We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$202
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$256
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$256
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$195
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
156
73
37
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
73
37
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesother guestsevening mealcoast to coastset menulake districtdrying roomsmall bardinner gongsouppuddingtv loungeold fashionedrum butterbakewell tarthome madeblast from the past
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 285 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2017

Our group of six is on a walking tour of the Lake District. The tour company that set up our trip booked us at the Royal Oak. The building is lovely and old. The reception is warm and welcoming. The dinner for £16 was delicious. The room was very comfortable. There is a lovely old resident dog named Spot. We met a wo derful couple staying there who have been coming to this place for 10 years. We also met a wonderful group of about 10 men who have been coming to the Royal Oak for 25 years. We all sat in the lounge and the bar and socialized. There is a TV room where you can get WiFi but no service in the rooms. And there is very little cell service in the valley. If you are American or from anywhere else for that matter, and want what I think of as a real taste of England, plan a trip to the Royal Oak in Rosthwaite. We loved it!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank cwaunita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and enjoyed the company of the other guests. We have great fun when the party of men are here but they always like to meet and entertain new guests. I think your comment 'quintessential England@ describes us to a tee and we are glad you liked the quirky character of our traditional hospitality.
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

A lovely reception complete with afternoon tea and scones. The single room was small but with tea /coffee facilities, though no TV, no in-room wifi and no ensuite bathroom. The building is very old and quirky and lovely to explore. The bar is very small, but plenty of sitting rooms to sit and drink and socialise. The evening meal was first rate, as was the breakfast. Wifi is available in the TV room.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Peter_Ingamells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Thank you for your review of your recent visit, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Although the single rooms are not ensuite they each have a private bathroom with bath and shower directly opposite but the layout of the 18th century building would not allow ensuite facilities without spoiling the room,. All of our other rooms are ensuite.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your walk.
Regards
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

If you're looking for the latest trend in comfort and luxury, you won't find it here. However, if you want a genuine homely Lake District experience in a traditional hotel, this is it.
It all starts with complimentary afternoon tea and scones, which was exactly what we wanted after a long day's walk. The dinner menu is fixed with no choices other than vegetarian but this just makes things simple. In our party of six, there were only compliments for an excellent four course meal. Tea, coffee and chocolates were available in the lounge afterwards, which made it easier to strike up conversations with fellow guests.
Our room was a good size and the bed, very comfortable.
The friendly and hospitable welcome from our hosts was utterly disarming and continued during our whole stay.
The downsides we experienced were complete lack of water during the unusual dry spell and wifi only available in the TV room. However, notwithstanding these problems, we were still very happy with our stay. It was a pleasure to be in this traditional old inn. I would unhesitatingly recommend this charming traditional old Lakeland home in its spectacular setting as a great experience.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Businessfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as a stop over while climbing scafell. Warm greeting was followed by complimentary tea and scones. Room was clean and quiet and the 3 course evening meal was an absolute bargain for only £16. If you are staying over at the lakes you will not in far wrong here.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank r_j_francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2017

Thank you - it's always a pleasure to welcome friendly guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017

Six of us stopped here for one night on the Coast 2 Coast walk. It was our favourite stop of the walk!
Why?
The drying room for our boots.
The communual lounge with fire was conducive for swapping tales with fellow travellers well met
Dinner was served at the same time to all guests, with the vegan and vegetarians in our party catered for graciously
There was a bath!

I'd go again and use the Royal Oak as a base for exploring the beautiful surrounding area.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DarkMaidofPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Thank you for your very positive review. We are always happy to cater for special diets with advance notice and like to offer something of equal quality to our main menu. We are glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Oak again when perhaps you can explore beautiful Borrowdale more fully.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your walk.
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews