We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Detroit Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Detroit Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This has become my first choice for hotels when we visit Detroit! The staff was very friendly and very helpful. The food was excellent. The room was very spacious and quiet. We used the shuttle to get dropped off and picked up by Comerica Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    415
    133
    62
    46
See reviews for
248
283
64
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

A group of us have stayed in this hotel twice in the last 6 months and have had a great experience. The hotel offers great rates, rooms and staff. Enjoy Detroit and be located to walk were ever you want too or take the hotel shuttle bus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is very nice, clean, and safe. Staff is for the most part very friendly and helpful. Although carpet seemed outdated, the room was very nice. On-site food options were great to have as well. Valet may have taken longer than I liked, but it was still good and very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Good: Room was VERY spacious and had 2 separate rooms. (and this wasn't a suite) The bathroom was enormous and very nice. I've had hotel rooms in Manhattan that were smaller than the bathroom at the Doubletree. The Bad: I'm being nitpicky here because our stay was not bad at all. The valet parking attendants are a bit insistent to park your car in an open air lot across the street for $23 per day if you pull up in front of the hotel. After realizing we could self park next door for less than half of that, we felt pressured to allow the valets to go ahead and park it... they immediately began taking our things out of the vehicle. Overall good experience and I'd likely stay here again. (If you're looking for night-life, Greek Town was a lot of fun)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Judd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hotel location isn't the best, but its hard to blame the Hotel. Valet parking area is just a curb, smokers often congregate in this area while you wait on your vehicle. Desk staff was generally rude and did not address issues when they came up. Breakfast coupons were provided but not explained (they don't actually give you a normal breakfast). Room had stains on the carpet and beat-up furniture in the bathroom. Hilton properties normally do a bang-up job but this one dropped the ball. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel was nice and the stay was typical. Nothing great nothing bad, just your average hotel. The staff was friendly and the hotel was comfortable. The cookies at check in are awesome. We would come back if in Detroit MI.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times and will continue to stay here. The restaurant has great food. The staff is very friendly and accomadating and the rooms are always very clean and spacious. The amazing cookies are an added bonus!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank jengyori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing