We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here when we went to Detroit to see a Red Wings game. The hotel is conveniently located very close to the Joe Louis Arena and the waterfront. We stayed in a corner suite. The room was comfortable, but I do have a few complaints.

The couch, chair and pillows in the living area of the suite were all rather drab and the pillows even had tears in the fabric where the stuffing was spilling out. The area where the microwave/mini fridge/coffee maker were located did not have enough outlets to have the items all plugged in at the same time, so we kept having to unplug one thing to plug in another, which was somewhat irritating.

The bed was very comfortable and the sleep quality was great. The customer service was fantastic and they even allowed us a late check out so we didn't have to leave our bags in the car while we were at the hockey game. They offer a free shuttle service within a 3 mile radius of the hotel, which proved very helpful in going and picking up dinner from Slows To Go (which I recommend!) A nice experience. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverchairchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    423
    134
    63
    48
See reviews for
255
290
66
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good choice for conference and business travel in downtown Detroit. 10 minutes walk to GM centre. Comfortable feeling and easy access to walk around the river (just 10 minutes walk). Close to Greek town where a lot of restaurants around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Liuquan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is for sure one hotel I'd come back to. I stayed here the weekend for a business trip and couldn't be any satisfied. Service was excellent, location was best and people here do take really good care of you. I am not a regular here and I was treated like they knew me from a long time. Note that this was my first time staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 434JoeM434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great stay at a wonderful hotel conveniently located on the quiet side of the downtown Detroit area. The staff was very attentive and accomodating and the suite style rooms were perfect for a family of 3 making a trip down to the area. The restaurant and bar area is situated perfectly and the coffee shop there in the lobby is a plus as well. Overall this is a wonderful hotel and I would recommend this to anyone traveling to the area whether for business or leisure purposes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Reginald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for the Taylor Swift concert. There was also a Red Wings game that night so Detroit was busy and I'm sure this hotel was booked solid. But, it didn't feel that way. We never experienced a delay and we never heard noise.

Our room was HUGE. I mean really HUGE. It had a separate room with a couch and some of us stayed up and watched TV while the others slept. The beds were really comfortable and we slept really well.

The staff was friendly, personable and helpful. I can't say enough positive things about this hotel, especially when you consider that the rates are reasonable. It was just wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELHappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The bedroom was fine. However, the living room needed dusting. I wasn't able to sit on the sofa because it was extremely dirty. The chair at the desk was loaded with dirt. I had to place on towel on the chair before I could sit down. The leather chairs are very nice; however, the chair was filthy needs cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Latonya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We opted for a room at this Doubletree last night, since we were attending the Red Wings game, and didn't want to make the drive home afterwards. Aside from the Wings losing (boo), we were so happy that we made the decision to stay here. It was just a few blocks walk to Joe Louis Arena, and even walking back in the dark at 10:00pm, there were people out on the streets, and we did not feel unsafe. (On a side note, I grew up in Detroit, and am familiar with many of the areas, and despite what people may say, you CAN walk around downtown and be safe...you just need to know where you are and where you are headed!)

We were given a beautiful corner suite, with the most comfortable bed and pillows I have ever slept on! The tub and toilet area was in a separate room from the sink/mirror/dressing area, which is so much better (and I wonder why all hotels aren't designed this way?) The living room area had its own flat screen tv, as did the bedroom. The one and ONLY issue we had, was by the time we came back from the game, we noticed the room temperature was up to 75 degrees, even though we had turned the air on (or thought we did) when we left. We made a call to the desk and there were to send someone up. By midnight, no one had come, but we had discovered that we could open the windows a couple of inches, which gave us adequate air for the evening. We let it go and said goodnight.

This morning, one of us had the full breakfast buffet (13.95) and I had the continental breakfast buffet (including oatmeal bar) for 7.00. It was a lovely restaurant, and food was more than adequate, and not overpriced by some hotel buffet standards. Fresh fruit on my oatmeal was appreciated and delicious! Service was really great, very attentive to coffee and water needs.

When we check out, I mentioned very nicely to the desk clerk, that we had called for someone to check the thermostat and ac in our room, but that no one arrived before midnight. I told her that it was fine, we opened the windows and I was only letting her know so that someone could attend to it before the next guests (and warmer weather) arrived. She apologized profusely, and said she would like to at least take the 5.00 movie charge off our bill. I was more than happy with that especially since I didn't request anything for compensation. Other than that one small issue, the service was fine all the way around, check in and check out easy and accomodating.

I will mention, that there is a 23.00 valet charge if you bring your car. There is no car lot on premises, however, there is a parking garage a block away. We were totally fine with the valet since we were leaving the car in for the night while we walked to the game. It was well worth not having to drive around the city, on a night where there were 4 major events going on, and looking for a place to park the car. Just be aware of this before you book.

You won't be disappointed in this hotel. I will be staying here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if available...very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francefantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,070 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing