We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As always, fantastic pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buddy's Pizza

Buddy's Pizza
Ranked #1 of 274 Restaurants in Dearborn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As always, fantastic pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

There is no place else like Buddy's! We only had pizza, but that was all we needed. It was just as we remembered, and just as my dad remembered from his youth. If you have never been, it is a must! Great, deep dish crust but we also tried a thin crust for the kids. That had the same fantastic flavor, just a little less of the crust. The sauce is sweet and the toppings mild. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferSA276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    147
    38
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis, missouri
Level Contributor
192 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great crust”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Usually we don't eat pizza much while traveling but we stumbled on Buddy's while driving from our Dearborn hotel. We were so pleasantly surprised. The crust is the best I've had (sorry Pi). The ingredients were fresh and the size was good. I liked the square shape Our server was friendly and described the crust process. The pizza is baked in seasoned but never washed heavy pans with high edges which must cause the crust to be slightly crispy but not burned at all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norms_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best pizza It's great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Detroit and had awesome pizza and excellent service. Thick crust great sauce and lots of cheese lovin it

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
149 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“So Glad we Decided to Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were tired after a long day of traveling but our kids were hungry (ages 11 and 13). We asked the concierge for her opinion on two places we found online. She convinced us to go to Buddy's. What a wonderful treat! The pizza was wonderful and the service was amazing. Definitely give the "Detroit-er" a try. The crust was thick but airy. The sauce was very tasty and the amount of toppings were just right. It was the best pizza we had during a 10 day trip that also included "Chicago" pizza. The only thing that caught us off guard was that ranch dressing seems to be included as a dipping sauce for everything. I guess that is a Michigan thing.

The service was great. Our server was quick but we never felt rushed. She asked us if we were going to the Dearborn Homecoming that evening and quickly realized we were from out of town (I guess we looked clueless). Along with great service, she gave us some wonderful ideas for our vacation, while never missing a beat with the other tables. It just made the whole experience exceptional.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone living in the area or just passing by. It is good for couples, families and small groups. The atmosphere was warm and inviting and the pizza was awesome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennE1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
194 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had driven by Buddy's on our way to/from the Henry Ford/ Greenfield Village attractions and decided to stop in and give it a try since it appeared to be such a busy place. (Wish we had checked our museum tickets and discovered the $4 coupon on the back.)

Having never heard of a "Detroit-style" pizza before I wasn't sure what to expect but the first bite I was hooked. The crust is thick but, being twice baked, remains crispy on the edges and chewy the rest of the way. It was amazing. The toppings appeared to be fresh and the cheese and sauce were very flavorful.

The serving staff was attentive and pleasant and made sure we were well looked after, despite the restaurant being fairly busy when we arrived. My fiancée and I loved the décor and the historic photos of the Detroit area.

It was only when we pulled out our smartphones and started learning more about Detroit-style pizza did we learn that this place is a bit of a local institution. It's easy to see why!

My fiancée and I both think this might have been the best pizza we've ever had, and she's lived in Chicago for a few years and that is a city known for its pizzas. Buddy's is on our list of "must return to" places next time we're in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanOCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddy's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Buddy's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing