We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“in need of refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edward Village Michigan
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Dearborn
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“in need of refurbishment”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Adoba is showing its age. Carpets and walls look a bit dingy, and it's all rather dark in this atrium-style hotel. The pool isn't in the best of shape and conference rooms are stuck back in the early 1980s. That said, the hotel provided a great location for our family as a jumping off point to visit Dearborn and Detroit. The VIP suite was a great size for our family of four. And the hotel staff was responsive to our needs.

Green Features: Adoba prides itself on this aspect of their business model, and that seems to be practiced as well (though there is way too much water that comes out of the shower -- and that really can't be adjusted however much I tried).
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skiddered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    274
    244
    144
    106
See reviews for
241
169
82
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My stay at the Adoba was very, very enjoyable. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was exceptionally helpful. Everyone from the front desk staff to the laundry staff were very courteous and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to Detroit or Dearborn. The hotel is conveniently located right across the street from a Mall that has very nice restaurants. I just cannot say enough about the staff of the Adoba. They were exceptionally helpful and courteous. My family and I were in Detroit for our religious convention of Jehovah's Witnesses. In January we made our reservations at the Adoba and I would like to say that the staff in the Reservations Department were very professional, polite and courteous. The managers of the Adoba should be very proud of their entire staff. Again, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Adoba, Dearborn. Lorraine Johnson

Room Tip: I loved my room on the front of the building on the sixth floor overlooking the lobby entrance and a...
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciated the clean air. I appreciated the fact that you only changed the towels when needed. This conserved water and detergent use.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

For a conference, we had booked a room with two double beds. to ensure that it is the case, we dropped in the night before to confirm the booking.
on the day of the arrival. Hassan was the man who received us, and then promptly gave us the wrong key with the wrong room number.
we understood that mistakes sometimes happen, and went down to sort it out (with our luggages, as no bell boy was available), a girl received us, and gave us the key to a room with king bed...
okay, maybe we are just unlucky. so we phoned to the reception, and they said that they will find a double room and call us back. we waited for an hour, and that didnt happen. so we went down to sort it out once again, the person who received us was unapologetic, and offered us to have two rollaway beds instead, as they are fully booked for double rooms. I know for a fact that a double room was available, as I saw it being cleaned. since the person had no authority to do anything, we asked for the manager.
all the while that we were waiting, Hassan was walking in and out of the reception room. As it turned out, he was the manager!! he was just avoiding us the whole time!
Even the other receptionists were wondering why he was receiving new guests when obviously we are waiting for him.
We are obviously very angry when we realized this, before, it might have just been mistakes, but Hassan's behaviour was plain disrespectful. At this point, we approached him and asked why he was not receiving us, and trying to correct his mistakes. He did not say anything. We didnt want to make a scene, so we ask him to sort it out. Apparently, if you are the manager, you can find a room with double beds right away...
We had to stay for three nights there because its the conference venue. But this experience would make us avoid this hotel at all in the future!
one thing to be mentioned is that the cleaning ladies are very nice and friendly in this hotel. We had a much more pleasant experience getting help from them than with manager hassan.
as a last thought, the average wait time was more than ten minutes to get received when we were there. And we werent the first or the last ones to have room problems.
Avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssrthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Not a bad hotel - for $93 a night we would stay again - rooms do not have fridges but you can request one - front desk stay are pretty nice - rooms are average - I did find the hallway a bit dated & dark - 10 minutes from the border & 2 minutes to the mall - good area of Dearborne

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a large imposing hotel located between Ford World Headquarters building and a mall. You'll need a car as it's not within walking distance I much else.

The rooms are somewhat older but nevertheless comfortable and clean. Nothing fancy. Service was pleasant but not over the top.

Price (I paid $106 a night) was amongst the lowest, for a decent hotel. If the location is suitable for you, and you're not looking for anything fancy, this is an absolute bargain and I would strongly recommend it based on value alone.



Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Fort Meade, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at the Adoba Hotel for 5 long nights. We originally had a room on the 11th floor but since I am scared of heights the staff was gracious enough to put us on the 4th floor. When we walked into the room it felt dirty even though it had a tidy look. I immediately started looking around and found that the carpet was very dirty, the curtains were old looking and the bathroom sink was dirty. After unsuccessfully trying to convince my husband to check out and go somewhere else I asked for another room and they put us in an exec room. It was a little better although the room had an old smell to it. I really didn't like the fact that the shower curtain touches you when the water is running (very high pressured water). The bathroom/tub is very small and tight. At check out, I asked front desk to give us a zero balance receipt. Well, we found out that there was an additional $40 charge on our bill and the front desk could not explain where it came from. We didn't use anything from the hotel that would incur charges. Needless to say, we are still fighting that battle. We got through the 5 nights but we will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bdwashington15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at the Adoba Hotel for 2 nights to attend a wedding. I had made a request for a microwave in the room as we were travelling with 2 kids. Upon check in, I did not find a microwave in the room. I found the iron was missing as well. So I tried to call the front desk to report this issue and learned the landline phone was not working as well!

I went to the front desk to report these issues and they promptly took the information and reported to the service desk. Their engineer came and replaced the phone within few minutes. But for the next 2 days and 2-3 reminders, they did not deliver an iron to the room

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. They need to do a lot of work in taking care of their customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjiv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dearborn hotels
0.6 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Detroit Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Dearborn
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Dearborn
Staybridge Suites Dearborn
#9 of 18 in Dearborn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edward Village Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Village Michigan

Property: Edward Village Michigan
Address: 600 Town Center Dr, Fairlane Town Center, Dearborn, MI 48126-2718 (Formerly Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center)
Location: United States > Michigan > Dearborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dearborn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edward Village Michigan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 773
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-known within the charming city of Dearborn, Michigan across the street from Ford World Headquarters, Fairlane Mall, and minutes from the Henry Ford Museum. Only minutes from downtown Detroit, Canada and Detroit airport. Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center guests will receive complimentary WI-FI, new 40" SMART flat screen TV's, fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub. Start your morning off in Giulio's & Sons Restaurant or in a morning hurry stop by BREW Specialty coffee shop proudly serving Starbuck products. Awarded the Green Eco 4 Key certification this landmark hotel has a passion for customer service and offering you a fantastic sustainable stay whether for business or pleasure. Make time to browse, shop the trendy gift shop located on the 1st floor. Relax and rejuvenate with a signature massage from our onsite spa or sample the delectable culinary creations from the restaurants impressive portfolio of creating savory, organic daily menus using local ingredients serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edward Village Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dearborn Hotel Dearborn
Dearborn Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Dearborn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing