We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edward Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Dearborn
GreenLeadersGold level
Mobile, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Needs renovation”
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I stay all over the country and am highly disappointed in this Hyatt. Hotel needs renovation, carpet stained, furniture worn and stained. The noise of this atrium style hotel is terrible. I was on 6th floor and party downstairs sounds like it is out my front door. I set the AC on 66-68 degrees and it won't cool down the room. Hot tub should be called the cold tub. Furniture in the lobby was worn and looked like it came from Goodwill. The staff acted like they cared but their hand are tied if the owners don't do what they need to do.
On the plus side, the room is large and the staff is friendly. This is all good but if you can't sleep because of noise and ac temperature in not comfortable it does not matter.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank chucksierke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    275
    247
    146
    108
See reviews for
242
170
82
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Dearborn was our first stop on a four week tour of the US. Our family are Ford fans and this was the purpose of our visit to Dearborn. The hotel checkin was easy. Staff pleasant and knowledgable. As we didn't have car hire, we utilized the town cars to get us to the Henry Ford museum and village - we thought costs were reasonable. We utilized the in-house restaurant for breakfast and the staff were fantastic. Our daughter is quite a fussy eater, but she absolutely loved what was on offer. As for dinner, there are a number of restaurants located outside of the hotel if you wish - all varying budgets. There is a shopping centre across the carpark

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Ill
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Walking up to the front doors, you can't help but look up and say "This is a Hyatt," You say the same thing when you see the lobby. Very contemporary and elegant.
Then you get to your room floor, and suddenly, it changes a bit. You look down at the carpet and realize it's not only seen better days, but better decades. Then you go into your room and say to yourself, "This Baymont has huge rooms."
My stay was actually really nice. The bed was comfortable, the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. But there were just some things that made you take a step back and question whether this should be the caliber of hotel it calms to be.
Aside from the hallway carpeting, in my room, the bathroom had a few chipped tiles and there was something covering the bottom of the tub. You could tell it was showing its age.
The room, while quite large and spacious, had a bizarre layout and the furniture was showing its age. Also, it still had an old-fashioned CRT TV set and Internet access was not free.
When I stay at a Hyatt, I expect certain things and while it delivered some, it fell short on a number of others. That said, it's nothing that some minor renovations couldn't fix.
Incidentally, I learned Hyatt was dropping the hotel and it was going to take on a new nameplate. I'm disappointed, but not shocked.
The hotel has great potential and for the right price, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdb327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Spending four day at the Hyatt, I found myself checking out the regular goings on. The maid service was superb, I asked housekeeping for extra water and they were so accommodating. Never drink the bottles of water left in the room, that’s five dollars each. A few of the morning were hot and humid but the last day was 55 and a high of 75. For person from Las Vegas during summer, 55 degrees was great. The squirrels are friendly enough and like to be fed. The mall is close by, and Wal-Mart is fairly close as well, but not walking distance. The pool was wonderful and enjoyed it. Over-all a wonderful place to stay, the pool was quit and clean. Going to the Rotunda Room and looking out over the area was difficult, it seemed only “special people” were allowed to go up there. So much for me I that respect, I’m not very special.

Room Tip: Stay as close as you can to the top floor. The familys with children stay on the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanersborg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A big hotel with possibilities. The restaurant was only open for breakfast and if you wanted dinner you had to order from the bar. The breakfast was good. It is obvious that a renovation and an update are needed. The wifi did not work in all public areas not even in the conference rooms. No flat screen tvs on the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO_Vargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here recently on a 4 night business stay. From the outside, the hotel looks dated, but when you enter the lobby you would think you just entered a 5 star grand hotel. The front desk staff (Sarah) was extremely helpful for a speedy check-in process. I asked for a Suite upgrade, and because of availability, was upgraded to a premium King Room.

The room was extremely spacious, with a large “dinning” table, separate desk; sink with fridge and large bathroom. But soon upon entering the room I noticed the true “age” of the room. The carpet is in dire need of replacement, with a pretty large stain on the floor, the TV is in an awkward position, and is an old CRT tube style TV; Even Red Roof Inn has flat screens now-a-days. The room was clean, the sheets where clean, and the bed was comfortable, but the room had an overall “musty” smell which tells me it is time for some fresh paint and new carpeting.

I did eat at the hotel bar on several occasions, and the food was excellent, and not too overpriced. The one thing about this property that overly impressed me was the staff; by far one of the friendliest Hyatt Hotel staff’s I have ever encountered. Everyone, from my very friendly Maid, to the man delivering room service, went above and beyond to make me feel welcomed. This truly makes a difference in a hotel stay, and seemed to make up for some of the other negatives mentioned above.

From talking to the staff I was informed that Hyatt is pulling out in late October, because the owner of the hotel will not make the needed renovations. The renovations and upgrades needed are a must, and it is a shame that such a nice property will lose its Hyatt name .

Overall, I would and will return to this hotel, but hope that they soon make the needed rennovations because as of now it just barely fits the “Hyatt standard”.

Room Tip: The "Executive King" rooms are huge. Regular rooms are somewhat small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danNH347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The place was great. We booked through Priceline and we were treated royally. The rooms were spotless and the beds and pillows were so comfortable. We took our own pillows but sure did not need them. The pool area is perfect. When people complain about a place like this then they need to stay in a few 'lower class" places to appreciate how great this place really is. I would be thrilled to stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect and the elevators are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dearborn hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Detroit Dearborn
0.6 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Greenfield Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dearborn
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edward Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Edward Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 600 Town Center Dr, Fairlane Town Center, Dearborn, MI 48126-2718 (Formerly Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Dearborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dearborn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edward Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 773
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-known within the charming city of Dearborn, Michigan across the street from Ford World Headquarters, Fairlane Mall, and minutes from the Henry Ford Museum. Only minutes from downtown Detroit, Canada and Detroit airport. Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center guests will receive complimentary WI-FI, new 40" SMART flat screen TV's, fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub. Start your morning off in Giulio's & Sons Restaurant or in a morning hurry stop by BREW Specialty coffee shop proudly serving Starbuck products. Awarded the Green Eco 4 Key certification this landmark hotel has a passion for customer service and offering you a fantastic sustainable stay whether for business or pleasure. Make time to browse, shop the trendy gift shop located on the 1st floor. Relax and rejuvenate with a signature massage from our onsite spa or sample the delectable culinary creations from the restaurants impressive portfolio of creating savory, organic daily menus using local ingredients serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Edward Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dearborn Hotel Dearborn
Dearborn Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Dearborn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing