We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chwaka Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chwaka Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chwaka
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Vacationed here with the family and the following stood out for us: Clean Pool, great service big the rooms, staff are very friendly and food was good,
We had great time at the resort .We stayed for 3 nights... Great spaces for relaxing and generally a lovely place to spend, a quiet Island holiday

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are bigger - especial higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glory E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aj_yadav, Manager at Chwaka Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Glory E

Thank you once again for choosing Chwaka Bay Resort for your recent trip to Zanzibar

We are glad that you enjoyed your family vacations at the resort and it was a great pleasure to serve you here. Huge spaces available are due to the size of the resort which is located on 14 acres of land with only 30 rooms and offering a beach front of 325 meter. The Chwaka is so much quieter than other beaches in Zanzibar as only two resort exists in the area keeping it a very low profile destination.

We once again like to thank you for the visit.

Regards

Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    78
    37
    23
    16
See reviews for
32
111
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We loved our two nights here. Peaceful, clean, and an excellent staff. The rooms were very charming, and the staff was very thoughtful and had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room when they found out it was our honeymoon. I'd highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AES4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

it was an amazing experience, well spent holiday. will be back the next holiday.I recommend Bilha Wanjohi for her excellent job.go gal when come i come next will look for you .the other staff members are also hospitable

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you are looking for a peaceful place, along with excellent food, this is your must-stop!

The operation is small, so you can really rest and relax here.The intimate atmosphere makes you feel right at home. Beach goes on for kilometers, there is a nice pool in the lush garden, spacious rooms are comfortable and clean, the stuff and service very good and food by far is the best I've enjoyed in any hotel in Zanzibar.

The only downside is, that after you have eaten here, you'll have to go to a gourmet-restaurant to get a similar experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I spent 2 nights on a filming trip, it was a good choice away from the hustle and bustle in the city. The set up was comforting,good service from staff, but they need a little bit more motivation. Nice small place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side offer a lovely night view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwambi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panevezys, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

we spend in this hotel 6 wonderfull days. Very calm place for people who really want rest. Spacious rooms, a large area of ​​the hotel, many flowering plants and amazing view to ocean from balcony - fascinating place. Very clean and safe. Friendly and caring staff, ready help each minute. Very attentive owner Ajay. We enjoy unusual view - ocean-ups and downs. Easy reach really Eden- Paradise beach.

thank all staff of hotel for unforgettable holidays
Birute and Faisal
Lithuania

Room Tip: choose second floor- from there view amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Birute S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aj_yadav, Manager at Chwaka Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you once again for choosing Chwaka Bay Resort for your stay.

We are glad that you enjoyed the stay and will look forward to welcoming you back to Chwaka Bay Resort.

Regards

Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very disappointing experience. Have been to Zanzibar twice before but CHWAKA area was no good. Disappointing beach because of the tide the Walter was gone for 7-8 hours during daytime so absolutely no chance of swimming nor snorkelling. Furthermore the sand was full of debris and broken tiles so watch out!!! Food was no good especiallly the breakfast was bad. Waiters very nice but sooooo inexperienced and untrained - didnt have a clue. Except Noah in the bar - he was a true gem :-) Very poor selection of food and beverages - every night the waiter started out telling us what wasnt available and that was quite a lot. Pool was disgusting and wasnt fixed and cleaned for the first 3-4 days of our stay. Poolbar NOT existing so dont judge from the photos. Nice boattrip to nearby Paradise Beach but the lunch was inedible. We had to wait 3 days to have the doorlock changed. Manager Ajay was nice and serviceminded but needs help to run the resort...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindacj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aj_yadav, Owner at Chwaka Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the feedback. We would sincerely like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay. We are looking on the points mentioned by you and improving ourselves.

Regards

Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chwaka
15.3 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
14.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
11.8 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#10 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 34 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
15.2 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chwaka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chwaka Bay Resort

Property: Chwaka Bay Resort
Address: Village Chwaka, Chwaka, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Chwaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chwaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chwaka Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene & Peaceful Chwaka Bay Resort(Chwaka Beach Resort) is located on the central east coast of Zanzibar on the Chwaka Beach near the fishing village of Chwaka and next to the Jozani National Park.Here under the Gentle sways of Coconut palms towering over immaculate garden Zanzibar influence reigns supreme. It offers everything from palm-fringed, white-sand beaches and clear waters to gentle winds and an abundance of sunshine. Elevate your senses with a refreshing swim in the sea, hunt for the sea shells on the beach, soak up nurturing sunshine or enjoy one of many water sports activities. The resort seeks to provide with outstanding services in a warm and friendly manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Chwaka Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chwaka Bay Hotel Zanzibar Archipelago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing