We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Courtyard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Detroit Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Courtyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for one night to watch the Tigers ALDS game 1. The hotel is pretty close to the Tigers stadium, about a 10 minute walk, which is pretty good. The beds are probably an 8.5 on a scale of 1-10. Very good mattresses, good bedding, but all the pillows were very soft, and I like my pillows more on the firm side. Bathroom was very nice. Everything was very clean. In the restaurant, service is very disorganized but the servers are extremely kind and pay attention. However, we had 4 servers ask us if we had ordered within 2 minutes. The food was okay, nothing special.

Overall, 4/5, and I would recommend this hotel to people staying in Detroit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotellover987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    216
    64
    23
    19
See reviews for
107
110
23
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I just got done with my one night stay at the Courtyard.

Upon check in I was told I'd won a drawing and got a room upgrade and points on my Marriott account! The front desk staff and valet were warm, funny and very nice.

I had a deluxe king room which was spacey and clean. The work space at the desk was amazing. Free Internet in the room was a tad slow on start up but then it was fine.

Bathroom counter space is huge! The water pressure was a little light but hot and cold water were fine.

I had dinner at the hotel and it was delicious but a bit pricey for the quality. Breakfast was the same. Service was very good and prompt.

My only complaint is that you can hear the people mover from the room a bit. Not enough to keep me awake though!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peekie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I checked in here for a conference, and during our meeting, the power went out in several spots in the area. The staff was really helpful in finding us all rooms across the street at the Ren Cen, and in getting our luggage and cars to us. They even delivered my phone charger that I realized I had forgotten - all with a smile and great service.

I didn't stay at the hotel, but the rooms were very large and seemed nice. The hotel itself seemed like a more economical alternative to more expensive hotels downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with some of her family on the Saturday night of Labor Day weekend. We were in town for a Detroit Tigers game, and have stayed downtown at alot of different hotels, this being our first time at the Courtyard Marriott. We reserved 2 rooms. The size of each room was very nice. They are actually pretty large and the bathrooms are a good size. Our room was near the elevator so be sure to request something away from that if you want a "quiet" stay. Location-wise, this would be great for hockey games, but it is quite a walk from baseball/football games. The hotel is connected to the people mover which is convenient. We walked back from the Tigers game and I wouldn't recommend that. It took us through some shady downtown areas and there were times that I wouldn't have felt safe if we had a smaller group. Obviously this isn't the hotels fault but worth noting if you are debating walking or taking the people mover.

My only complaint is some of the service from the staff. When we arrived we were told the valet parking was only $15. When we ordered up the car the next day, it took a very long time to get it back. The valet attendant told us it was $20 now instead of $15. Needless to say, I paid and tipped well. We paid the valet person before we got our car back which seemed backwards. We were waiting for almost 20 minutes and noticed our car was sitting out front with the doors open and unlocked. I couldn't find a valet attendant anywhere and ended up getting in the car, grabbing my keys out of my pocket, and taking off. Here was the problem. The valet attendant had my wife's set of keys and we didn't realize this until we were 45 minutes away. Nobody approached us when the vehicle was delivered nor gave us the other set of keys back. I called and asked them to mail the keys and they asked for method of payment. Needless to say I was angry, turned around and drove back to Detroit. When I returned to pick up the keys the manager gave me a twenty for gas which was appreciated and nice, but none of it should've happened in the first place.

It's hard to want to go back here when all I've had from other downtown hotels were great experiences.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattheweilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently with our adult disabled son to attend a Tigers game and the accessible room was huge ... no worries about getting through doorways or running into furniture. We especially liked that there were 2 queen size beds in the room instead of the one bed you find in a lot of accessible rooms. The bathroom was very large also although it had a tub rather than a roll-in shower.All the staff we interacted with were very friendly and helpful. Never had to wait long for the valet to bring our vehicle. Room was clean with plenty of towels and the beds were comfortable. Also liked the 12:00 check-out time. Lots of security around too. The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants as well as having a People Mover station in the building (but you have to use a separate elevator) and even Comerica Park is walkable. Downtown Detroit at night is fairly deserted but not scary. There are a lot of panhandlers but they're very polite and creative!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor so didn't have much of a view. Probably rooms on a higher floor would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gat590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here on are last night in Michigan. Chose hotel based on the people mover being right in the hotel as well as the location to the "safer" part of Detroit. Security roamed the halls and at night you had to show a keycard to security to access the elevators. The gym facility is amazing and had tons of equipment and space. Also had a great view of Canada from the 8th floor deck.

Parking was a hassle and took about 20 min to get out from Valet, little slow in my opinion. The rooms are spacious and can accomadate 6-8 people in them if you want to gather in one room before going out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here while we were in town for a Tigers game on 9/1. We had a room with a king bed and a pull out couch. We never ended up pulling out the couch, so I can't speak to the quality of the bed. The couch itself was a little worn, but clean- this pretty much summarizes the room in a whole. We did have an issue with the air conditioner & they sent a maintence worker up to fix it and he brought a fan for us while it was being worked on.

The hotel was very quiet and felt secure. After normal hours the hotel was acessable by key card & had a security man checking cards before you got onto the elevator.

When we came back from the game at 11pm, a manager met us at the door with a big smile and welcomed us back and informed us that the bar and restaurant was open until midnight if we wanted snacks or drinks. It was a really nice touch.

We also liked the close proximity to the people mover and used it to catch dinner in greektown and go to the game. We also used the pool (clean and well maintained) and tried breakfast (buffet and not included with the room)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinclair101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.2 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Downtown

Property: Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Address: 333 E Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-4352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Detroit Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sleek, stylish star among hotels in downtown Detroit, Michigan, the distinctive Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown offers superior convenience & style. Attractions are easily accessible from this boutique downtown Detroit hotel including the Fox Theatre, Ford Field, Comerica Park, Joe Louis Arena & Greektown Casino. Explore the surroundings of this hotel in downtown Detroit and step out to the GM Renaissance Center, conveniently connected by skyway. Discover a multi-million dollar room renovation featuring plush bedding, spacious bathrooms, high-speed Internet, and much more. Business and leisure travelers will revel in downtown Detroit, MI hotel amenities, such as extensive meeting space, 37-inch flat panel TVs, connectivity panels and People Mover access. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, free weights, and large indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Courtyard
Detroit Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing