We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Hotel...But not 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edward Village Michigan
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Dearborn
GreenLeadersGold level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Solid Hotel...But not 4*”
Reviewed February 2, 2010

My overall opinion of this hotel is that it should be a 3* hotel. Nothing really horrible to complain about but nothing great either. The hotel is trying to look very modern on the outside and lobby. But the rooms are the same as every other Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn I have stayed at. The decorations are very plain with a tube television and small bathroom. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows and comforter were down. Therefore the pillows are flat and the comforter is too hot.
We ate the breakfast buffet at the Italian restaurant and that was very good. Everything was fresh and the service was friendly. A little expensive but not too bad.
Our biggest complaint was that the walls are extremely thin. We could hear everything in the rooms next to us. And I dont just mean the TV or when they used the plumbing. It is to the extent that I could hear when they turned over in bed or moved something on the nightstand. And every word they said was crystal clear as if they were in the room with us. I have never experienced this before and I have stayed at some pretty cruddy hotels when I was younger.
Also they are weirdly stingy with the towels. One day they gave us one towel, no washclothes.
On a posative note the service was very good and freindly. Every need we had was addressed very quickly.
Overall I would stay at this hotel again. Especially for the rate I paid for it on Priceline.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCFTAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    275
    245
    144
    107
See reviews for
241
170
82
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

There were 1,000 kids staying at this hotel when we went. While I understand they need to fill rooms during this economy I can't understand why they put up with such horrible behavior from these guests, they should have more security instead of trusting the adults with the group to control the kids. Children were not supervised, at any time you would see kids going up and down elevators, yelling for each other across the lobby or to other floors, running in the halls and over taking the hot tub and pool. The parents, coaches and "chaperones" of these kids partied it up in the lounge at night while no one watched over the children running around. I guess they don't watch the news of predators taking children. Huge liability to the hotel!
I was given a king room and cot for my 9 year old even though I booked a double room. All the doubles I'm sure were snatched up early in the day by the buses of hockey teams. I did book Priceline so I'm sure that's why I didn't get the room requested. This is suppose to be a 4 star hotel, I would give it a 3. New carpet & bedding doesn't cover up the fact the hotel needs renovation. The feather pillows & bedding are flat, no flat screen tv's, old tile in bathroom and burn holes in my sheets.
The hotel does allow smoking and the lobby stinks of smoke but my non-smoking room was clean and did not smell of smoke. Housekeeping did a wonderful job, honoring my requests for more towels & pillows quickly.
The restaurant had the typical over priced food and my eggs came to me a little cold one morning along with burnt toast. The coffee bar Perks in the lobby is a better choice, with plenty of yummy pastries and nice person behind the counter.
Parking was free and it's right across the street from Fairlane Mall with PF Changs & Bravo on one side that I could see. We had dinner at PF Changs one evening, the service and food was great.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahdsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
162 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The brochure and web collateral promise a lot, but:

-Regency Club closed
-No Breakfast buffet, just a-la-carte (with a long line / wait rendering it useless)
-Ground floor small coffee corner closed
-$5 for a bottle of water in the room
-Pool not more than a plunge pool
-Gym consists of 2 running machines and 2 other cardio machines

Only good thing: the bed is very comfortable

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pro-Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Booked a room with two double beds for two adults and two small children for a hockey tournament. When we arrived they gave us a king bed with a cot. We said we have TWO children so they said they woud put another cot in the room. They acknowledged this was against Hyatt regulations and violated fire codes. Even though we had written confirmation of the room they said the confirmation does not guarantee the type of room just a room. Interesting,.. and meaning that if I booked the $695/night suite, that rm would not have been guaranteed and they would not have given me back my money.
I was appalled by the attitude and service of the front desk manager. After negotiation with the team coordinator they changed the room the next night and called us to comp the breakfast. Wouldnt have eaten there anyway, $45 for 2 adults and 2 children to eat some cereal, scrambled eggs and white toast. Yuck. Map quest einstein's nearby for delicious egg sandwiches and coffee for $17 for 4. Had to stay an extra night because son team got into the playoffs, and took my business to Marriott Dearborn which was fantastic. Service impleccable, staff friendly smoke free. Beds the best. BTW the Hyatt stinks of smoke the minute you step foot NEAR the entrance. ANd they allow cigar smoke in the bar. A good thing to say: the bell staff and front door staff very friendly, even made comments about mgt so something must be going on?!?

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinhood67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2010

however the hotel was a 5 star the room sucked. there was just a bed and tv nothing else no microwave no frige what a crappy 5 star hotel

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
293 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

The hotel is right next to Fairlane shopping center with 3 huge anchor tenant there (Macy’s, JC Penny, Sears) and there are many good restaurants around. And its only 6miles from Detroit. Overall it appear to be a safe neighborhood to me.

The hotel is the only high rise in the area so it looks impressive with all the all-glass façade.

Was given a room on the club floor and it’s very nice, clean and well-kept. Furniture looks new to me and we had a little bonus surprise on 11 Dec 09 night. A 20-mins glittering and spectacular fireworks display right out of our west-facing windows!

I did left a little comment about their indifferent doormen and valet in their online survey and the general manager wrote back quickly and apologize about it and promised to take steps to correct the situation. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville fl
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

When we stahyed here we were dissappointed. We found a bloody sock by the pool. The room was ok but dark and dreary. When we returned from dinner there were people screaming in the lobby in a different language. I would note they were not screamin at us. Very dissappointed.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxfl32224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dearborn hotels
0.6 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Detroit Dearborn
1.2 mi away
The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Greenfield Village
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Dearborn
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edward Village Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Village Michigan

Property: Edward Village Michigan
Address: 600 Town Center Dr, Fairlane Town Center, Dearborn, MI 48126-2718 (Formerly Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center)
Location: United States > Michigan > Dearborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dearborn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edward Village Michigan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 773
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-known within the charming city of Dearborn, Michigan across the street from Ford World Headquarters, Fairlane Mall, and minutes from the Henry Ford Museum. Only minutes from downtown Detroit, Canada and Detroit airport. Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center guests will receive complimentary WI-FI, new 40" SMART flat screen TV's, fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub. Start your morning off in Giulio's & Sons Restaurant or in a morning hurry stop by BREW Specialty coffee shop proudly serving Starbuck products. Awarded the Green Eco 4 Key certification this landmark hotel has a passion for customer service and offering you a fantastic sustainable stay whether for business or pleasure. Make time to browse, shop the trendy gift shop located on the 1st floor. Relax and rejuvenate with a signature massage from our onsite spa or sample the delectable culinary creations from the restaurants impressive portfolio of creating savory, organic daily menus using local ingredients serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edward Village Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dearborn Hotel Dearborn
Dearborn Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Dearborn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing