We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In it's own little complex”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Metropol Perth
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“In it's own little complex”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in May 2013.

Overall:
Hotel rooms are nice and definitely 5 star but the location and hotel lobby let this hotel down.
Only stay here if you want to go to the casino... Lots!
We stayed here as my wife's conference was at the convention centre, hit otherwise I would say stay in city which will be a lot more convenient and the hotel would be just as nice.

Hotel lobby:
Entrance to the hotel is shared with the entrance to the casino. This makes is very busy and noisy which is annoying when you arrive with luggage and are trying to get through a busy crowd to the check in counter in the other side of the large foyer.
They should have a separate entrance for the hotel closer to the check in counter

Rooms:
Rooms are spacious with more than enough room to move around and with a couch to relax on.
Beds are comfortable with extremely comfortable pillows!

Tv was annoying as there was no reception for any of the channel 9 channels.

Bathroom:
Nice bathrooms with nice large mirrors.
Nice bath which opens up so you can watch tv while relaxing in the bath
Shower is a bit small though.

Other:
Hotel pool looks nice (we didn't use it cos it was winter) and the hotel gym is very good for a hotel gym with cardio and weights.

Location:
This is probably the worst thing about the hotel.
It's in it's own little complex with the crown casino, away from the city with no shops nearby.
This is annoying unless you are happy to spend all your money at the casino or the hotels restaurants/bars.
If you like to go out to be able to get a coffee, drink or snack there is nothing remotely close by.
There is a train station which is about a 10 min walk or there is a crown shuttle bus to take you to the train station. The train into the city takes about 10-15mins.

Service:
Service is good, but not great. The staff are all nice, but I think there isn't enough staff to deal with the numbers if hotel guests and casino guests

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wong777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    471
    178
    79
    55
See reviews for
228
667
47
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed recently at the Metropol with a group of friends. This was my first visit since the hotel has become part of the Packer empire and changed to a Crown Metropol. I have to say that I prefer the old Burswood, the huge amount of money spent upgrading the hotel I believe has led to a lower quality product.

Upon arriving at check in the first thing that I noticed was insufficient staff to handle the large number of guests checking in. Sure, it may have been peak time (3.00pm) for check in, but surely the hotel would have known that and had extra staff available. As with others we endured a long wait.

Much of the old large foyer area has been taken over with bars etc, loud music was continuously playing, all right if it's you type of music, otherwise annoying. Getting a drink in the foyer bar was nih impossible, it wasn't that busy, again lack of staff and therefore no service.

I has previously booked an upgraded room while my friends did not. We both ended up with the same room, they were not upgraded, so I paid extra for nothing.

The rooms had the same layout as the old Burswood, just with newer décor, just average, nothing to rave about.

We had dinner a night in the Atrium restaurant, which is a buffet affair as it always has been. The restaurant area has been expanded by encroaching into what was the old foyer and now is a very large area. You may have thought with such a large area there would be plenty of room around the tables, there wasn't. Table/people were crowded in, so much so that you couldn't walk between tables without brushing the back of another person sitting at a table. This is particularly bad seeing as it's a buffet and people were continually walking carrying plates of food. Want a drink, forget it again no service. With so many people crowded in, food soon disappeared and was slow to be replaced, oh I forgot you need a plate to put your food on, these were scarce as hens teeth, slow to be refilled. For $75.00 a head it was extremely expensive and poor value.

We found the hotel very noisy, constant noise whether from music, many casino patrons who clearly had too much to drink etc.

For the price charged it was expensive. In Perth there are better hotels with nicer ambience for similar money. I recommend that you stay there unless of course you are a casino nut.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better to get away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacko582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Crown at the weekend. The room was spacious. The bathroom was well equipped. In our room we could not hear any noise. The view was across the river and it was wonderful to sit and watch the rain come in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here 8 years ago for a conference when it was the Burswood and despite all the expensive 'makeover' I prefer the old version which was luxurious but less 'I belong to a casino'. The rooms are comfortable, with good views and the pillows lovely but try to get a room whose door does not open onto the balcony above the atrium. They are not well soundproofed and whilst listening to music in the lobby may be nice, someone catawauling so loudly that it can be heard all over the hotel is not acceptable. Food in the 'Atrium' bistro was nice but $40 for a buffet breakfast is ridiculous and you are a captive audience unless you wish to go into the casino which I don't. Unless you like gambling or have to be there for a conference, I'd stay in Perth proper.

Room Tip: Get one whose door does not open onto the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent three nights at the Crown Metropol in Perth. The hotel is very well appointed and the guest rooms were of a very good quality. The rooms are very spacious and bathrooms very large. This is an atrium hotel and the hotel has live entertainment in the lobby it seems every night. This made the entire atrium area very noisy. Unlike other reviewers, I did not feel like the noise affected my in room experience. There are numerous great restaurants in the hotel and the food was good but overpriced. The internet costs were way too high.

Room Tip: If you have an opportunity, buy a bed and breakfast package. the breakfast buffet is usually $37
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiBrendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at this brilliant resort in early May and found everything first class .
Great large rooms ,terrific restaurants , bars and entertainment areas .
The upgrades they have done to this hotel since we stayed here six years ago are exceptional and the pool area is one of the best i have ever seen .The casino is a buzz with fun and excitement .Staff from the casino and hotel where terrific from check in to check out .
Cant wait to come back soon .

Room Tip: Junction Grill Restaurant is terrific value for breakfast .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Well appointed room but no hot water. Had to sit in a lukewarm bath on both nights of my stay and the shower was really poor.

Lobby area currently affected by building work.

Not what you'd expect and not worth the cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your experience with us.

I apologise for the situation you experienced with the lack of hot water in your room. This certainly is unacceptable and your feedback had been passed on to our Maintenance Manager.

I have been informed that this was discussed with our Hotel Duty Manager on departure, and an outcome was reached. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Crown Metropol in the future.

Kind Regards,

Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Metropol Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burswood
Crown Towers Perth
#1 of 3 in Burswood
394 reviews
Crown Promenade Perth
#3 of 3 in Burswood
949 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,166 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#17 of 64 in Perth
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Perth

Property: Crown Metropol Perth
Address: Great Eastern Highway, Burswood, Victoria Park, Western Australia 6100, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Victoria Park > Burswood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the world-famous Swan River overlooking the stunning sun kissed backdrop of the Perth city skyline, Crown Metropol Perth redefines luxury accommodation offering a distinctive, modern and unmistakably luxurious escape.Each of Crown Metropol Perth’s guest rooms are abundant with space and natural light and feature high-tech entertainment facilities, plush furnishings and spacious bathrooms, plus guests have access to our renowned resort-style pool area and children’s zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crown Metropol Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Burswood Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing