We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best museum outside of Smithsonian.”
Review of The Henry Ford

The Henry Ford
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Dearborn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trace the history of the auto and our fascination with it along with other American inventions through the staggering collection of Henry Fords estate, which includes such memorabilia as the chair Abraham Lincoln sat in when he was assassinated and the limo in which John F. Kennedy was shot.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Benton, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best museum outside of Smithsonian.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Trains, planes, and automobiles and how they changed America stay and do Greenfield Village which is on the same location.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,768
    503
    64
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We did a long weekend trip to Michigan to visit both the museum and Greenfield Village. We have a little one, so we didn't want to overdue it in one day. I was impressed with the variety of subjects covered in the museum's exhibits. Makes you proud of the innovation and hard work of America and our industrious history. They were filming while we were there for a new TV show and we got to see CBS's Mo Rocca, which was an added perk and interesting to see a TV crew in action.

We got through everything, at a steady pace and pushing a stroller in 4 hours. I liked that the museum map highlights "must-see" exhibits so that you don't regret skipping over something on accident.

The only negatives that I could nitpick at are the flow from exhibit to exhibit is a little confusing just due to the sheer size of the space and the food selection is kind of odd.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The changes to the museum are wonderful. The car exhibit is great, the dining car now serves food and it was very good, we had the daily special and an egg salad sandwich. Be sure to visit the store, they had a few specials, we mostly just looked. Great for a rain day or when it is hot out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelmoorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“More that just the Motors!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Henry Ford's wealth of exhibits succeeds in placing the automobile within a wider historical context. Furniture and cultural items alongside many, many cars make perfect counterpoints.
But there is a highlight (actually there are two!)...
The first is a collection of Presidential limousines, including the actual JFK limo that drove thru' Dallas on that fateful day just over 50 years ago (worth the admission alone).
The second, and get this, the plastic moulding machines! I moulded a black Kennedy limo and a Wiener-Mobile (who says we have to grow up!).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DumDumBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Beautifully laid out. Easy to get around. Impressive displays. Informative. The museum provides a pleasurable window to America's industrial beginnings. A joy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Henry Ford also viewed

 

Been to The Henry Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing