We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of British History”

Kent Battle of Britain Museum
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Hawkinge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A piece of British History”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This review is long overdue as I visited on the opening day of the season this year (end of March!).

I read in a previous review about the "tatty signs". Well, you must understand that this museum gets no government funding, no Lottery funding and no support from the RAF or their charities. This museum is entirely self-sufficient and yet remains the country's largest museum dedicated to the Battle of Britain, an important part of Britain's (and Kent's) history. All funds raised go on far more important things, but I'm sure that the "tatty signs" will be replaced in due course. As to the "no photographs", that's perfectly understandable. Perhaps postcards of some of the exhibits could be produced? No-one would miss the need to take photos if there were postcards on sale, and it would produce additional revenue? Just a thought......(I didn't recall seeing any postcards of the exhibits, that's all).

The collection itself is astonishing, from complete aircraft, to fragments of wreckage, uniforms that are well looked after and the attention to detail is unbelievable. The museum is run by dedicated volunteers and I recommend a visit. What they don't know about The Battle of Britain clearly isn't worth knowing!

It is very much a hidden gem as far as I'm concerned. I've lived in Folkestone for over 40 years and only visited this year, and urge anyone else in the Folkestone area - and further afield - to visit as well, for a fascinating insight into an important part of British history.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    95
    27
    5
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A real gem of a museum”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A real must see. If you are interested in the history of the Battle of Britain this is well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really good :-D”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We took my 7yr old to the museum as he loves anything to do with WW2 he loved the spitfire & hurricane & had his picture taken proudly with both ..... Highly recommended

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank ElleQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paranoia about security ruined this visit.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

My partner has wanted to go here for a long time...what a disappointment. The people who run it are very strict on photos...no cameras/mobile phones....there are notices everywhere!!!
Apart from that it is ok..ish...bit boring..full of aircraft engines/bits of engines...if they want more families to visit they need to make it more interactive and interesting for kids...the "Wartime Garden" was just an allotment full of weeds..to say they charge £6.00 per adult here..you dont get much for your money...We visited RAF Manston Museum the day after...what a difference!!! friendly helpful staff..lots of stuff for kids to do...and it was free to go in the Spitfire Memorial Museum and only £1.50 to go in the Manston Museum...Hawking need to go n get some improvement ideas!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank AlisonSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahmoor, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Interest for 16 years to 99 years”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

To arrive at Hawkinge Museum take the M20 towards the Channel Tunnel and Dover. Take the B260 to Hawkinge and head to WEST Hawkinge there are a few notices but showing a propeller originally and when you get closer there will b e the signpost for the museum (not the Memorial).
Whether you experienced the WWII itself or are just having the advantage of the sacrifice that these pilots made to enable you to be and say whatever you wish this is an interesting and heartbreaking exhibition.
The important thing is that it has photographs, machines, remains of planes and other items from both sides of the conflict with their attached stories which are shown in capital letters making it easy to read.
There are donated medals including a VC and letters from the pilots to their families before their death or capture.
The security is strong due to having suffered thefts in the past and you are asked not to photograph or video anything nor to make copious notes. However if anything was needed a polite request would, I am sure give permission for a note or photo to be made. If I had taken my camera with me I would have asked permission to photograph to superb patchwork and embroidered picture of the local village and I was advised it would probably have been given.
As this is solely organised and looked after by dedicated vo0lunteers they do an excellent job and it is will worth the journey. Of course you can always continue on later to Dover to see the Castle or other places there so the day would not be wasted.
Tea and coffee is available on site with man y seating areas to enjoy the sun.
Afterwards we went to the local public house The Mayfly and had an excellent lunch there from their extensive 2 meals for £10 menu. A great day out

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Prudence-kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kent Battle of Britain Museum also viewed

 

Been to Kent Battle of Britain Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing