We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Senior Group Yearly Church Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Marriott with our Senior Group for more than 5 years. The service is excellent, the rooms are always ready, clean and the beds are awesome. I Love this Hotel!
When we arrive the staff is waiting for us, easy check in and easy check out. I always plan this event the day after we check out for the next year, that is how sure I am that we will be back. The locations for food fun and happy times are just steps away from the Marriott!

Room Tip: every expierence have been a good one, built a relationship with your event planner, it makes everyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon C, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for the great group review. I shared your comments with our event team and they were just as fond of your group. Betty, we look forward to your return this fall.

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 532 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spent 3 nights with the family at this hotel. BIG mistake service is horrible. reserved the stay on line thought it might be a good hotel to stay in considering my wife never been to Detroit. Order room with a king bed and a crib. Arrived in there the next day, I checked in when I got to the room two full beds no crib available. Next day, arrived late night with a sleeping baby after being out all day was chased down by a GM motor company security guard with a dirt frown on his face telling me I could not to my room with out showing him my room key. After waking the baby up to adjust to get the room key. he let us to our room and then chased down a Hispanic gentlemen for his key and let a Caucasian couple past him. The next day checked out with out saying the final night no refund or apology from the manager after valet spit at my feet after not giving him a tip. even thought I paid 22 dollars a night for parking. Stayed the night at Henry Ford collection in Dearborn great service. go there don't waste your time!

Room Tip: stay at the Henry Ford collection in Dearborn, Mi for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Dre T,

I’m sorry to hear about your experience with our hotel security. We are located on the campus of General Motors World Headquarters, connected to the Renaissance Center and contract their highly trained and qualified security staff. This provides the Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown many services a typical downtown hotel cannot, including on-duty Emergency Medical Technicians twenty-four hours a day. I will pass along your feedback as the officers are expected to conduct themselves in a respectful and professional manner.

I was not aware of the circumstances you described in your review, but would appreciate the opportunity to discuss further. The need to present your room key at the elevator is expected from all of our hotel guests after 9:00 PM to provide a safe and secure environment.

Jon Coutts - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

After discovering a connecting door in our room, I went back down to check-in desk and asked to change to non-adjoining room - Very friendly and helpful response from staff.
(infact everyone we met in Detroit were friendly!).
Self parking $16 behind hotel.
Clean and spacious room.
Very comfortable and peaceful nights sleep.
Walking distance in safe area to many bars and restaurants.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing staying in Detroit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilson1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Wilson,

Thank you for the excellent recommendation. I’m glad to hear we were able to accommodate you with a room that did not have connecting doors. We don’t have many, and although the doors are very secure they are really only in demand if you need the second room!

We look forward to accommodating you again the next time you visit Detroit.

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after our plans had changed. We walked in & were accommodated immediately. The staff here is exceptional. We were impressed with how friendly & helpful everyone was with a smile on their face. Our room was on the 17th floor with great views of the Detroit river, Canada & city. The room was very clean & spacious. A King bed, sofa, chair, desk, bureau, small safe, mini frig & coffee maker. The mattress & pillows were on the firm side. The bathroom had a long sink counter & tub. Our room was quiet, cold & dark. A perfect sleep! We did not explore the hotel but they have a small store, cafe/bar, gym, & pay for breakfast. The hotel is on the people mover, walking distance to some restaurants, Cobo Center, & sporting arena. Short driving distance to MGM & Motor City casinos. We chose to valet at $20 day for convenience. Self pay is $16 around the block.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Deb,

Thank you for a great recap of our hotel’s amenities. Even after managing the Courtyard for the last six years, I’m still amazed at some of the views from our guest rooms.

We’re looking forward to your next unplanned or planned return soon!

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great hotel for meetings and visiting. Close access to People Mover and Sports stadiums, Gluten-free food choices. Comfortable room with view of Ambassador Bridge and Detroit River. Professional staff.

Only drawback was too soft mattress

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I can not recommend the Detroit Courtyard strongly enough. It is the staff that make this downtown hotel so extraordinary. I'm a regular business traveler. Across the skywalk, the Marriott Ren Cen boasts 1300+ rooms, and (with exceptions) their impersonal service level shows it. Been there, done that and nothing bad to say. But the Courtyard is so darn welcoming and comfortable by comparison! After multiple stays at both properties, my choice is clear. Take note of the number of regulars. Even if you are a first-time, one-time guest, please mention this note when you check in. Watch them smile and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Special shout outs to front desk crew Lela, Carrie and Fatima. Drop by the cafe lounge and ask for Mariana and Michael. You are going to like this place.
At the front desk, say hi from Mr. Hoover. At the Cafe, I'm Doug.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: I always ask for a xx25 room. Great views, spacious accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoover360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Mr. Hoover,

Thank you for the kind review. We were sorry to learn your frequent business trips to Detroit were winding down, but in typical “Doug” fashion you departed the Courtyard with a friendly TripAdvisor gesture.

It was always our pleasure to welcome you back to the Courtyard Detroit Downtown, and on behalf of the entire Courtyard staff we look forward to that opportunity again soon!

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location, close to downtown and the riverfront. Bright and spacious room with a beautiful view on the city and the river. Good service. Nonetheless, a bad thing...the mattress is really too soft.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjamww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.1 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
0.6 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.9 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Downtown

Address: 333 E Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-4352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Detroit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $202 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Detroit Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sleek, stylish star among hotels in downtown Detroit, Michigan, the distinctive Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown offers superior convenience & style. Attractions are easily accessible from this boutique downtown Detroit hotel including the Fox Theatre, Ford Field, Comerica Park, Joe Louis Arena & Greektown Casino. Explore the surroundings of this hotel in downtown Detroit and step out to the GM Renaissance Center, conveniently connected by skyway. Discover a multi-million dollar room renovation featuring plush bedding, spacious bathrooms, high-speed Internet, and much more. Business and leisure travelers will revel in downtown Detroit, MI hotel amenities, such as extensive meeting space, 37-inch flat panel TVs, connectivity panels and People Mover access. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, free weights, and large indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Courtyard
Detroit Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing