We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Courtyard by Marriott DT Detroit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Courtyard by Marriott DT Detroit”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Property is very old and in need of renovation or demolishing. Room smelled bad and the a/c would not work. Furniture in the room was stained. Carpet was dirty. Service in the bar was very slow and we got the impression that the bartender didn't want to be there. The server never came to our table. We would have eaten there before the Cher concert if we had gotten any service but we didn't so we went elsewhere.

Check in was easy and front desk staff was friendly. Breakfast was ok but this property has not upgraded from the buffet as many Courtyards have done over the last 9 years.

I doubt that we would ever return to this property.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this property.
See more room tips
Green Features: I don't know if this hotel has any environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon C, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Evan,

I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We enjoyed an active Cher crowd before and after the concert, and heard the event was outstanding.

I was unable to identify your room number based on the information provided through TripAdvisor, but if you would be so kind as to send me an e-mail, I will certainly investigate your room condition comments.

The Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Detroit has implemented several environmental initiatives and has earned Green Lodging Michigan (GLM) Leader certification from the Michigan Department of Energy, Labor & Economic Growth (DELEG). We have a linen and towel reuse program as well as low flow fixtures to conserve water. We also do a number of things to improve energy efficiency, such as: using installed Energy Star lighting and equipment, operating building systems by a computerized energy management system, and conducting regular energy audits to help identify other energy conservation options.

I hope to hear back from you by e-mail or telephone (313.222.7700) so that I can address your comments further.

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    218
    65
    24
    19
See reviews for
108
110
23
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Lots of amenities. Only wish the Drugstore would have stayed open until at least 9. It was a Sunday night. Nice beds. Elevators were packed with kids for a convention. They should have made us aware before we checked in.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehlhose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon C, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for the excellent rating in your review Mehlhose. I will share your comments with the CVS you referenced in the Renaissance Center. There is a convenience store located directly outside our atrium access to the Millender Center that is typically open at 9:00 PM Sunday as well.

We look forward to another opportunity to accommodate you when visiting downtown Detroit.

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

When our offices dropped off packages at the wrong Marriott in downtown Detroit during SAE World Congress week, one of the Marriott Courtyard staff personnel, Jamal, handled the misshap throughly and professionaly. He recognized the mistaken hotel destination and personally delivered the packages to the correct Marriott in the Ren Cen. Customer Service at its finest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon C, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge your appreciation Diane. It was very kind of you to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

We have a great staff and work very closely with our sister-hotel, the Marriott Renaissance Center directly across the street. I personally shared your compliment with Jamal, and will extend additional recognition at our next associate rally.

Regards,

Jon Coutts – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel at least seven times since 2005 and every time it has been great. The rooms are large, well-appointed and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The little store right outside of the hotel (but indoors) called Andrew's is handy - tons of beverages (including wine, beer and alcohol), snacks and travel amenities (prices are better than the convenience shop in hotel). The people-mover (mass transit) is right at your doorstep; so easy to use and can get you to most of the places you would want to go downtown (Greektown, Joe Louis Arena, Comerica Park). The restaurant area and bathrooms in the lobby could use a good cleaning and a fresh coat of paint. But the food is good. I think almost every time we've stayed we have received free breakfast and valet parking. This is amazing, especially for the already affordable price of the hotel. We only visited the in-door pool once - I remember it being good. They also have a nice gym with a view but we haven't taken advantage of that. Kudos to the staff - they do a great job and I believe a lot of them have been there since we first visited. Love the wonderful lady and gentleman who make omelets in the morning - they are always friendly and seem like they like her job. Can't even count how many delicious omelets and waffles they have made for us! We have traveled with family and friends and no one has ever been disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zion76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon C, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We are honored that you continue returning to the Courtyard when visiting Detroit. Thank you for allowing us to accommodate you over the past nine years. I will share your service compliments at our upcoming associate rally, and make sure to recognize the breakfast team specifically. We look forward to your next visit and creating another great experience.

Thanks Again,

Jon Coutts – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Visited for a couple of days and was impressed by the staff and the food. The lobby is spacious as is the dining area. The staff in the bar is particularly nice and accommodating. The food was good, especially for dinner. Breakfast buffet includes eggs made to order. Rooms are clean and neat and some have a nice view of the waterfront. Construction out front makes it a little hard ot get to but not too bad. The best part is it is connected inside to the Renaissance center and food court as well as the downtown people mover which is a great way to get around.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAH461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon C, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Recognizing your TripAdvisor status as a Senior Contributor with 47 reviews in 27 cities we appreciate your positive review Les, especially the excellent service rating. Our culinary team is very aware of the many options within walking distance of the hotel and will be happy to hear your compliments on the quality dinner experience as well.

Regards,

Jon Coutts – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend for a retirement party. My family had six rooms and the staff was gracious enough to put us all on the same floor (we had multiple different reservations). The pool was fun for the kids and I enjoyed the hot tub! You do not have to go outside to get to all of the amenities that the Ren Cen offered (CVS, Starbucks and Tim Horton's were our favorites) which was a huge plus with the weather being windy, rainy and cool. We had an issue with plumbing coming from our room and the staff handled it in the best way possible. We were moved to a better room with a fantastic view!! Beds were comfortable and bathrooms were big. Fitness center was great - with a good view, too! Overall, a great stay. Our family is already thinking of a trip back to this hotel to enjoy Detroit in the summer!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon C, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for the staff service compliments Katherine. If the Detroit weather is really poor or you’re looking for some great indoor entertainment options, there is a four screen movie theater in the Renaissance Center as well. We look forward to your return and better weather this summer!

Jon Coutts - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel was a very short walk from St. Andrews Hall, where we attended a concert. Very welcoming, friendly, attentive staff, and a great rate for the quality of the room. The view was wonderful, especially at night.

Room Tip: Ask for City View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperSisKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon C, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for the great review Kris. We look forward to your return, and will make sure to have a city view room ready for you. Hope you enjoyed the concert – St. Andrews is a great venue for live music!

Regards,

Jon Coutts - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.1 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Downtown

Property: Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Address: 333 E Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-4352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Detroit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Detroit Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sleek, stylish star among hotels in downtown Detroit, Michigan, the distinctive Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown offers superior convenience & style. Attractions are easily accessible from this boutique downtown Detroit hotel including the Fox Theatre, Ford Field, Comerica Park, Joe Louis Arena & Greektown Casino. Explore the surroundings of this hotel in downtown Detroit and step out to the GM Renaissance Center, conveniently connected by skyway. Discover a multi-million dollar room renovation featuring plush bedding, spacious bathrooms, high-speed Internet, and much more. Business and leisure travelers will revel in downtown Detroit, MI hotel amenities, such as extensive meeting space, 37-inch flat panel TVs, connectivity panels and People Mover access. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, free weights, and large indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Courtyard
Detroit Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing