We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Lebanese Oasis in a Food Desert”
Review of Ollie's Restaurant

Ollie's Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 276 Restaurants in Dearborn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Lebanese Oasis in a Food Desert”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've been staying Detroit for several months on business and Ollie's is the one restaurant I look forward to each week. This clean, tastefully decorated Hallel (no alcohol) restaurant serves a simple menu of well prepared Middle Eastern classic dishes - kebobs, sharma etc. that are reasonably priced. Service is friendly and efficient. Entrees, which come with soup or salad, are quite ample. Those with smaller appetites will be well served with the many choices of special salads and appetizers as well as sandwiches.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    47
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
410 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

On my last trip to the Detroit area I had dined at Ollie's Lebanese Cuisine in Sterling Heights and was unaware that they also had a restaurant in Dearborn, to which I was alerted by the desk receptionist at the hotel I was staying. The restaurant is conveniently located in a small shopping mall on the corner of Ford Road and Mercury Drive, close by Ford Motor Company world headquarters. Parking is spacious and the restaurant decor was pleasant. Wait staff was competent. The shish combo (one skewer kabob, one skewer tawook, and one skewer kafta was not exceptionally noteworthy. The pita bread was also somewhat disappointing, while the rice was quite good. While, like most Lebanese restaurants, pricing was reasonable, I felt that $16.99 for the shish combo was slightly high for a Lebanese restaurant in a town with dozens of fine Lebanese and other Arabic restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LouBobHarborSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Middle Eastern Food in metro Detroit”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We've eaten at many Lebanese / Greek restaurants in the metro area and prefer Ollies, hands down. Fabulous fattoush and hummus, great fresh pita bread. Terrific shish tawook and shish kafta sandwiches. Wonderful soups. Best dishes on the dinner menu are the Chicken Cilantro and the Lemon Oregano Chicken.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryM054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
248 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“first timer”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went to lunch with friends and had the chicken schwarma lunch with rice and salad. Was expecting a sandwich, but had the chicken served w/o. Salad and rice were good as was the garlic sauce (very good). Chicken was a bit dry. Service was fast and polite. Very crowded, but did not feel rushed. I have had a lot of Arabic food and this was average. Would try it again. Price was reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rt113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow,Wow,Wow”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Can you tell I love this restaurant??? I have reviewed it before and can't say enough good about it. The food is fantastic. We travel to Dearborn about once a year and always stop for dinner. This time ordered the 'baked chicken' special for the day and it was out of this world, so complex and well prepared. If you love Lebanese food, don't miss this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank slr7412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ollie's Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Ollie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing