We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Marriott across the street instead”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Previously in downtown Detroit, I've stayed at the Westin and the Marriott, which are far nicer than this hotel. Simply stated, the Courtyard Detroit is bush league. The room was dated with only the bare minimum in terms of amenities, no guest information book or printout of any kind, unpersonable staff, water stains on the ceiling, and the walk to the Greektown casino from the hotel felt unsafe. That being said, the room was extremely clean, the bed was relatively comfortable, the view was nice, and the room service was good. All things considered, I will stay someplace else next time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 536 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday evening to see a Red Wings game at nearby Joe Louis Arena. The hotel is right across from the Renaissance Center and Detroit-Windsor Tunnel. The People Mover has a stop in the attached retail/office center, and it's only 50 cents per ride to go all over downtown. The hotel had excellent security -- you needed a key to enter the lobby, and in the evening a uniformed police officer was checking keys to let you take the elevators once you're in the lobby. The pool and workout center was very nice and also had an attendant checking room keys. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in downtown Detroit for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastharbor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

What a pleasant surprise! We booked here for New years Eve because the rooms at the Casinos were sold out. We were in for the Hockey game and New Years Eve party at the Olympia room. Wow!! Were we surprised at the great room, awesome service and convenience of getting on the People mover and to the arena. The room was spotless and the view was tremendous- all for $165.00 New Years Eve!! We will definitely use this hotel when we come to Detroit this summer for Tiger games! Oh, the breakfast buffet was a steal for only $13.00.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammitupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a family celebration. Booked 7 rooms. All our rooms were put on the same floor as requested. Easy to check in, nice staff. Indoor Pool was very nice, Kids from 18-4 had a great time at pool. Very large work out area too. Could not have stayed at a nicer hotel for the price. Easy to get to Greektown on the people mover. Service for breakfast was a little sub-par. Overall a great weekend at this hotel and would stay here on next trip to Detriot.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hygienist83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

I was here on business on this month and the location and front desk staff (danielle) were terrific. The rooms are very spacious and even though I had a close up view of some watertower, I also had a view of the river, although semi-obstructed. My room included small loungy area complete with chair and couch. The king size bed was relatively comfortable and the location was second to none as far as detroit is concerned. The on-premis restaraunt, was at best mediocre. I think the food was standard, but the service staff, I foreget her name but an older woman, was very loopy. She'd leave in the backroom and come back several minutes later to clean, not serve the people who were there. Therefore, you'd be left with an empty glass for several minutes at several times, which shouldn't happen when you're sitting at the bar. just my opinion. Overall, the hotel minus the restaraunt was a-ok.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strezjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Stayed here for a few days on business (after no vacancy at Renaissance across the street). What a great surprise! While it sits on a very busy street (Jefferson) it's kinda tucked away and easy to pass if driving. Sits right across from GM headquarters and the night I arrived there was an NHL Playoff game (Detroit vs Chicago) and the annual "ho down" celebration. The lobby is very clean and well appointed and the restaurant food is good (especially breakfast). Rooms very clean, flat screen tv, high-speed internet in rooms only, and fitness center is top notch. Only complaint is the valet only parking $20 and influx of street beggars in/out of facility. In fact, I was approached within 5 minutes of being seated at the hotel restaurant. While I had no problem handing over a few dollars, the young lady hit up almost everyone at the bar before being escorted out by security. Speaking of security, during evening/overnight hours an armed guard is posted at the entryway to the elevators and guests must show room key before being granted access. While I didn't feel unsecure at any time, I applaud the mangement for the proactive approach. Hotel is within walking distance to Greektown and other main downtown attractions. Very clean and comfortable place to stay and I'd definitely stay here again when in Detroit. Oh, the customer service from the front desk staff was EXCEPTIONAL throughout my stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogeyboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stayed here for the Final Four. Great location - walked to the games. Everyone at this Marriott did an excellent job. Front desk - great. Cafe staff great for after game noshing - remembered my son's penchant for chocolate shakes. Car valet prompt and courteous. Clean pool. Rooms are standard chain hotel stuff, but really it was almost like a boutique hotel because of the GREAT STAFF. They should all get raises and recognition. Walked to Greek Town for dinner and beautiful Catholic church a few blocks away for mass on Sunday. Really impressed. Been all over the world, and had a better time here than in some five star hotels in NYC.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garratys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.1 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
0.6 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.9 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#11 of 33 in Detroit
1,129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Downtown

Address: 333 E Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-4352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $203 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Detroit Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sleek, stylish star among hotels in downtown Detroit, Michigan, the distinctive Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown offers superior convenience & style. Attractions are easily accessible from this boutique downtown Detroit hotel including the Fox Theatre, Ford Field, Comerica Park, Joe Louis Arena & Greektown Casino. Explore the surroundings of this hotel in downtown Detroit and step out to the GM Renaissance Center, conveniently connected by skyway. Discover a multi-million dollar room renovation featuring plush bedding, spacious bathrooms, high-speed Internet, and much more. Business and leisure travelers will revel in downtown Detroit, MI hotel amenities, such as extensive meeting space, 37-inch flat panel TVs, connectivity panels and People Mover access. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, free weights, and large indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Courtyard
Detroit Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing