident that given the opportunity, your next stay with us will be a more pleasant one. I encourage you to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss this matter further as I am always listening to our guests. Thank again you for your time and valued feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Staff at the Doubletree in downtown Detroit worked very hard to ensure that we had a pleasant stay. Our reservation was in order when we arrived late at night, the room was quite clean, and the prompt, courteous, and free shuttle service to downtown attractions was particularly appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 104Avid_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I love staying at this hotel in the Detroit area the staff is really nice and the rooms are updated and clean. When I arrived to the hotel I was politely greeted by the staff and recognized as a valued hotel guest. The cookies are usually warm and fresh. If available the staff does not hesitate to provide a room upgrade.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Keisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I loved the fact that all the hotel rooms are a 2 room suite - very large and comfortable! The location was great, yet quiet enough to get some good rest and the staff were very accommodating. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I spent one night in the area and needed something right downtown. I was a little surprised by the size of the room as normally rooms are much smaller for a comparable price (and they are rooms not suites like this was)! The warm cookie given on check in, while not a reason to choose a hotel, was a great added bonus.

The staff was very friendly, and were very patient with me when I didn't quite understand what they had been telling me (I was having an overly slow day!). I asked where a specific restaurant was located, and they actually suggested the free shuttle they have for anyplace within 3 miles. Many locations I have been in have tried to hide the fact that they have a shuttle. I wasn't pleased about having to wait outside for it, but I was fortunate enough to have the shuttle actually there when I went to wait.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostinspace4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Nice place, would like to have had access to food later in the evening. The quality of valet service left a little to be desired. Front desk personnel were very helpful. The extremely cold weather was also a challenge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
8.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
0.6 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $152 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing