We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bucket list item fulfilled” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenfield Village

Greenfield Village
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Dearborn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bucket list item fulfilled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had heard for many years that this was a wonderful place, and we were not disappointed one bit. There is so much to see that we will definitely have to go back. One day was not enough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichiganBubbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,435
    248
    47
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A solid dose of history, please.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We picked a lovely fall day in October to visit and I highly recommend a stroller if you have young children as there's a lot to cover. We started out with a train ride to get the lay of the land. The ride pass was helpful as we rode the train, carousel, model T, and omnibus (avoid this as it was very close inside; open air horse carriage would be better) and those rides add up with a family in tow. The highlights of the day were the locomotive roundhouse and the model T ride. My oldest (7yo) got questions answered about the slave quarters and master's house. My husband was fascinated by the workings of the model T and it was a surprisingly comfortable ride. The glass blowing, weaving and milling workshops were also intriguing, probably more so to older kids and adults. We didn't dine there, but packed a lunch and made a trip to the sweet & coffee shop. A lot of the dining places were closed for the fall season. There is a new outdoor playspace that just opened next to the carousel and it's a nice area to let the kids run, climb, and swing. It also features some water and sand areas that the kids are drawn to so a dry shirt might be a good thing to bring along for afterward. We saw a lot in six hours and probably explored 75% of the Village with three children along, but you might consider a membership if you wanted a thorough two-day visit or wished to see the Henry Ford too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This "museum" village was outstanding with opportunities to ride in an original Model T Ford, a steam engine train, a horse drawn carriage and buses dating to the 1930s. But was the real attraction for us senior citizens was being able to walk into the actual (not replicated) homes of such important people Robert Frost, George Washington Carver, the Wright brothers home from Dayton, Ohio, and a court house in which Abraham Lincoln practiced law. These are their actual homes taken down and transported to the Village by Ford, board by board. An overall wonderful, historical experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rosenfieldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“History on display”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

To be able to stroll around the grounds and experience the history of our great nation combined with the homes and shops of the individuals that shaped history was great. Many presentations on trades and day to day living makes this an exceptional history visit. A must do when in the Detroit area!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun and Historical Adventure for the Whole Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Greenfield Village takes you back in time to the turn of the 20th century and lets you visit places you've read about ... the Wright Brothers' bike shop and boyhood home, Thomas Edison's workshop, Noah Webster's house, Henry Ford's home ... and allows you the opportunity to ride in a Model A car or try on fancy hand-made hats from days of yesteryear! There's a working farm with workers dressed in period clothing, streets of cobblestone, horse drawn carriages, and an old fashioned inn which serves food from that time in history. There is so much to see and do! In the summer they often have real live old-fashioned baseball games with the teams dressed in turn of the century uniforms. A steam engine train takes you from one part of the village to another ... or you can stay on and go all the way around the village. Besides the village there is also the Henry Ford Museum to visit on the grounds. You can easily make a day, 2 days or even 3 days of the experience there...depending on the amount of time you take at each site. In many of the buildings there are docents to give you history, tell stories and answer questions. There are also short skits and presentations, games to play and a beautiful carrousel to ride. If you're in the area it's an experience you and your family don't want to miss!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingfolks4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenfield Village also viewed

 

Been to Greenfield Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing