We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel. Insensitive, inhospitable rude staff. Keep on driving, there are other hotels in Lapeer.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Davison Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Davison
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average hotel. Insensitive, inhospitable rude staff. Keep on driving, there are other hotels in Lapeer.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My hotel stay at the Best Western in Davison was overall average but overshadowed by the inappropriate actions and comments of a rude staff member (that should never be encountered in the "hospitality" industry) working on the morning of 06/09/13.

The hotel itself is rather average and comes with a complementary breakfast bar. The breakfast bar is very average and staff members will rudely take it down and yell at patrons trying to eat when close to the deadline. The hotel does not have elevators, or if it does, I never discovered them. A nice perk of the hotel was that they offered free WIFI throughout the hotel. I stayed in a standard twin bed room, which had a nice large Samsung flat screen tv, useful desk, and reading chair. I knew others staying at the hotel and was able to view the standard room with a king bed and also the suite with a hot tube, which are larger and more spacious than the standard with two twin beds. The time with which the hotel staff came to turn down the rooms was a rather odd time (8:50am) being that many guests could be awoken. Overall the rooms were rather standard with some features such as the tv which made them feel more modern.

However, I would say my main memory of this hotel will be overshadowed by an insensitive and rude staff member named Tammy. On the final morning of my stay I witnessed this staff member's rudeness or general disregard for service to the guests of the hotel. I am one to understand that everyone has bad days, and perhaps this staff member could have been tired from working a double shift or a numerous amount of excuses however, a hotel staff member within the hospitality industry should never act in the way that this member did.

I witnessed one of the hotel guests arrive to the breakfast area as the staff member was taking down some of the food item. The guest asked if they could still eat some of the food, and the staff member responded flippantly "well hurry up, I wanna take this down and get out of here". This was not said in a general way that a staff member says to a patron, but was said so informally, in the same fashion a parent would outburst to a young child. After telling the guest this, the staff member locked the mini fridge which held most of cold breakfast items (yogurt, butter, hard boiled eggs) etc. to which the guest then asked, "what would be the likelihood that I could get in the fridge to retrieve a yogurt, for just a second?" The staff member ignored the patron and walked away. The patron asked again, if she would open the fridge, at the same time I had walked over as I required butter for my breakfast (for which I had arrived before the breakfast end time), and realized they were all locked in the mini-fridge.

I asked the staff member if I could get in the fridge thinking it would be no issue (as it should not have been), and she rudely said to me, "I've already locked it, breakfast time is over!". The other patron who was standing hoping to get a yogurt, was in dismay seeing the staff member's reaction to me, and instinctively said out loud "Are you serious? I can't believe this". Where the staff member then could have alleviated the problem by opening the fridge or saying, "I'm sorry", she instead threw her arms in the arm and said, "I already locked it all up, you should have gotten here earlier, I want to get it put away to get out of here".

I was shocked by this, and privately said to this other patron, "I'll have to write about this in my review". The staff member, Tammy, must have over heard and outlandishly said, "Fine! Write it up in your review, go ahead!". I can honestly say that I was shocked by these audacious comments . After being rude enough to act in the way she did to patrons asking to simply unlock a mini-fridge for a minute, if I was to realize a patron was now going to write about the incident in a review, I would not have proudly and snidely remarked at them to "do it".

It is because of insensitive rude staff such as Tammy, that I give this hotel a poor rating. Do yourself a favor, don't stop in Davison to rest. Take the extra few minutes and drive to Lapeer and stay at a Holiday Inn or Best Western there.

Room Tip: King size standard and suites are bigger and more spacious. The king size standard room had a his an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy-at-DavisonInn, Manager at Best Western Davison Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello Richard C.

Please except our apology for the bad experience at our hotel. We strive for excellence in customer service, clearly we failed that day. For over 20 yrs we have maintained a standard of great guest services, we take this very seriously. Our staff has and will work harder in trying to keep up to the Best Western standard in which our guest expect. Please consider coming back and trying the spacious king room you had mentioned. The room you stayed in with 2 queen beds perhaps was more than you needed. We book our rooms according to our guest request and availability. I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us where we can improve our guest services. Once again, we are truly sorry for your unacceptable treatment.

Thank you
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    72
    16
    6
    9
See reviews for
100
48
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed there for one night on the way to Canada (~80 USD). Lobby and room was very nice, quite modern and clean. Breakfast was included and very nice and good. Staff really friendly. We really had a a nice stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundreamer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy-at-DavisonInn, Manager at Best Western Davison Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello Sundreamer 90,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how were doing. We enjoy having you as our guests. Come back and see us soon.

Thank you
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Me and my family stayed at the Davison INN and we felt very welcomed to the small town of Davison. The staff was very nice and personable. The rooms were very clean and tidy. The free breakfast was good, the internet worked. I needed a crib for my daughter and they were busy but, Lisa the housekeeper brought me a crib right away. Like I said just a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy-at-DavisonInn, Manager at Best Western Davison Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hello SamanthaS2012
Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We love to hear from our guests. I hope you come back to Davison and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What can't I say about this hotel. The place is perfect in all aspects. My wife and I have been going to Michigan for the last 20 years and staying at the Comfort Inn/Davidson Inn for the last 18 years.
We love everything about this beautiful hotel. From the staff to the rooms to the outside grounds. We have to say a special thank you to Mary and Frank on the front desk and also to Rick that maintains the hotel grounds. Coming to stay here is like home. Already have my next trip booked in May and can't wait to see everyone again. Davidson Inn feels a lot like staying in my home country of Canada, everyone is so friendly and helpful. So I say once again Thank You from
Peter and Nancy :)

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 594PeterA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy-at-DavisonInn, Manager at Best Western Davison Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello 594 Peter A Brantford,
We appreciate your positive compliments and are pleased to have you come stay with us here in Davison. We take pride when guests like yourselves feel at home during your stay. Looking forward to seeing you in May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The thing that sticks in my mind most about this place is how many cleaning people we always see here during our stay. They always working - scrubbing, sweeping, vacuuming, mopping - but never seem to get in our way. The place looks clean and smells clean, not like fake carpet deodorizer clean but a real clean that can't be faked! The food is good, as far as free continental breakfasts go. There's a Luckys Steakhouse, Applebys, and many other amenities within walking distance. Someone told me there's an exercise room too but I didn't get a chance to check it out; I went to a little yoga studio about 4 miles away on Irish road instead (but that's another review).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jencat369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy-at-DavisonInn, Manager at Best Western Davison Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We strive to make our guest feel comfortable and make sure your surroundings are clean and quiet. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed while in town for a funeral. It's clean, quiet, and close to restaurants and shops. Got a good night's sleep and took advantage of the free breakfast in the lobby. Thank goodness the only option in Davison is a good one!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank read1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy-at-DavisonInn, Manager at Best Western Davison Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello "read1623",

Thank you for the nice review, I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you are looking for an "okay room" and are on a budget, then this hotel will do. not surprised by the rate we got, it was a great rate as we had multiple families staying at one time. The lobby and breakfast area was nice and updated. The continental breakfast was very good. Not the place to go if you want super room - they were clean but outdated & the bathroom was small, but again for the price it wasn't bad. We booked by calling direct and seeing how good they do on their price - you might be better that route as opposed to booking through 2nd or third party internet sites which of course would be less lucrative for the hotel. There was not an inside pool - and even though it was winter it wasn't a problem for us and our 3 kids under 6 as we basically crashed there and were gone during the day.

Room Tip: Did not notice an elevator on the wing we were at so if you have a lot of luggage or handicapped - g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis-at-CID, Manager at Best Western Davison Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello "Matt D",

Thank you for the nice (and informative) review!

I am assuming by the comment about the 'outdated room' you stayed in one of our older rooms. I am happy to say that all of our rooms are either currently under renovation or are COMPLETELY RENOVATED, so we no longer have any 'outdated rooms'.

We do not currently have an Elevator ... so I want to thank you for bringing that to everyones attention. If booking, you should definately request a Ground Floor room if your needs require it. I am also happy to say, we have current plans of installing an Elevator very soon!

I also agree (and am glad you suggested) "Calling the Hotel DIRECT"! If you are planning to stay in a very large city, 3rd party bookings will save you money. However in smaller towns and smaller hotels, you don't always get the best deal. The 3rd party sites will also stick you in any room available, regardless of your requests, just to book the room. In hotels of a smaller size, we only have some many of certain types and getting what we have left without being told by them sometimes ends in an unhappy stay. If you have special requests, definately call direct!

Thank you again for the review and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davison
9.9 mi away
Best Western Lapeer Inn
9.8 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Flint / Grand Blanc
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Flint / Grand Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Grand Blanc
Comfort Inn Grand Blanc
#1 of 4 in Grand Blanc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lapeer
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flint Airport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Davison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Davison Inn

Property: Best Western Davison Inn
Address: 10082 Lapeer Rd, Davison, MI 48423-8117 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Davison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Davison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Davison Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Davison Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Davison
Comfort Inn Davison
Davison Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing