We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time is still a charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“2nd time is still a charm”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This was our second visit to this Doubletree and still loved it. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They recommened a driver to pick us up and the airport and take us back (Mark Hudson) who was great. This is the perfect place to stay to go to a Red Wings game and very close to a people mover station. We are already making plans to stay there again this summer. We thought we had a farewell party when we left, I think half that staff was there to say good-bye. The only problem we saw was the bar closed too early, midnight.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinbadsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
First off welcome back. I love when people use the word charm, I too that this hotel has a great deal of historic charm. Thanks for continuing to stay with us and i look forward to many more visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    419
    134
    62
    46
See reviews for
252
287
66
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for business Nov 1-5. The room was a suite. Very clean and modern. I was pleasantly surprised at how large the room was. The beds were comfortable. There is also a small fridge in the room. You get a chocolate chip cookie upon check-in. The valet is $20/day, a bit slow to bring the car so call ahead for the car. The price per night was a good value.

I was not impressed by the food in the restaurant or breakfast buffet. The hotel bar was nice, good deals for happy hour and friendly bartenders. The bartenders made great recommendations for restaurants. Iron chef Michael Symon's restaurant is a wonderful restaurant located at the Westin hotel about 3 blocks away.

The hotel was centrally located downtown. It was 2 blocks from the COBO convention center and 1 block from the Detroit people mover. The hotel offers a free shuttle that will take you anywhere downtown until 11pm, please remember to tip the driver. The MGM hotel and casino is also close by.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tps123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
i am so pleased you enjoyed the value you received during your recent stay. Its nice when you see that our guest experiance delivered the expectation. I look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in late August. The suites are large and pleasant. The valet parking service was excellent -- among the best response time we have ever experienced. The location is good -- convenient to the People mover and downtown sites. We did experience some problems -- two major lights bulbs were burnt out in our suite. We immediately notified the reception desk and were told the bulbs would be replaced; however, they never were replaced during our stay. The placement of the toilet paper holder in the bathroom was very strange -- around a corner from the toilet which made it difficult to reach when needed. This was not the cleanest place we have ever stayed in -- we chose not to sit on the couch because it was covered with a dirty residue. Check-in and check-out took some time. We traveled with another couple and the design of their suite, its cleanliness and availability of lighting were all better than what we encountered in our suite.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaS04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your great comment on our suites and our location. We always love to hear when people see how close we are to everything downtown and enjoy staying in the largest rooms in the city. Look forward to seeing you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed here for the second time during the ALCS (Detroit-Texas). From the outside this Doubletree looks a bit run down, but inside it is very nice. They defintely did a nice job renovating this property. Rooms are very nice and spacious (bedroom and living/desk area). Plenty of room. There is also a coffee bar and regular bar off the lobby. There is a free shuttle to take you around downtown so you don't have to take a cab.

Only downside is lack of self parking. Each time I have stayed here the valet parking take a while.

Room Tip: Get a corner room, they are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pikapptcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is the old Fort Shelby historic hotel that was very well renovated into true suites. Each room is a separate living room and bedroom with two flat screen TV’s and a separate bathroom. It really is a suite, not just a name. .

The employees were excellent. The breakfast was superior. The Finn and Porter restaurant in the building is a more than adequate place to eat dinner. They serve in the round bar on weekday nights which makes for a convivial atmosphere.

The one downside is the only parking they offer is valet for $25/day. You can also park on the street but I don’t know the safety of this . It would be good if they had mid-priced self-parking as there are several lots immediately adjacent to the building.

It’s located about seven blocks from the great MGM Grand Casino which is a real plus. Has some great eating as well as generally 1st class operation. But nightime streets in downtown Detroit are so very quiet that you might not feel comfortable walking. This is not a crime issue, it’s just the lack of traffic either pedestrian or auto, and sizeable areas occupied by parking lots and empty buildings.

Nevertheless the city is making a comeback with new hotels, arenas, and other amenities --- it certainly a better place than it was years ago and I had absolutely no problems.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptBill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you so much for the comments on the size of our suites. We love them also almost like being in your own apartment. Also glad to see our team made you feel welcome. We take pride in giving great service so its always nice to hear when people see it coming through. We hope to see you again soon. Everyone needs a great cookie and this is the place to get it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Our suite was very nicely furnished, clean, spacious, and an outstanding value. The only issue was the sink faucets were plumbed backwards (hot on the right). It's convenient (one block) to Detroit's downtown People Mover, which whisks you to Comerica Park, Greektown, and the convention center.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We always love to hear positive feedback. I hope to have you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We spent 4 nights here. rooms were decent although we had an A/C issue and a broken door handle on a bedroom door that got one of us locked in a bedroom. Location was typical downtown Detroit. More than a short walk to stadiums or Greek Town and a cab ride to the MGM Casino. Breakfast buffet was nice looking, but lacked flavor and was a little greasy. Our server was a true veteran and provided great service. The bar staff was friendly and efficient. The front desk staff was mixed. We had friendly smiles and service from some and chilly reception from others. The day staff at the front desk was very good. The room amenities were typical for a Doubletree and nice. Beds were comfortable and pillows were great. I would stay again if I had to be in Detroit.

Room Tip: Corner suites are spacious and great windows. View is not great from this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crashh32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. I was sorry to hear of your issues and can assure you that we have addressed them with our team. We strive to delivey the Hilton promise and our whole team is commited to ensuring that every guest leaves with a great experiance. I hope when back in our city you will give a 2nd chance to show you we can hit a home run.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing