We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Henry Ford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Henry Ford

The Henry Ford
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Dearborn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trace the history of the auto and our fascination with it along with other American inventions through the staggering collection of Henry Fords estate, which includes such memorabilia as the chair Abraham Lincoln sat in when he was assassinated and the limo in which John F. Kennedy was shot.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Henry Ford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

An amazing historical museum showcasing all modes of transportation. From the limousines of past presidents, the JFK limo that carried Kennedy on that fateful day in Dallas, November 22, 1963, plus other limos from past Presidents. The original Mustang, 1965, serial #1, that was owned by a Canadian from Newfoundland now sits here. The Canadian Pacific locomotive from the past, to the Lego city, to past relics of RV's. The Rosa Parks bus was on full display, Liberty and Justice for all, where one could sit and listen to her story! President Lincoln's chair was on display as well. Hero's of the sky, where early airplanes, agriculture. An amazing museum in Dearborn, MI. We also visited The Rouge factory were the F-150 trucks are built.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,572
    471
    59
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best museums I have visited.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I was not expecting much more than a museum with lots of old cars, so i was amazed when i visited this museum. This museum has so many interesting exhibits and displays. I was happy with the amount of interactive exhibits, they made it a really fun day. I got to sit in the seat Rosa Parks refused to give up, how cool is that!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
567 reviews
245 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“More than just cars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have been to several other car and motor museums, such as Beaulieu and Volvo and London Motor Museum, amongst many others, as well as car shows for MINI. The Henry Ford is worth a visit as it has a fine selection of cars from historical cars (not just Fords) and trains. It also has presidential cars, such as the one Kennedy was shot in and also the chair that Lincoln was shot in. It's got a decent selection of farm machinery too. There's an IMAX theatre on site as well as an exhibition hall, where they are currently showing the Avatar props and how it was made. I was slightly disappointed in the museum as I thought there would be more cars. I preferred Greenfield Village to the motor museum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rebeljenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love, love, love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Had a group ranging from 72 to 10 years old, and we all had fun. Loved the cars, the interactive exhibits, the Legos, the trains. Just a great time seeing and experiencing history. Spend the whole day. Take your time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oreomau27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
272 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great experience - incredible collection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spent two days at The Henry Ford and Greenfield Village. There was so much to see. The Rouge factory tour was wonderful - very interesting! The Henry Ford itself had trains, planes and automobiles throughout history plus so much more history. We all loved it and spent hours looking at all of the displays - learning how life in America has changed with technology. This is definitely worth an extended stay in Dearborn.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovenyc210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Henry Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing