We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Metropol Perth
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“No complaints”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I don't agree with Markqn1 at all... Carry your own bags anyway?

If you were paying $800+ a night then maybe someone can take your bags, otherwise just wheel them and stop getting so worked up.

Hotel staff: Friendly/helpful.
Hotel rooms: Very nice/service good.
There are plenty of food options around.
Taxi's in Perth are not the best and this is a well known fact.

The only real thing missing was a decent pub with a live band! But Perth is known for it's lame swanky club/rooms anyhow so we are used to it.

Some people just expect too much, I had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AidanJC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    472
    178
    79
    55
See reviews for
229
667
47
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The renovations at the Crown were not at all disruptive and it is great to see the improvements. The quality of the food at the various restaurants is of a very good standard and the rooms are reasonably clean and modern. In general however the staff are disinterested and sometimes rude.We spent a little over $1000 for our two nights and while the facilities are up to the star rating the staff are certainly not. We have decided not to stay at Crown when we are in Melbourne next month and have booked other accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon-john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Often stay at this hotel in Perth for 1 or 2 nights on business. The improvements have been underway for some time but it is looking really good. The outside pool area is the best in a hotel in Perth and would match it with the resorts in Indonesia and Thailand. Staff service is always with a smile and they always explain where the work is being done, if any parts of the hotel are not available and if you can expect any interruption due to noise etc. not much more you can ask for really. Plenty of restaurant choices now also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family58A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The renovation has created a modern comfortable hotel. The staff I came in contact with including reception, concierge, room service, Atrium, housekeeping and Isika were all well trained and excellent at their jobs. Overall enjoyable and would return,

Major frustration - the power points at the desk are under the desk, so the only way to get to them for a charger was to either grovel on the ground or pull the desk out (very heavy).

Niggly points: minibar not restocked in the middle of the stay, struggled to find the opening hours of the gym (was not on the TV hotel guide nor on the written folder - found it in one place ONLY eventually, it is not even on the front of the gym itself), channels on the TV do not all work and the TV guide is missing a few of the channels you can access (worked out they existed as a machine in the gym was tuned to one).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koroua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Checking in at Crown Metropol, the receptionists tried the old "we don't have your room type available" trick. All we wanted was a non-smoking room & had requested in advance. They tried to push us into a smoking room.
I believe this happened to us because we booked the hotel through an external (third party) hotel booking website & they simply didn't want to give us the non-smoking room because they probably wanted it for direct sales or walk-in sales at a higher rate.
Initially they tried the "we are totally booked out, all rooms are full" line... But that was blown out of the water three minutes later when a client walked in off the street & asked if there were any vacancies - to which the receptionist said "yes of course, $500 per night." So the hotel wasn't actually full at all.
Next they told us that if we wanted a non-smoking room they could "possibly" get one for us for our second night - so we would have to change rooms, and still sleep in a smoking room initially. We weren't happy with that arrangement either.
After about 15 minutes of us politely insisting on a non-smoking room, and the receptionists saying "oh we just don't have anything available" they finally realised that we were not simply going to accept a sub-standard room. A few more minutes of furiously tapping away at a keyboard and "hey presto - a non-smoking room has suddenly become available!"
I'm telling this story to others so you can also be onto this little game, don't accept being placed into a sub-standard room. It takes time & you need tro be assertive because there was no way we were getting a non-smoking room unless we really pushed for it.
I expect this sort of thing when travelling to Bali - but Crown Metropol is meant to be a five star resort not a two star el-cheapo hotel.
Because we were travelling with others (who had booked the same room type) we spoke with them and found that the same thing had happened to them when they checked in. So it's not an isolated incident.

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking room & be sure you get it on check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent a night at the Crown when we were visiting Perth for a concert. Everything about the hotel was top quality. We spent hours enjoying the pool area, had a wonderful dinner at Nobu and were very impressed by the quality and comfort of the rooms. We won't stay anywhere else when we return to Perth.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani_Steve_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

it was a quick trip to Perth, room was nice..overlooked the massive pool.. great restaurants, quick room service..Apart from being a little far from town, this is a good place to stay if you dont want to leave the compound.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniccheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burswood
Crown Promenade Perth
#3 of 3 in Burswood
950 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,533 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#17 of 64 in Perth
2,268 reviews
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 64 in Perth
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Perth

Property: Crown Metropol Perth
Address: Great Eastern Highway, Burswood, Victoria Park, Western Australia 6100, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Victoria Park > Burswood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the world-famous Swan River overlooking the stunning sun kissed backdrop of the Perth city skyline, Crown Metropol Perth redefines luxury accommodation offering a distinctive, modern and unmistakably luxurious escape.Each of Crown Metropol Perth’s guest rooms are abundant with space and natural light and feature high-tech entertainment facilities, plush furnishings and spacious bathrooms, plus guests have access to our renowned resort-style pool area and children’s zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Metropol Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Burswood Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing