We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A work in progress to get to the awesome seafood”

Chuck Muer's Big Fish
Reserve with OpenTable
Chuck Muer's Big Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 274 Restaurants in Dearborn
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fairlane Mall
Description: One bite & you’ll be hooked! Dearborn’s popular Big Fish Seafood Bistro delivers a fun, eclectic atmosphere, attentive service & the freshest seafood available. Our innovative menu also boasts steaks, chicken & lamb along with homemade pastas, sandwiches & salads. Enjoy daily chef features as well as one-of-a-kind specialties such as Vanilla Scallops, Potato Encrusted Whitefish & the Ultimate Seafood Trio, featuring grilled salmon, coconut macadamia shrimp & our signature crab cake Big Fish Seafood Bistro features live entertainment every Friday & Saturday evening, & Wednesday night Patio Jazz throughout the summer. Join us weekdays from 3-6:30pm for the best Happy Hour in town with drink & appetizer specials starting at just $3.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A work in progress to get to the awesome seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

By the time we got to actually eat we were a little put off, but once the food came all was forgotten. I could have written Heather Y's review: Signage is abysmal so look or the TGI Fridays. Once there the exterior of the place makes you wonder what you are getting yourself into. Oh, and the identity crisis, the lobby says it is a Landry's restaurant?? Not sure what's up with this. Once inside the hostess could not find our reservation (which we definitely didn't need). Once seated, the interior ambiance is lovely. And our drink order resulted in less than stellar results. But finally the food... some of the best and freshest seafood we've had in a long while. Hang tough and you will be rewarded.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PieOhMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    63
    29
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a good idea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Once again, Big Fish did not disappoint. Whenever we are near, we make it a point to dine here. Always reliable and a treat. Had a great lunch, which during the week working is a rarity. Scheduled our day off work with a trip to The Henry Ford / Greenfield Village that included having lunch at Big Fish. Selection is fantastic and covers quit a bit. The staff has always been great during our visits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Horst H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had no idea this was such a nice restaurant. We live nearby and have driven by many times, but I assumed this was a silly chain (it does share a parking lot with TGI Fridays). We called for a reservation, just in case, but it wasn't needed for a Thursday night. It was my birthday and they printed me a special menu with my name on it. A little weird, but interesting.

There is a Monday-Thursday menu option for a 3 course meal for $20. We all got that. It comes with soup or salad, a choice from 4 entrees (two tilapia, a salmon and a shrimp) and creme brulee dessert. (There is also a M-TH 3-6 pm menu that is similar for $15.99!) It was really great value. Most of the meals on the menu were in the $18-$30 range, so the special menu was a great value. Our waitress was incredibly professional! The breads were also delicious. The salad starter wasn't just an iceberg salad, it was mixed greens, blue cheese, pine nuts and vinaigrette.

Also, the atmosphere and attitude of the wait staff is top notch. Our waitress was incredibly professional and well trained. This is a more upscale restaurant and would be great for a romantic date night. They also have an extensive wine list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunset Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The name perhaps is a misnomer because we dined inside with nary a glance at any sunset. It really should be named Early Bird Special but that doesn't have the cache of dining and the sunset. For $15.99 you get quite a selection from the 3 course menu. Three starters, four entrees, and three dessert selections. I had the caesar salad which was huge and the daily catch of the day, prepared "your way." In my case it was blackened catfish. For dessert I had the Sander's hot fudge sundae. My wife had the classic shrimp scampi, but we didn't find it classic in any way. The shrimp was placed on small pieces of toast and wasn't too tasty that way. Her choice of the key lime pie was delicious and quite filling.
All in all we would come back for this special but concentrate on the "catch of the day" which allows more choices. It is available daily from 3-6 P.M and not a bad deal. Just remember you won't see any sunsets in the main dining room.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiCub33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
419 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Get the fish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We came here for a birthday a couple weeks ago and everyone who ordered fish - grilled, blackened, etc really enjoyed that. The birthday boy unfortunately ordered a seafood pasta and the pasta was all clumped together and not cooked well and he was the only person who didn't quite enjoy his meal. He'll learn for next time and order better!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck Muer's Big Fish also viewed

 

Been to Chuck Muer's Big Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing