We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Metropol Perth
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Crown Metropol Perth (formerly Intercontinental Burswood) on many occasions. This time around we booked a king luxe view room interconnecting with a twin luxe view room (for our two kids). This gave us the extra space we really needed given our children are getting that little bit older. Our rooms had views reaching over the Swan River to the city skyline and also across the swimming pools.
The rooms are beautifully appointed with everything you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. The bathrooms are luxurious featuring a bath and separate full shower (with hand held shower head and rain shower head).
Check in process was adequate (although quite a bit slower than most), however there was no bellboy available to help me with the luggage and given I had travelled alone with the kids I really needed the assistance. It took about 10 minutes for someone to come and help with the bags once the valet took our vehicle.
We ate breakfast in the Atrium buffet every morning - it has so many options, but I must say I did prefer it when the Intercontinental ran the restaurant (more options, including fresh juices). It felt as though everything had been parred back a little bit from our last stay. Good news was they were running a special promotion where kids ate free (one child per paying adult).
The pool area is absolutely gorgeous. Multiple areas in which to lounge and relax plus a special area for the kids complete with two slides. We hired one of the day beds in front of the slides ($50 per day) so we could relax and enjoy the experience without the risk of sunburn.
Would have loved to try the new spa but it's excessively expensive! I'll wait until I get home and go to my usual day spa. The addition of the new indoor kids' zone is a welcome addition.
Overall, a great stay, a lovely hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlover_mumoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    467
    175
    79
    55
See reviews for
224
660
46
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Like it's newer cousin in Melbourne, this is a lovely hotel. Rooms are immaculate. Deep and wide bathtub was a treat. Restaurants are expensive but very nice. The pool is delightful but I was surprised to discover that the outdoor pool didn't open until 7am - not ideal for a business traveller wanting to get some laps in before work (there is an indoor pool but much shorter). That said, staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all a lovely place to stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank larabe6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Another fabulous experience at Crown Perth. The price might be up there but you get what you pay for. Will return again soon. Breakfast was excellent - take your time to sample the great variety. You need to be in the pool early for a space but so lovely.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a view lovely to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We felt like we'd been to Bali staying at the Crown Metropol with it's wonderful new poolside. We spent the day by the pool - great pool, no need to fly to Bali to have a break away any more. fantastic service, fabulous rooms - with views over the river and pool.

Room Tip: we were given an upgrade to city and river views - absolutely stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked a king room for one night to attend a friend's wedding at the Crown ballroom. When we arrived to check-in we noticed a sign advising clients of a 1.5% surcharge when paying by credit card (this was not communicated to me over the phone when I booked and I don't generally carry cash). I would have thought that only small retailers would need to pass bank charges onto customers, not the Crown! If I recall correctly banks don't charge anywhere near 1.5% for credit card transactions. Anyway, the recently refurbished hotel rooms are truly lovely with modern clean finishes and fittings. The bath is amazing - large and very comfortable. Unfortunately they chose to install WHITE carpet in a busy hotel meaning the carpet already looks stained and worn. My only other gripe, which most hotels are guilty of, is that the toilet and bathroom do not have an extractor fan. On this particular occassion the toilet had a weird smell coming from it and there was no fan or even air freshner spray provided. Otherwise the bed and linen was top class as was the TV and other mod-cons. WARNING - the room service food is ridiculously expensive even for Perth standards. The hotel does not provide any complimentary bottles of water. In fact the one bottle of Evian in the room was $8 or $9.....Also, we purchased 2 coffees from the lounge lobby bar in the morning as there was no where else to get coffee from. They charge us $5.50 per coffee! The take-away cup was half-full (no joke) and luke warm - what a rip off! But other than those small but annoying things, it was a lovely night away from the kiddies and a fabulous wedding venue. Although we didn't go down to the pool it looked great from our room with two big slides for the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthgwena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel either side of a short trip to Exmouth/Ningaloo Reef. The first night was a Saturday and the hotel was very full. We were rather exhausted as we had just arrived from Sydney, but with a little persuasion the check-in clerk arranged for us to have a room on the 7th floor away from most of the noise. The room was very well equipped and comfortable. The sleep quality was good considering the hotel was full. Our next morning was an early start so no breakfast during this initial stay. On returning to this hotel after the trip to Exmouth, we unfortunately found the hotel and all the surrounding facilities absolutely stuffed, it was Melbourne Cup Day! Not being Australians we hadn't realised that Melbourne Cup was celebrated right across Australia and thus this hotel complex was full and then some. The hotel car parks were so stuffed that we had no choice but to use the valet parking service, which was expensive but worked well. On this second evening we chose to have a meal in the room and the next morning breakfast was taken in the ground floor restaurant. Both meals were good, with good service and choice. Surprisingly we had the exact same bedroom on this second visit and again a comfortable night stay.
We would certainly recommend this hotel for facilities, food and service. If we visit the hotel again we would avoid weekends and peak holiday periods, then it would be far more relaxing. However, considering the vast number of customers in the hotel on our 2 one-night stays, we were impressed on how well the staff coped, providing an impressive and courteous service.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor room to avoid noise from the reception/restaurant areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Recently stayed at Crown Metropol with visiting family. I have stayed a few times and have never been disappointed. Apart from the check-in everything was very professional and of high standard. I think reception staff need a little more training on the hotel and customer service but the housekeeping staff are first class. The pool and poolside bar are great and could only be improved by slightly better service and larger numbers. I am somewhat not happy with paying extra for a poolside pod/daybed but there are plenty of deckchairs for all so there really is no need to pay to secure a seat. Overall a very enjoyable stay and delicious cocktails and sushi/sashimi plate.

Room Tip: try to have a room on the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burswood
Crown Promenade Perth
#3 of 3 in Burswood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Perth

Property: Crown Metropol Perth
Address: Great Eastern Highway, Burswood, Perth, Western Australia 6100, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Burswood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the world-famous Swan River overlooking the stunning sun kissed backdrop of the Perth city skyline, Crown Metropol Perth redefines luxury accommodation offering a distinctive, modern and unmistakably luxurious escape.Each of Crown Metropol Perth’s guest rooms are abundant with space and natural light and feature high-tech entertainment facilities, plush furnishings and spacious bathrooms, plus guests have access to our renowned resort-style pool area and children’s zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Metropol Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Burswood Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing