We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch to live for...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brunch to live for...”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The brunch at Finn and Porter inside of the Doubletree is absolutely amazing. It's the perfect mix between traditional breakfast food and lunch. I decide on the buffet. I had fried fish with Mac and cheese and scrambled eggs. To top it off, I washed it all down with the bottomless mimosa's. Everything was delicious. The proximity to downtown detroit is great and parking is ample. The price per person is about $20 and who can beat that!?
If you're ever in detroit I strongly recommend this spot for Sunday brunch. Between the great food, food atmosphere and amazing music, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    429
    138
    64
    48
See reviews for
265
293
67
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I met up with some friend from Toronto there a couple weeks back, loved the hotel!! Rooms were very nice and they had a bar next to the lobby of the hotel. Short walk to the people mover which takes you all over downtown and casinos. Overall great experience and they have a free shuttle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfresh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Bautista, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

recently took 4 boys there to watch a Lion's football game. the location of this hotel was hard to beat, right downtown, with people-mover access just a 2 min. walk from the door. valet parked the car and never needed it again until we left a couple days later. the exercise room is fantastic, very high end equipment. would have enjoyed a pool, sauna and/or hot tub perhaps. but that was one of the few items lacking. suite was quiet and clean, beds/linens were very comfortable. we did not eat in, but there are options for dining as well as a nice lounge right in the hotel. we opted for some other local eateries, just a people-mover ride away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laker1rn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

So...first things first...I got a Great deal on this room. That being said, it was the best hotel stay I have had in Detroit! The location was within walking distance to everything. The room was fantastic and had a car theme to some of the furniture, like the seat belt bench or the shower with lugnut looking mechanics. The bed was wonderful as well! The suites provided a large room for friends or family to gather. The shower was wonderful! With the various showerheads and the large space, one of the best hotel showers ever!
Then their is the service. All employees from the valet to housekeeping were friendly and delivered Great customer service.
An awesome stay and on a holiday! If you get the opportunity this would make a great hotel for a stay in downtown Detroit!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I've been in the conference sales industry for over 20 years. Every so often you come across a property that really makes an impression, that has been my experience with Doubletree Detroit Dowtown-Fort Shelby. It is conveniently located with easy access to freeways and sporting events, and offers easy drive up valet service. The Front Desk staff is very friendly, and the smiling personality and professional manner of Danielle must be specifically mentioned. They are very lucky to have that woman as the first impression for their guests at check-in. After two visits, I'm looking forward to my next trip to Detroit, just so I can stay at the Doubletree again!

Room Tip: This is an all-suite hotel, so all the rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We checked in without a hitch. Front desk was very friendly and we received our warm chocolate chip cookie as promised from their website. This hotel has complimentary wifi access. The hotel also offered a free shuttle service to be dropped off anywhere in the surrounding area. We were thankful that they had this service so we didn't have to drive around. We got a glimpse of MexicanTown, but only scouted out GreekTown for the night. We were at the hotel for one night bc we were there for an NFL game (Detroit vs. GreenBay). Parking is about $26 with the hotel. However, right next to the hotel, there is a lot and its $10 for over night parking and $5 for a day. So we paid $15 and there was in and out privileges too.

The room we had was a suite with a king size bed. The living area is spacious with a tv and the bedroom has a tv as well. Very modern/updated look and cozy unit we had and very clean. We wanted to order the UFC fight but they don't seem to have Pay Per View available. Can you believe it? no bar in downtown Detroit offered the fight on tv!!!

Overall, the location of the hotel was good. Walking distance to Ford Field (about a 10min walk). Cabbing from GreekTown back to the hotel will cost you just under $6 without tip. It is not a lively downtown city like some other cities we've been to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was so impressed with my first stay here. The lobby is welcoming and well organized. The desk clerk was friendly and professional and the check-in process was quick and easy. We received an upgrade to a suite at the end of the hall on the 9th floor. It was fantastic! Great décor and comfortable. The one complaint that my partner had was that he would prefer better lighting in the bathroom area and a shave mirror. I would like to see a hook or two in the actual bathroom for clothing instead of having to pile things on the toilet. We enjoyed a drink at the bar in the evening and received wonderful service in a great atmosphere. Breakfast in the morning was outstanding! There was a huge variety and the server was friendly and very helpful. I have found a new favourite in Detroit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michigan_Traveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.8 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing