We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average Motel, Good Price for Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average Motel, Good Price for Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The motel provides all of the basics - beds, 4-pc ensuite bathroom, blow dryer, TV with cable, bar fridge and phone.

Friendly staff.

Wifi wasn't very reliable.

The price is pretty good for where the motel is located. Walkable to all attractions in Downtown Detroit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_La_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    13
    13
    23
See reviews for
11
16
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This place is a joke. I asked to rent two rooms for after a bachelor party to prevent my friends and me from drunk driving. The manager turned down my business stating he's 'seen what happens' when that type of crowd stays at his hotel. Yet he asked if I was going to be in town for the Kenny Chesney concert. As if those drunk hicks are going to be responsible when they crash this place. Hope this moron has a clue what he's doing which he clearly does not.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heelflipkgrind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Detroit hotels

California Hot Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Filthy, horrible service, prostitutes in the hotel and area and one of the most dangerous areas to stay. Management is very Uneducated and unprofessional. Do yourself a favor and spend some extra money and stay somewhere where you feel safe clean and respected!

Room Tip: Just stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topaz1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed at the Shorecrest on MLK day while visiting the auto show. The staff was very friendly and the room was fine, not spectacuar, but a good value. They let us park all day for the auto show in the motel lot, even after we checked out. Good location and you cant beat the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 232913023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Decent cheap alternative for a night in downtown Detroit. Meets all reasonable expectations. Clean enough, warm enough, safe enough and close to anything you would wanna experience downtown.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This place is old all the entry doors are from the out side. We rented 8 rooms for our group not one door had an air tight seal. You could hear the wind blow through. Out of the 8 rooms 2 were in my opinion useable. All the rooms smelled of stale smoke. All my cloths stink of smoke. The beds vary drastically out of the 8, 4 were not bad mine was horrible mattress was older than me. Bed bugs? I don't know I'm still searching my body for any evidence of them.
This place reminds of a hooker hotel where the room is rented by the visit. Some of our group was ther for 2 nights I stayed for one and if the city wasn't booked solid I wouldn't have stayed the one night!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I came for a conference in Renaissance center, and this motel seemed a good solution for my needs - cheap and close.
It is 5 minutes walk, and I walked during the day, but to come back at evening I had to take cab. And for the service it provides it is overpriced.
The room was clean but this is the only good thing I can say. The room has no amenities at all - no hair dryer, no iron. I've got an iron in the reception and had to carry a small ironing board to my room, where there was no place to put it comfortably, so I ended up bending and ironing my stuff on the bed. The "free internet in your room" does not work most of the time, and nobody would even try to help you with it. You are lucky if you sleep the whole night and nobody shouts right in front of your door somewhere at 3AM.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WickedWitchOfEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.4 mi away
Detroit Regency Hotel
Detroit Regency Hotel
#19 of 34 in Detroit
3.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
1.0 mi away
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit

Property: Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit
Address: 1316 E Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48207-3104 (Formerly Shorecrest Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorecrest Motor Hotel Detroit
Shorecrest Hotel Detroit
Shorecrest Motel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing