We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Metropol Perth
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Only stayed one night but must say a bit disappointed. Plus side staff and room excellent. Minus side cafe at pool not open till 11am couldn't get a coffee or food around the pool before 11 only way is to order room service which we did and waited 1hour! Which is disappointing. Wouldn't it be nice to have breakfast by the pool! Also my 11 year old was not allowed to use the gym even when a parent is with her which we also found odd.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,218 - 1,224 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

$600 a night and the hotel will not even provide you with a sun bed.

Not enough sun beds for the amount of guests, beds left empty half of the day with reserved on. It turns out that the hotel takes $$$ from guests to reserve sun beds.

Also get this...the picture on the main hotel website shows "The Enclave" this is a private area with a small pool that is gated, you have to reserve and pay even more $$$ just to get in there, You also have tinny loud music coming out of speakers around the pool, this is so naff.

So in 7 days how much time did we spend round the pool....none, we could not even get a sun bed and we we not willing to spend a singe penny to reserve one.

This is the most expensive hotel in Perth and we only chose it because it had a large pool area, we thought that we would spend afternoons around this pool.

This rip off pool fiasco left a very sour taste.

5 star hotel? no chance, this hotel has no competition so the management thinks that it can get away with anything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank easterisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was very fortunate to receive an upgrade from the Crown Promenade to the Metropol. I was moved into a very spacious and well appointed room. The staff were excellent- professional and helpful. Housekeeping went the extra mile and ensured the room was in pristine condition when I returned. A true highlight was the breakfast buffet. There was a deal for in house guests for $25. This is truly exceptional. The buffet was amazing. Traditional western section that contained small fillet steaks, omelette station and all the side. Multiple asian sections with Indian, Chinese and Japanese influences. The bakery section that included glazed donuts, different breads and waffles. Just fantastic.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

My partner and myself recently did a week away in perth/fremantle and I definitely think the crown perth was the best place we stayed in regards to value for money and comfort. The beds are so comfy, rooms nice and clean, lovely bathrooms. Obviously the restaurants in crown are expensive but its a casino so thats what you expect, and the food at nobu and rockpools is amazing. Id definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KateAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Upon booking in at the Metropol on Christmas Eve, we were quite excited. Didn't take long for that to change. The receptionist didn't smile once and wasn't going to let us stay as I had a debit card with a daily ceiling amount which didn't cover the night's stay and the bond!! After talking to her manager, it was fixed. She was quite rude about it all. The room was fantastic and all other staff very festive and cheerful.
I cannot believe that after paying an exorbitant amount for the room, we had so much more to pay for i.e., expensive mini bar, water, sunbeds (Up to $60 for 24 hrs (pool not open 24 hours), car park overcharge, breakfast. We went down to the pool and to our surprise all sunbeds were fully booked until after the New Year. There was nowhere for us to sit!!!!! I certainly don't want to arrive at a 5 star hotel and not be able to use the pool as we couldn't find a seat to pay for!!!!! Surely you need to review your prices and use of sunbeds.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WendyB110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Checked in Christmas Eve, at 11am, with the promise our room would be ready soon, and we would receive a phone call as soon as it was, check in is 3pm, come 3:30 we asked if our room was ready yet, to be told it was waiting a final inspection. This was a little disappointing, as we wanted to set the tree up and put our presents under it. I would think if check in is 3pm all rooms for guests checked in would be ready.
The pool has lovely cabanas and day beds for hire, there were booked up for our entire 4 day stay, had I realised you could book them in advance, I would have. The disappointing aspect of this, is 1/2 of them sat empty the entire time. Surely if they aren't going to be used, they should be re hired.
There is a lack of shade beside the pool (and in busy periods, not enough sun beds). The sun shade on Boxing Day, were all together, which meant a whole area was left without shade - yes I'm burnt.
The Rooms are lovely, ours had some minor (and I mean minor) maintenance issues, which we reported, and recommended it be fixed after the holiday period.
Food service beside the pool was quick, once ordered, beverage rather slow. Meals at the pool were large.
We had breakfast in the atrium twice, all was great, except the only issue is tea and coffee service is a little lax.
We did the Atrium for Christmas dinner and it was expensive, but the food was lovely and beverages were included, Santa was there for the kids and each child was given an age appropriate present.
We tried to make bookings for restaurants to be told they were fully booked, as hotel guests, I would think some tables would be reserved for us, apparently not. This was a shock to not only us, but other guests, who expected to be able to make a booking once checking in.
Check out was slow, and our luggage never made it to the car, we had to go in search of it.
Overall we had a pleasant stay, but for the prices being charged, they still have a way to go in service levels to justify the price.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank jacohen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here after flying into Perth late at night and then had an early start the next day, but the small amount of time we spent here was well worth it. The check-in was easy, the rooms very nice, clean and spacious and our in-room brekkie was a top way to start the day. Loved the Christmas decorations in the foyer, spectacular.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deano_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burswood
Crown Towers Perth
#1 of 3 in Burswood
506 reviews
Crown Promenade Perth
#3 of 3 in Burswood
972 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#20 of 66 in Perth
2,371 reviews
Aloft Perth
#14 of 66 in Perth
118 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Perth

Address: Great Eastern Highway, Burswood, Victoria Park, Western Australia 6100, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Victoria Park > Burswood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Price Range: $164 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the world-famous Swan River overlooking the stunning sun kissed backdrop of the Perth city skyline, Crown Metropol Perth redefines luxury accommodation offering a distinctive, modern and unmistakably luxurious escape.Each of Crown Metropol Perth’s guest rooms are abundant with space and natural light and feature high-tech entertainment facilities, plush furnishings and spacious bathrooms, plus guests have access to our renowned resort-style pool area and children’s zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Metropol Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Burswood Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing