We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great sleep!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently stayed on a Saturday night and requested a high up room with a nice riverview. The young lady at check in was extreemely pleasant and very friendly and said "we have a nice riverview room for you on the 17th floor" so we got off to a great start . The king room was spacious and very clean, and she was right we did have a nice view.
We went out for the evening and had a great time in the city. I read some reviews that the beds were too soft, but both my wife and I slept soundly and we agreed the next morning that this was one of the best night's sleep in a hotel that we had ever experienced. The bed was perfect.
Despite being on the front, the room was very quiet and it was fascinating to watch the ebb and flow of the traffic entering and exiting the Detroit-Windsor tunnel, even at 2:30 am! Check out next morning was a breeze and this young lady was also very charming, and was genuinely pleased that we had enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesbooth_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Les,

Thank you for your detailed and insightful review. I agree with your fascination watching traffic at the Detroit-Windsor Tunnel.

I will share your kind words with our front desk associates as they always appreciate the positive feedback. We look forward to an opportunity to accommodate your wife and you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    219
    72
    25
    20
See reviews for
114
114
23
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

You can jump on the people mover from this hotel and go to many places, but specifically all the sporting venues! The rooms are comfortable and clean! The breakfast is not very good so I advise not wasting your money. Overall it's a good place to stay downtown!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Soltysiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Soltysiak,

Thank you for your Courtyard recommendation when staying downtown and the People Mover tip.

I’d love to hear more about your breakfast experience if you have some time. We offer a three tiered pricing option for our buffet, and currently ranked in the top 15% out of 851 Courtyards worldwide for quality of food at breakfast.

As you describe, our central location and the People Mover make Courtyard a great choice when attending sporting events regardless of the season. With a station in our building it’s a great way to move around downtown especially in the colder months. Although we are only four blocks from Cobo, the People Mover provides our guests access without going outside. As you mentioned Comerica Park, Ford Field and Joe Louis Arena also have convenient People Mover stations. If you prefer to walk they are all no more than a ten minute walk from the Courtyard.

The Red Wings look to be having another solid year, and Tigers Opening Day is March 31st!

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here on thanksgiving night a couple years ago and went to the Lions game and came back to the hotel to watch the last quarter (as we have done for the last 8 yrs ) and they had the Lions game blocked out in the rooms so you are forced to go downstairs and watch the game in their lounge( I was told by management the hotel wanted me to enjoy the game with their other guests). Needless to stay I have not stayed at a Marriott hotel again and never will. So if you are planning on staying at this hotel for the lions game and may want to watch some of the game in the room you might want to ask about that stupid policy they have. If Detroit doesn't block out the game on Thanksgiving then the hotel shouldn't either.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Teresa,

I’m sorry to hear about your disappointment with our channel selection. We subscribe with a satellite television provider to receive Fox Sports Detroit in our lounge, as our current provider for the television signal to the hotel doesn't offer this local channel. As we recognize some of our guests enjoy watching Fox Detroit Sports in their guest room, we expect to finalize a service agreement with a new company that provides this channel in the next thirty days.

I hope we have another opportunity to accommodate you for an upcoming Thanksgiving visit. There is a lot going on downtown that weekend with the Detroit Lions traditional home game, parade on Woodward Avenue and the Michigan High School Football finals at Ford Field.

Jon Coutts – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Marriott with our Senior Group for more than 5 years. The service is excellent, the rooms are always ready, clean and the beds are awesome. I Love this Hotel!
When we arrive the staff is waiting for us, easy check in and easy check out. I always plan this event the day after we check out for the next year, that is how sure I am that we will be back. The locations for food fun and happy times are just steps away from the Marriott!

Room Tip: every expierence have been a good one, built a relationship with your event planner, it makes everyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon C, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for the great group review. I shared your comments with our event team and they were just as fond of your group. Betty, we look forward to your return this fall.

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spent 3 nights with the family at this hotel. BIG mistake service is horrible. reserved the stay on line thought it might be a good hotel to stay in considering my wife never been to Detroit. Order room with a king bed and a crib. Arrived in there the next day, I checked in when I got to the room two full beds no crib available. Next day, arrived late night with a sleeping baby after being out all day was chased down by a GM motor company security guard with a dirt frown on his face telling me I could not to my room with out showing him my room key. After waking the baby up to adjust to get the room key. he let us to our room and then chased down a Hispanic gentlemen for his key and let a Caucasian couple past him. The next day checked out with out saying the final night no refund or apology from the manager after valet spit at my feet after not giving him a tip. even thought I paid 22 dollars a night for parking. Stayed the night at Henry Ford collection in Dearborn great service. go there don't waste your time!

Room Tip: stay at the Henry Ford collection in Dearborn, Mi for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Dre T,

I’m sorry to hear about your experience with our hotel security. We are located on the campus of General Motors World Headquarters, connected to the Renaissance Center and contract their highly trained and qualified security staff. This provides the Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown many services a typical downtown hotel cannot, including on-duty Emergency Medical Technicians twenty-four hours a day. I will pass along your feedback as the officers are expected to conduct themselves in a respectful and professional manner.

I was not aware of the circumstances you described in your review, but would appreciate the opportunity to discuss further. The need to present your room key at the elevator is expected from all of our hotel guests after 9:00 PM to provide a safe and secure environment.

Jon Coutts - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

After discovering a connecting door in our room, I went back down to check-in desk and asked to change to non-adjoining room - Very friendly and helpful response from staff.
(infact everyone we met in Detroit were friendly!).
Self parking $16 behind hotel.
Clean and spacious room.
Very comfortable and peaceful nights sleep.
Walking distance in safe area to many bars and restaurants.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing staying in Detroit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilson1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Wilson,

Thank you for the excellent recommendation. I’m glad to hear we were able to accommodate you with a room that did not have connecting doors. We don’t have many, and although the doors are very secure they are really only in demand if you need the second room!

We look forward to accommodating you again the next time you visit Detroit.

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
545 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after our plans had changed. We walked in & were accommodated immediately. The staff here is exceptional. We were impressed with how friendly & helpful everyone was with a smile on their face. Our room was on the 17th floor with great views of the Detroit river, Canada & city. The room was very clean & spacious. A King bed, sofa, chair, desk, bureau, small safe, mini frig & coffee maker. The mattress & pillows were on the firm side. The bathroom had a long sink counter & tub. Our room was quiet, cold & dark. A perfect sleep! We did not explore the hotel but they have a small store, cafe/bar, gym, & pay for breakfast. The hotel is on the people mover, walking distance to some restaurants, Cobo Center, & sporting arena. Short driving distance to MGM & Motor City casinos. We chose to valet at $20 day for convenience. Self pay is $16 around the block.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Deb,

Thank you for a great recap of our hotel’s amenities. Even after managing the Courtyard for the last six years, I’m still amazed at some of the views from our guest rooms.

We’re looking forward to your next unplanned or planned return soon!

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.1 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Downtown

Property: Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Address: 333 E Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-4352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Detroit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Detroit Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sleek, stylish star among hotels in downtown Detroit, Michigan, the distinctive Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown offers superior convenience & style. Attractions are easily accessible from this boutique downtown Detroit hotel including the Fox Theatre, Ford Field, Comerica Park, Joe Louis Arena & Greektown Casino. Explore the surroundings of this hotel in downtown Detroit and step out to the GM Renaissance Center, conveniently connected by skyway. Discover a multi-million dollar room renovation featuring plush bedding, spacious bathrooms, high-speed Internet, and much more. Business and leisure travelers will revel in downtown Detroit, MI hotel amenities, such as extensive meeting space, 37-inch flat panel TVs, connectivity panels and People Mover access. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, free weights, and large indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Courtyard
Detroit Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing