We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I'm from the Detroit area but have not stayed in a hotel downtown. I had a speaking engagement at Cobo Hall and was put up at this hotel. We arrived after midnight and was greeted with a two hot cookies. (350 calories btw but incredibly yummy). Even at that late hour, the front desk person made sure our car was taken care of. I asked to have a room away from elevators and ice machines and asked for an early wake-up call. Imagine our surprise to find that we were in a corner suite! We had large corner windows in both the bedroom and sitting room area. Even better, I had views of the river from many of the windows. The decor was contemporary and pleasant to look at and sit in. I'm fussy about cleanliness and always check what's under the mattress pads and pull mattresses away from the wall. Not only was everything very clean, but the bedskirt didn't have even a hint of lint under the mattress. The amenities were lemony and included a disposable facial cleansing cloth. The coffee was Wolfgang Puck and included real half and half - not powdered packets.

Since I had to go to Cobo, it was great to be able to walk. It was an easy 5 minute walk and I felt completely safe. The tv channel WDIV channel 4 is across the street. There isn't much in the way of businesses with a lot of people, but my event was on a Sunday morning. It might be different on a weekday. If you like to walk or run, the riverwalk and Hart Plaza are again a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    418
    134
    62
    46
See reviews for
252
285
66
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
464 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

last minute we booked this hotel through priceline and we were treated great. they put us in a 2 room suite with a king bed. hotel was nice. streets around were pretty dead but safe as 3-4 different law enforcement agencys are near. People mover is just around the corner. Free paper in the morning and a great coney island down the street.Will stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
So happy to hear your stay was pleasant. I have shared your comments with the team and we hope we get to serve you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaverfalls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were at Fort Shelby Doubletree for a wedding and had a wonderful time. Everyone on staff was very helpful and considerate and when we asked after items, we received prompt, courteous responses. (No, the cookies were not warm, but that is not that big of a problem). We were especially impressed by the valet staff, as they were both professional and friendly. One young man named Edward was especially kind to make sure an item I dropped was back to me before we left. A billing issue was settled quickly and professionally by the front desk folks. The air conditioner filter was quickly replaced by a friendly maintenance fellow. However, we did have some difficulties: the room was not thoroughly clean (trash and dirt under beds, behind furniture), there were missing toiletry and linen items and we saw a cockroach near the wedding dining area. We notified staff on each of these items and most were addressed. I am concerned that I called DoubleTree regarding the problems we experienced and have not received a response. I feel we should have received some type of response to these issues or at least a follow-up call.
In all, it is a terrific hotel, has wonderful food and great service, but truly needs to work on cleanliness. I hope we have the opportunity to visit again to enjoy the wonderful improvements that the city of Detroit has been making, to enjoy the interesting attractions and visit Fort Shelby Doubletree.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samiam11Beaverfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
I was glad to hear that you liked the hotel and our staff but very concerned about your cleaniness problem. Please be aware that our team takes this very to heart. I have addressed your issues with housekeeping and can assure you it will be corrected. Hope we see you again soon so you can see the changes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

First of all, the rooms are huge. What a bargain. All the standard ammentities including the mini-fridge. Bathroom was big. Bed was big and comfy. Whole room had a nice clean vibe to it. Plan on valet-parking your car. I wouldn't trust the random parking lots you see surrounding the hotel. It's like $20 a day but what the hay. Very pleasant staff, even give you cookies when you check in. Location is outside the 'heart' of downtown but still within walking distance of everything. Also located close to a people mover stop. We walked all the way over to RenCen and up to Comerica for a game and back. Hotel had a restaurant and and a bar that looked nice but we didn't visit. The only con I can really think of is the vending machines on some of the floors did not work. It took me 10 minutes one night to search every floor for a working vending machine. Other than that I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone really.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleEdmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
So glad to hear you enjoyed you time at the hotel and it met you expectations. Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback it means alot to the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was planning a trip for 6 guys, and this was the only hotel in a reasonable price range that said that had rooms that would accomodate 6. We were in town for a Tigers game and a night of casino/bar hopping, and we were able to fit 6 guys pretty comfortably in their large 2-queen + sofabed suite. The living room and bedrooms were big enough to fit 2 aerobeds, plus a rollaway bed from the hotel, so all 6 guys had their own mattress including the pullout sofa. Made for a very comfortable sleeping situation.
The amenities of the suite itself were pretty standard, no complaints about cleanliness or anything like that.
The location was pretty great for our purposes, walkable to the stadium, walkable to Greektown, and walkable to the MGM, but also right around the corner from public transportation if walking isn't your thing.
The only downside was having to pay 20 dollars for parking, with no self-parking alternative. I wish we had taken advantage of the restaurant/bar in the hotel lobby because that also looked pretty good. Overall a good stay at a great value and will most likely stay here again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Wow great to hear that you loved the size of our rooms. That happens to my favorite thing also it makes it so easy if you have several people in your room to be able to close the rooms off. Thanks for the great comments
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I have to say this hotel and it's restaurant bar were a very pleasant surprise. Scarlett and the staff in the Round Bar were excellent - fast and attentive. Food was GREAT!

The Round Bar stayed open after normal closing hours for our group and were always friendly and seemed to genuinely enjoy their work.

Rooms were fantastic - HUGE suites - clean comfortable beds and separate living room area - flat screen TV's in both rooms.

The Executive Lounge was not open while I was there - but I asked for and received vouchers for complimentary breakfasts. (8-day stay in November 2011).

Front Desk and shuttle driver staff were all very friendly and helpful - even took us to and from Motown Museum.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe4stage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so much for the response. It's always great to see when people are surprised by our hotel and our wonderful city. Hope we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Do not go to this hotel on a Monday. They hold a parking lot party until midnight that is directly under the windows. They use huge speakers with heavy bass music, making it impossible to sleep until the party is over. The crowd noise is also very bad until after the event is over. They advised me the event is every Monday night.
Upon check-in the staff was very unresponsive and acted as if they were doing me a favor by letting me stay in their hotel. They provided no information about the hotel to include me havng to ask for directions to the elevator. Very poor service all the way around.
On the positive side- the rooms are very spacious and well laid out. The beds are comfortable and had it not been for the incessant noise the night would have been nice.

Also note there is $20 valet parking as the only option other than unsecured lots which is not a good option in Detroit. I would recommend the Greektown Casino Hotel as a much nicer and comparatively priced hotel which is nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room to avoid the party noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie3446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
I was so sorry to hear about the nosie keeping you up at night. We have just started this outside event and are working out the bugs to ensure we don't disturb our other guest. I have gone over your issues with the front office manager and can ensure you that service is our number one concern. I so hope you will try us again and see that we do know how to deliver the promise to our guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing