We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but no substance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edward Village Michigan
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Dearborn
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, but no substance”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a very pretty hotel. Gorgeous lobby, huge atrium, free welcome drinks. And a nice well-priced buffet breakfast. Our room looked nice. Great proximity to the Ford Museum, too.

But we didn't sleep well either night due to a too soft mattress on a bed that shook if one of us twitched a toe. The paper-thin walls didn't help, either. First night we were treated to the sounds and effects of our neighbours having sex, including moaning and our headboard banging and shaking. The second night, our whole room vibrated and shook from about 9-10; we wondered if a gymnastics team had checked in on our floor.

If/when we revisit the Ford Museum, we'll likely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    274
    244
    144
    106
See reviews for
241
169
82
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was stuck in Detroit from a plane delay. I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was beautiful, newly redecorated. Unfortunately, I had to leave very early in the morning and was not able to experience any of the amenities at the hotel. It is a little far from the airport and no place within the hotel to get food late at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank basketnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicePresidentSales1, Owner at Edward Village Michigan, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Greetings Basketnurse from the adoba hotel Dearborn!
We understand and emphasize how exasperating travel delays can be for a guest. After such a trying trip your upbeat and pleasant review of our hotel is greatly appreciated.

It was our privilege to host you during this inconvenient situation. We look forward to serving you on a future visit to the Dearborn area. My apologies that all our restaurant outlets were closed during your late arrival to the hotel.
Thank you again for your kind complements on the hotels decor and design.

"Travel with a Purpose and Change the World Today"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was absolutely one of the worst, if not THE worst hotel, that I've ever stayed at. What an absolute dump. At first the clerk refused to check us in since my wife wasn't with me. When I finally got to our "preferred" room, to put it bluntly, it smelled like [--]. I asked if a nonsmoking room was available and was told that all of their rooms were nonsmoking. I was tempted to ask if they had one that didn't smell like [--]. I noticed a lot of other small maintenance issues here and there. The place is getting pretty run down. I don't think that I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel needs some maintenance attention and updating. My room was comfortable but carpet stained wallpaper pealing, and faucet handles loose. Housekeeping was inconsistent: washcloths and bath mat absent some days. Linens were nice but came untucked through the night, every night. The room needed a thorough dusting. Analog TV, really? Vending machines were not working. Was at a convention for 800+ and that part went well.

Green Features: What environmentally friendly practices? Could have fooled me.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonM532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicePresidentSales1, Owner at Edward Village Michigan, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear DonM532,

As one of the largest conference center hotels in the Midwest, we do pride ourselves on our banquet and convention services. Our convention services team members are truly some of the best in the industry. I look forward to sharing your positive observations on the conference execution with the team.

Regarding your room conditions, we appreciate your constructive and candid feedback. I will share your comments with both our housekeeping and maintenance staff as an opportunity for training and improvement. Please know, we strive to exceed all guest expectations and I do apologize for the shortcoming you experienced in your guestroom.

We have several upgrades in progress for the hotel and the TV’s are at the top of the list. We hope to see you on a future visit where you can enjoy all our new refurbishments.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Utah
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was there for a 3-day convention. We were in a delux room which was extremely large and nice. Lots of room even with a roll-away in the room. This is a large hotel, but parking is easy, and the elevators are surprisingly fast. The convention was well run. The food was good. The dinners were a little pricey but included the salad bar and dessert bar, and the staff went out of their way to be accommodating. Right across the parking lot from the mall, so everything you need is close by. And easy 15 min from the airport as well. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicePresidentSales1, Owner at Edward Village Michigan, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear GrandmaCy,
Thank you for the great 5-Star review!! Your positive feedback on the hotel is very gratifying and portrays our location and amenities so well.
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your convention and will consider us on your next stay to the area.
Always at your service – the adoba hotel Dearborn team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
486 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is interesting to look at, close to the mall and restaurants (not to mention the Dearborn sites), and the public spaces are gorgeous. Self-parking and wifi are free, which is a plus. However, the service is so-so. The front desk clerk seemed to look down his nose at me and made a remark about using Hotwire (got the room for $63 per night). The room was very basic. The bathroom was not what a luxury bathroom should be (it was more of a motel 6 type facility). The rest of the room was clean and comfortable enough. No flat screen. The worst part was that the room wouldn't stay cool AND that the only cups/glasses in the room were NOT paper and therefore NOT CLEAN. Also, there was no bag for the ice bucket, which was also not clean. In order to get ice, I cleaned out a glass very well and ended up having to get ice one cup at a time.

I would revisit, but only for this discounted price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel was the Hyatt Regency up until last year and they too did not staff enough people for a large convention.....the hotel does not have enough staff to take care of the people in the restaurants...they need a place to have meals and enough staff to serve them. Othere than that, the hotel is a great place to have a convention if you need to go to Detroit.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debrawmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dearborn hotels
0.6 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Detroit Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Dearborn
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Dearborn
Staybridge Suites Dearborn
#9 of 18 in Dearborn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edward Village Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Village Michigan

Property: Edward Village Michigan
Address: 600 Town Center Dr, Fairlane Town Center, Dearborn, MI 48126-2718 (Formerly Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center)
Location: United States > Michigan > Dearborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dearborn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edward Village Michigan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 773
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-known within the charming city of Dearborn, Michigan across the street from Ford World Headquarters, Fairlane Mall, and minutes from the Henry Ford Museum. Only minutes from downtown Detroit, Canada and Detroit airport. Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center guests will receive complimentary WI-FI, new 40" SMART flat screen TV's, fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub. Start your morning off in Giulio's & Sons Restaurant or in a morning hurry stop by BREW Specialty coffee shop proudly serving Starbuck products. Awarded the Green Eco 4 Key certification this landmark hotel has a passion for customer service and offering you a fantastic sustainable stay whether for business or pleasure. Make time to browse, shop the trendy gift shop located on the 1st floor. Relax and rejuvenate with a signature massage from our onsite spa or sample the delectable culinary creations from the restaurants impressive portfolio of creating savory, organic daily menus using local ingredients serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edward Village Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dearborn Hotel Dearborn
Dearborn Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Dearborn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing