We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Educational, Delightful”
Review of The Henry Ford

The Henry Ford
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Dearborn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trace the history of the auto and our fascination with it along with other American inventions through the staggering collection of Henry Fords estate, which includes such memorabilia as the chair Abraham Lincoln sat in when he was assassinated and the limo in which John F. Kennedy was shot.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
fish1183
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, Educational, Delightful”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Great events, fantastic sights/"exhibits"/buildings, historically relevant and interesting.

Helpful?
Thank fish1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,768
    501
    64
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Best”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Best museum of its kind in the country. A don't miss place to see

Helpful?
Thank jlgsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit, especially for the technically inclined”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Really enjoyed seeing the snippets of Americana throughout the museum, such as a Holiday Inn motel room, a Texaco gas station, eating a meal in an actual diner from the 1940s, and being able to sit in the same bus seat as Rosa Parks.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Henry Ford Museum - fun and informative!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My brother and I went to The Henry Ford last Saturday specifically to see the newly reopened Driving America Exhibit. Initially, we thought the admission price plus a $5 parking charge was too expensive. But after wandering through the various exhibits, we decided it was well worth it. "Heroes of the Sky" made you realize the tremendous courage required by some of the early pioneers of aviation, Lindbergh and Admiral Byrd must have been crazy to attempt what they did in the aircrafts available to them. It made me think twice about complaining about my economy seats on a domestic flight of two hours. :) "Presidential Limousines" was interesting. As a child of the 50s and 60s it moved me greatly to see the actual car in which JFK was assassinated. "Made in America" was a great exhibit of American ingenuity and manufacturing power. "With Liberty and Justice For All" was a very interesting Exhibit. Viewing the chair in which Lincoln was sitting at the time of his assassination was a bit macabre. I sat in the very seat occupied by Rosa Parks on that historic bus ride. Definitely worth the admission price and parking fee and we plan on going back when they have the Titanic Artifact Exhibit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Henry Ford Car Exhibit”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Henry Ford is always a fabulous attraction. My wife and I went this past weekend to check out the car exhibit. From the person who knows nothing about cars to the car fanatic, this exhibit has something for everyone. The exhibit traces much of the history of the car in chronological order. Many vintage cars are on display including the famous "Tucker". There are interactive displays for children of all ages. Of course, the rest of the museum is also worth checking out at any time.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaymanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Henry Ford also viewed

 

Been to The Henry Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing