We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise - Best Red Roof we have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Detroit – Dearborn/Greenfield Village
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Dearborn
Certificate of Excellence
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise - Best Red Roof we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We were travelling to Dearborn to see the Henry Ford and the Ford Factory tour. We had splurged in Frankenmuth so decided to be frugal for this leg of the trip. We decided on Red Roof Dearborn because of the proximity and the reviews here, knowing it is a Red Roof and you have to expect it NOT to be high end. I agree with the hard to find - what is it with Red Roofs, they have huge signs from the thruways but nothing at street level saying turn here? Fortunately we were travelling on the same side of the street as it was and were able to find it. EVERYONE on the front desk we encountered for our 2 night stay was very friendly, and seemed to enjoy working there. The King room was clean, and good sized. The breakfast was an extra treat - R Roofs aren't noted for breakfast. The deli looked run down but inside the staff both mornings were friendly and made the best poached eggs. Yes, poached at a diner. It was a nice start to the day.
The only thing negative was not the motel itself, it really was the area. Across the street it looks like a theatre closed down, as well as several stores. Also, the "Michigan Left" (no left turns at lights, you do a "U"ey up ahead is very confusing. But we were able to be at the Ford place within minutes. I'll definitely stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jangale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    90
    40
    31
    9
See reviews for
79
101
46
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

We were surprised that the hotel offered free breakfast at Harley's Deli (or a credit of $3.50 a person if we wanted to apply it toward something that wasn't on the free-breakfast menu). Harley's was perhaps 150 paces from our room.

The free breakfast wasn't mentioned at the motel website.

At Harley's we were politely told we needed a piece of documentation of our motel-guest-status from the Red Roof Inn, so we went back and got that from the front-desk clerk.

We had apple pancakes, which were tasty.

Harley's has a motorcycle theme. Harley also is the name of the owners' young daughter. Harley's mother, who served us, was nice. We did not meet Harley's father.

The motel room appeared to have been recently redecorated.

  • Liked — convenience, quality for the modest cost
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huskersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

The red roof inn is just a short drive from the Henry Ford Attractions in Dearborn. We stayed just one night using a coupon from "roomsaver" magazine so it was only $44. on arrival the reception area was bright and clean, and the staff helpful and friendly. We were informed that usually breakfast was included, but that our rate was too low. This suited us fine, apparently breakfast was served in a cafe just across the road with a voucher from reception.

The room was large, clean, and newly decorated; with a large king bed, tv, and bathroom. Situated on ground floor level, in the usual motel style (cars parked infront).

I cannot fault the Red Roof inn, perfect for a weekend break, and ideal for tourist attractions, there are plenty of places to eat nearby, and the area seems relatively safe.
unfortunately after a night here we moved to "victory Inn" half a mile down the road, see my other review. I would definately recommend that you stayed in Red Roof inn, over Victory inn :-)

  • Liked — clean, bright rooms
  • Disliked — wifi was extra $$
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank theonly1iknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Red Roof Dearborn a couple of weeks ago. This is definitely a budget chain - you get the essentials like bath and face soap and a small shampoo, but nothing fancy. What we really appreciate about the place - we've stayed here about five times - is that it is clean, convenient to attractions, and usually quiet. A year or so ago the Red Roof was renovated and we appreciate the much nicer pillows, bedding, and bathroom. I do think the mattresses will need replacing soon - this visit they seemed rather soft. The bathroom is very small, but the water was hot and the shower satisfactory. The sink and dressing area are located just outside the bathroom which made it convenient for me to finish dressing while my husband showered.

There is a very nice deli - Harley's Dearborn Deli - just in front of the hotel. They have really good food and are very friendly. They will gladly box your food for takeout if you want to take it back to your room.

We will definitely stay here on our next visit to Detroit.

  • Liked — The Red Roof is quiet, clean and pet friendly.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Stayed here for just one night while visiting the Henry Ford Museum and attractions. It's just a short drive to the museum complex from the hotel. You can be there in 10 minutes or less. The hotel was clean, the desk staff helpful in recommending places to eat and the cleaning staff was friendly as well. It's true that it's not the fanciest place around but you're not staying there to hang out in the room all day anyway, There is a great little breakfast/lunch deli place in the little strip mall directly infront of the motel. I can't remember the name but it's the first store front location right on the corner from the motel parking lot. It's a good place to go for a quick and affordable breakfast before you head out for the day. The motel is also pet friendly. It does sit back off of the road just a little so keep your eye out for the sign while driving down the street. Enjoy the Henry ford Museums....great!!

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ace4294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2007

My Wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in early May. We chose Dearborn as a base for The Henry Ford and Detroit. Don't be deceived by the location. Yes it is further away from The Henry Ford than other accommodation, but distance is irrelevant when you have a car. The lobby and the rooms have been recently renovated and our room was perfectly fine for a 2 night stay. I was kept awake one night by a noisy neighbour, but these things happen from time to time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the free newspaper and coffee in the lobby was very welcome. There is an excellent Steak Restaurant, called Kiernan’s 5 minutes away by car. We also went to the AMC cinema at Fairlane Mall, about 10 minutes by car. If you don't want to drive into Detroit you can get the bus from across the road.
Overall for the price of $65 per night plus taxes this was good value for money and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank datz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Do not be lured by the location of this hotel to the Henry Ford/Greenfiled Village. Yes, it is only 3 miles from these attractions, but we encountered numerous problems with the hotel when we stayed here in April 2007. We reserved 2 non-smoking rooms and when we entered the 1st room, the smell of smoke was overwhelming and we had to get another room. The second problem we encountered was that the smoke detector in our room was hanging by the wires and was not connected to anything. Therefore, if there would have been a fire in our room, the front desk would not have known about it becasue the system had been disabled. The third problem is the location of this hotel. The surrounding area is not very tourist friendly. There is an alleyway in front of the hotel and trash and debris littered the entire area around the hotel.
Traveller beware of this one. When booking a hotel, it is not always about the price or the rating, it is about the recommendation of others and their personal experiences.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The smoke detector was disabled in our room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeacherAkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dearborn hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dearborn
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Detroit Dearborn
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Greenfield Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
2.3 mi away
The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Dearborn
Staybridge Suites Dearborn
#8 of 18 in Dearborn
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Detroit – Dearborn/Greenfield Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Detroit – Dearborn/Greenfield Village

Property: Red Roof Inn Detroit – Dearborn/Greenfield Village
Address: 24130 Michigan Ave, Dearborn, MI 48124
Location: United States > Michigan > Dearborn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dearborn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Detroit – Dearborn/Greenfield Village 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Detroit – Dearborn/Greenfield Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Detroit Dearborn Hotel Dearborn
Red Roof Inn Dearborn
Dearborn Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing