We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale and hospitable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Henry, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Henry, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Dearborn
Certificate of Excellence
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
392 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Upscale and hospitable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at The Henry almost annually for several years, attending a convention at this well located upscale hotel. However, in the past it was a Ritz-Carlton, under the Marriott franchise until changing a couple of years ago to the slightly less upscale Autograph Collection, also a Marriott brand.

I found the staff since the changeover to be less obsequious and more genuinely hospitable.

The rooms are well appointed, with very comfortable beds and pillows, wireless Internet access, and a large flat panel TV. Disappointing was the fact that the bathroom did not have an exhaust fan, leaving the mirror steamy after a shower.

The hotel has a small art gallery, with some impressive paintings both in the small shop and in the hallways on the main floor.

Banquet food was good but not exceptional, while banquet service was exceptional.

Apparently the switch from the Ritz-Carlton brand to the slightly less pricey Autograph Collection brand was made because of the greater Detroit poor economy, but we mid-westerners generally prefer less ostentatious lodging than New Yorkers, for example.

The Henry is a fine hotel, in a fine location near major freeways, with a hospitable staff, and at surprisingly afforable rates.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouBobHarborSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    201
    47
    20
    13
See reviews for
161
182
25
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Recently held a small meeting at this property. The sleeping room rate and catering prices were low and the staff was excellent. The bellstand was very responsive with requests for transportation, however found that it varied with the individuals working - some had great attitudes, and others were a little rude. But overall and excellent experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtgs_My-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Took the family to Dearborn for a long weekend, to see the museum & other activities. This hotel was great value!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Room was outstanding. Conference room was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motem1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The event was The Depree Dance......I request 2 bds in my room and an early check-in when I made my reservation. When I arrived at 7:30 am not only did I see the 2 clerks check-in families in, but Ms. Laniece Jones (Mang) explained that she can not accommodate me with 2 beds all she have is Single King Rms and there was NO ROOMS (Kings or Doubles) available at this time & to come back between 12:30-1pm. I came back around 12:45p and Ms.Jones told me the rooms are still Not Avaliable that I would have to wait til my original time which is 3pm. Jones told me that there was a wait list and I can write my name and number on a sticky note and she would give me a call. At this point I am very upset because SHE told me to come back at that time and my kids needed to get dress for competitons that started @ 3:10p. So now I sitting back watching the desk from the bar because I felt she was lying and that she was discriminating towards me. I gave it about 20mins and went back up to the counter to ask her: How come these past few guest have been walking away with room keys IF there is Nothing available. She then began to explain to me that THESE GUEST HAD BEEN ON THE WAITING LIST SINCE 7AM......That could have been the LAST thing she could told me and I came to check-in at 7:30am NOT once did the 2 of them say ANYTHING about a wait list....So there was so much to this situation but I really did feel discriminated towards. I am a Rewards Member and have stayed at MANY Marriott Hotels and Never Had This Experience before. My House Keepers was the Best thing there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Humphries L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Great experience from check in to check out! I haven't stayed at the Henry for a while and when I went back I was thoroughly impressed again. The beds are comfortable (and I'm particular), the rooms were immaculate and the hotel is very well run. The artwork is a surprise bonus, take a few minutes to appreciate it and enjoy it. The staff there is excellent and always greets you with a smile. The doormen are very helpful and pleasant if you need them. The bar is a great place to get a drink and relax. The only regret I had was that I couldn't stay longer. All in all, a great experience...again.

Room Tip: Try to get access to the concierge room if you can, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hittinlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

As a frequent business traveler, The Henry has become my favorite Detroit area "home away from home". You know upon arrival that you are in for a treat. The staff is very welcoming and professional. The lobby, restaurant and art gallery have set a new standard for Detroit hotels. 

As part of their transition from a Ritz Carlton property, the sleeping rooms and public area have been updated offering a classy, urban vibe. Their TRIA restaurant offers up a variety of interesting small plates and some twists on more standard fare.  I am a pretty loyal Marriott customer and welcome the inclusion of The Henry into their Autograph Collection of hotels. 

Room Tip: While their updates are mostly completed, request one of their renovated rooms.  Also, as a Platinum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dearborn
1.7 mi away
The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel
8.1 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Detroit Dearborn
0.6 mi away
Edward Village Michigan
Edward Village Michigan
#10 of 18 in Dearborn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Dearborn
Staybridge Suites Dearborn
#8 of 18 in Dearborn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry, Autograph Collection

Property: The Henry, Autograph Collection
Address: 300 Town Center Dr, Dearborn, MI 48126-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Dearborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dearborn
#1 Family Hotel in Dearborn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Fairlane Town Center. 3 miles from The Henry Ford. AAA Four Diamond hotel. Guestrooms include free internet access, 37 inch flat screen TVs with 24 HD channels, "The Henry Bed" exclusively by Lady Americana, Frette 400-count Egyptian cotton bedding, marble bathrooms, plush bathrobes and RUSK bath amenities. Experience culinary creations in The Gallery Restaurant, or 24 hour in room dining. fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Now offering Marriott Reward Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Henry, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry, Autograph Collection Hotel Dearborn
Dearborn Ritz Carlton
Ritz Dearborn
Ritz-Carlton Dearborn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing