We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but not clean”

Bd's Mongolian Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Bd's Mongolian Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 281 Restaurants in Dearborn
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value but not clean”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I had this mongolian Grill as found some other places closed near the area. When seated they give you a bowl, so you can go to assemble your dish, picking one meat, vegetables and sauces.

I thought this was a good idea because I like to cook and usually I like my food to be more spicy. Nervertheless food areas where dirty, and some sauces were mixed, spoons dirty and tables were slimy of food residues. I undestand that this mess is normal when people is making their food, but I could expect more control here. If you are a spotless food area fan, this is not your place. Also I found several tables with no napkins and were messy.

I paid for a bowl of rice, a bowl of grillled food and a beer 16 dollars, so I think that is a good value.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    44
    28
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Husband and Family love this place”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I like the food, location, and atmosphere! My husband bugs me to go here all the time and my family seems to pick it a lot as well. I like that I can pick my own dish - meat, veggies, sauces, spices, etc. The Wham Bam Shrimp are a wonderful appetizer and the Big Brownie and a sinfully good dessert.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sah224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield Center, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fun idea but unsanitary and chaotic.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The idea of choosing your ingredients, including sauces and spices and having them grilled in front of you is a fun idea that we were sure the kids would love..and they did.

My complaint is the that the food areas were filthy. The foods and sauces were mixing and the ladles were slimy. The area where one "assembles" one's meal is chaotic and without a tray, it is difficult to hold a bowl and sauce dish; it is especially difficult if you must also help out your children with this whole process. Giving customers trays and a place to set them as you "work" would not only make the process easier, but it would keep people from setting their bowls and dishes down in the buffet table itself (as people were doing as they were attempting to juggle the whole assembly process). It might also be helpful to have someone circulate the area offering a bit of guidance and/or suggestions. We probably will not return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlormeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Mi
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“freshly cooked while you watch”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

fresh meats, seafood, veg's cooked while you wait. nice atmosphere, clean, friendly place. Always busy in a good way

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdamianlapko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yuck”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Barely made it home to let out all the nasty frozen meat. This place is just filthy and gross. Food bar has meats mixing and the thongs are slimy and nasty. Sorry, I did not appreciate the runs after eating here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bd's Mongolian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bd's Mongolian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing