We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little bit soulless, but nice rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Metropol Perth
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Certificate of Excellence
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Little bit soulless, but nice rooms!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked a Deluxe Double and was surprised to find on arrival that this meant twin beds! Paid a $30 per night upgrade fee for a "King size" room which came with a view. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, but as you might expect from a casino complex everything is just a little bit soulless and impersonal. The concierge staff were very efficient and helped us book some great excursions, but on the whole I wouldn't say that the hotel was worth the price. Outdoor pool was unheated, indoor poor was warm but tiny and the health spa (although looking deserted for the entire 3 days of our stay) was always "fully booked" and unable to offer any treatments. I suspect that this was because there was only ever 1 member of staff on duty! Breakfast was incredibly expensive ($45 for the breakfast buffet) and dubious quality. However, had a great meal in the "Rockpool" restaurant.

Room Tip: Beware that "double" doesn't means double bed, but twin!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    466
    175
    79
    55
See reviews for
224
660
46
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed there again last Friday.The valet parking people were excellent,check in girls friendly,room on 3rd floor superb with great city and river and overloking pool area,restaurant food and presentation 1st class,
If anyone wants a real buzz and stay this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First stayed in this hotel in mid 2012 when it was still an Intercontinental. Unfortunatley, as a Crown property you can no longer earn IHG Priority Club rewards but in every other respect it is just as good as ever. Housekeeping was slow to clean the room (2.30 pm) and a little more attention to restocking room amenties daily would be a worthwhile improvement. Rooms are clean, modern and some have excellent views over the Swan to the Perth Skyline. There is also the advantage of the hotel's connection to the Burswood Casino and its wide variety of entertainment and dining options. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOVO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Although the hotel is a bit removed from the central business district (CBD) and the vibe is more to the tone of "Vegas in West Aussie", this is a great place to stay. The room was faultless with a nice view and plenty of space. The staff were very accommodating -- it was our anniversary and the concierge arranged flowers in the room, dinner reservations, etc flawlessly via emails before arrival. The hotel is located right on the bike trail along the river and rentals are available from the hotel -- or for slightly lesser cost just across the bridge towards town. Several nice dining options on site, but the top-end dining spots in Perth are a $20-30 AUD cab ride away (or a $3 train ride to the CBD and a short cab ride to your destination). The hotel does not make it well known, but they do run a free shuttle service to the nearby train station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Anyone staying in Perth should experience this hotel. The rooms are spacious & luxurious with a spa bath. The rooms are well appointed & the crown offers all the amenities one would expect from a five star hotel. The staff are simply superb. Everyone from the valet to reception to room service staff were warm, friendly and hospitable.
The pools look amazing & I look forward to returning when it is warmer to make use if them.
The hotel is about a 15minute can ride from the CBD but with the casino & all the bars & restaurants on offer we mainly stayed in the complex.
Room service was prompt and delicious.
A fantastic experience, I'm looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamaryv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Aussie
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just an overnighter as guests at a function, but would be tempted to stay longer on another occasion.

Reception staff were amazing, as was the concierge . . . a seamless check-in, assistance with luggage, advice on how to check out quickly etc etc . . . very friendly and helpful, in a low-key way.

Not only were we impressed with the staff, we also found our room to be quite delightful and extremely comfortable. We were fortunate to have been upgraded to a "view" room, which was WOW. Would certainly book the upgrade another time.

Room service breakfast was quickly served and delicious. Our only gripe was that the coffee cups are too small. We ordered large, but am presuming they don't exist. A tiny blip on what, otherwise, was a superb stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaintedSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your customer service experience at Crown Metropol, particularly from our Reception and Concierge team. I'm glad you enjoyed the upgrade to the Luxe View room as well.

We look forward to your next stay with us. Thanks once again.

Kind Regards,

Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Metropol Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here for a work function back in March this year with the girls and we all loved it, the beds were uber comfortable, loved the fluffy robes. We had coffee & full breakfast out at the the pool area which was divine & super relaxing with its day beds... if only we had more time, we will definitely return to Crown Metropol Perth!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic feedback. Glad to read that you had an enjoyable experience with us. The Crown Metropol bathrobes are one of our top sellers and we have received a lot of positive feedback about them. The pools are definitely one of the highlights of the hotel and its nice to read that you made full use of the area.

We look forward to your next visit to Crown Metropol perhaps for a couple of nights.

Kind Regards,

Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Metropol Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burswood
Crown Promenade Perth
#3 of 3 in Burswood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Perth

Property: Crown Metropol Perth
Address: Great Eastern Highway, Burswood, Perth, Western Australia 6100, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Burswood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the world-famous Swan River overlooking the stunning sun kissed backdrop of the Perth city skyline, Crown Metropol Perth redefines luxury accommodation offering a distinctive, modern and unmistakably luxurious escape.Each of Crown Metropol Perth’s guest rooms are abundant with space and natural light and feature high-tech entertainment facilities, plush furnishings and spacious bathrooms, plus guests have access to our renowned resort-style pool area and children’s zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Metropol Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Burswood Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing