We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dirty Room!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Dearborn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty Room!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in an area with a lot of closed business and not close to convenient food. When we got there it felt a little sketchy the entrance door didn't shut and there was a man sleeping in the lounge area with cigarets next to him. There were no smoking signs but this place smelled of smoke and when we got to our room there was ashes all over the table. Speaking of the room there was some pink goo on the walls, toilet paper in the toilet, and the sink had not been cleaned. Granted the bed and towels were seemingly clean. It was very cheap compared to other accommodations in the area but in retrospect I think I would have rather had a clean room with out the sketchy people hanging around, I didn't feel safe. The staff wasn't rude but they weren't friendly either so we didn't bother dealing with them. The rooms were small as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    5
    8
    18
See reviews for
4
9
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We recently stay at the hotel because of the location. However, the hotel is quite old and needs a lot of TLC. To be fair, the hall and room carpet had been updated. However, the rooms are quite small.

We will travel the extra distance next time versus being a repeat guest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlat K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We apologize that you found are rooms to be too small. We know the building is old and the rooms are small, but we try very hard to make sure all of our guests are happy and the rooms are clean. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, they are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dearborn hotels

Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

There is no rating low enough for this entity, this place should be torn down, this is the worst experience I had ever had and I would never recommend anyone to stay in this place. In my opionion this place should be called a (hoe) tel not a hotel or inn. There were women inside and out that appeared to she prostitutes, there were transvestites and shady people hanging all around this building. air conditioners were handing out of the windows, the room smelled and reaked of smoke, there were bugs and knats flying around the front desk area. The pics on the website were very deceptive and the desk clerk was rude and very uncooperative when we voices our disgust with this place and requested to speak with a manger, in order to obtain a refund of our money, he refused to put in contact with someone and he was just very rude. We literally lost our money we left early this place was unbearable and not human should be subjected to this. Please, Please, please do not waste your time or money!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlat K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We do our best to handle all issues that effect our guest. Since you were not happy, we did refund all of your money and wish you all the best. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

The hotel lost our reservation. The site on internet didnt charge the room like it was supposed to so I ended up having to pay for it. The hostest was very understanding and pleasant about the situation. Now She gave us our room, we went to it and it was extemly small! We could pass our luggage inbetween the wall and bed. The door would lock close so we got another room. The second room smeeled like stink weed! The person in the next room was gettting high in the room. Smelled up that corner of the room. We were upgraded to a deluxe sweet where the windows wouldnot open and closed and was perminatly cracked open. The hotel still used radiate heat furnaces in the rooms with no thurmostate. Tear it don and dont rebuild it! HELL Hole! Nomads stay there as weekly guest. Kept left over doughnuts on the vending machine. put them out again the next day for breakfast.

Room Tip: Dont bother! Sleep in your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kdubb2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlat K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with our small rooms and older building. There is never an excuse for providing our guests with anything less that a clean room and good customer service. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We booked this hotel as a stopover before flying out the next day.
Getting to this hotel was scary as hell. We arrived late at night, and there were some pretty strung out people loitering near the parking lot "gates" a 2 foot high metal fence. We drove through a sketchy neighborhood on the way in, and it wasn't far enough away from the hotel for our liking.
The hotel lobby was old and run down. The lady at the front desk was terrible. I mean really bad. She was talking to another guest who couldn't get into his room with the key, and it was kind of surprising at how much she wasn't helping him, or offering to send someone to help.
She had no paperwork for our reservation, and then was complaining that she would have to use the computer to find it!!! What?? We had plenty of time to look around the desk and lobby area, and it was so gross. Really gross. The printer/ photocopier was caked in black grime. Looking through the ancient filing system, and 20 minutes later, she still didn't find the reservation, but wasn't really offering us a room either.
We were so thankful to have an excuse to leave!!!!
Knowing airports always have hotels nearby, we asked her how to get closer to the airport. She didn't know. She didn't even know which direction on the highway to take. No maps, no 'I can look it up for you'. Nope, she turned to the poor guy who still hadn't gotten in to his room, and asked him! Helloo....he's staying in a hotel, he's probably not from around here either!
Frustrated, I was almost in tears, and my husband was afraid as we were sitting in our locked car in the parking lot trying to figure out what the heck to do. What a nightmare. The last place you want to be lost in is Detroit. Thankfully we found our way to a Holiday Inn :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HilroyKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Kentucky
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

OK, let's have the positives first--it was clean, it was cheap, it was convenient. If that's all you're looking for and you don't mind old, it's ok. Old is not the word to describe this place. I think the Model T in the lobby was the newest thing in the place! The pictures on the website look good, but in person, it's pretty dismal. I was attracted by the inside entries, and cheap price. The "inside entry" to our room didn't latch unless you pulled up on the handle and shoved with your shoulder! You could see light (from the hall) all the way around it. Too boot, both mornings we went back, the house keepers had failed to make the door latch! Thank goodness we left nothing of value in the room. It was clean: no bugs, mice, rats, roaches, all that! Then, there was the heat.....radiator heat--I turned it down and woke up freezing, I turned it up and woke up sweating. I finally left it on and cranked the a/c up to compensate. Then, there's the neighborhood.....it's right on the edge of not-so-good and ok. Turn back towards Detroit and you're greeted with at least 1 strip joint per block, until you get to the burned out buildings and panhandlers. If you turn the other way--away from downtown--it gets better each block and you're not far from the mall......on the border at best. There's a Pizza Hut across the corner and a Frisch's a block down--both look better in the daylight. It needs an overhaul....yeah, with a bulldozer or a gallon of kerosene and a match! The staff was not overly friendly, but cordial. It's just nowhere I'd like to stay again! No knowing ANYTHING about the Detroit area we picked it mainly because of the price and location. I'm sure there are plenty of places just as close and at least as inexpensive. Don't stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLYBYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

If you are looking for a place to stay while visiting the Detroit metro area on business
stay away from this place bed bugs roaches need i say more. I was surprised that this place hasn't been condemned by the city. When i complained to the management a (grumpy old gentleman) he just shrugged it off like huh did you say something. My stay was not a very pleasant experience. Nice safe area that's about it. Would not recommend this place to my dog

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Amirivt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dearborn hotels
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit – Dearborn/Greenfield Village
2.4 mi away
Edward Village Michigan
Edward Village Michigan
#9 of 18 in Dearborn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Greenfield Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Dearborn
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn
Address: 13181 Michigan Ave, Dearborn, MI 48126-3530
Location: United States > Michigan > Dearborn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Dearborn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing