We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most amazing museum on earth”
Review of The Henry Ford

The Henry Ford
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Dearborn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trace the history of the auto and our fascination with it along with other American inventions through the staggering collection of Henry Fords estate, which includes such memorabilia as the chair Abraham Lincoln sat in when he was assassinated and the limo in which John F. Kennedy was shot.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
430 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“The most amazing museum on earth”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A museum as a must see? I know it sounds crazy, but the Henry Ford is so much more. Take the Rouge Factory Tour and see how Henry Ford brought the assembly line to the workplace. Watching it in its current incarnation is truly astounding. Then take a leisurely stroll through The Greenfield Village and marvel at all of the outstanding and unique historical pieces that Henry Ford brought to this site. Be sure to take a ride in a Model T (and if you are a kid inside, don't miss the 1913 carousel). Then go inside the museum itself and marvel at the automotive history on display, have a snack at a real, transplanted diner, examine the early days of steam engines, furniture, and so much more. For many, going to the Henry Ford could take more than one day. This is a once in a lifetime trip through history. Don't miss it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hll333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,635
    476
    61
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A "must visit"”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I can't imagine I could say something that hasn't been said, but I'm hear to tell you this is worth a visit!

I was pleasantly surprised to find reasonable dining options for families at both the Henry Ford Museum (Lamy's Diner) and Greenfield Village (Taste of History). You can also bring in food and drinks, so if you don't mind a heavy purse or backpack, take your own bottled water.

Our boys are 4 & 6 and there were lots of interactive things in both the museum and the village that let them play, participate and learn. We had more fun that I thought we would! We spent two full days there (day 1 at HFM, day 2 at GFV), and I can't imagine doing it in less time.

I just uploaded 160 pictures from our trip, and the boys have asked to look at them twice already. Truly an American gem.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh Henry Amazing”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

GREAT for all ages, you will learn about inventions and industry. Don't miss out on the trip to the Roughe Ford Company, Greenville Village, and Ford Museum. It is amazing place! Plan on making your trip for at least 2 days. There is lots to see and do.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlaursen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could spend a week there”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were passing through visiting UM and decided to take time to visit. We did the museum and the visit to the Ford Rouge Plant. We probably spend 2 hours at the plant and a hurried 3 hours in the museum -- you could literally spend a week there viewing all there is to see and really reading / exploring. Two teenagers had a great time and called it one of the highlights of the trip. We got the buy one, get one ticket 1/2 off which helped on costs. They allow you to bring in water and snacks which also helped. Definitely recommend for families.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank traintrack1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A historical experience like no other”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The museum was amazing and we were there until closing. I wish we'd had more time as we got a bit rushed to see everything. We didn't do the Greenfield Village since we didn't have time but I've heard great things about it so we definitely will go back soon to see everything again. The Rouge Factory tour was amazing also. The museum itself has a lot cars to look at, some are from the 1800's and early 1900's but some are from within the past 20-30 years but it was fun to see how the vehicle models evolved. There were also some vehicles used by Presidents. There were also exhibits on Flight, World's Fairs, Manufacturing and Power, etc. One fun exhibit that I really enjoyed was called "Through Time" which had all kinds of fun items from each decade in display cases and room set up to look like rooms from those time periods. They had electronics, toys, clothes, etc. from various generations. I had a brief nostalgic trip and it was great. Can't wait to go back and take our time a little more.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Henry Ford also viewed

 

Been to The Henry Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing