We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$212
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$168
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$255
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$255
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$196
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
157
73
37
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
157
73
37
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesother guestsevening mealcoast to coastset menulake districtdrying roomsmall bardinner gongsouppuddingtv loungeold fashionedrum butterbakewell tarthome madeblast from the past
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 286 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2016

The Hotel is situated in the charming hamlet of Rosthwaite 6 miles from Keswick. Nothing has changed much hereabouts for a very long time including this Hotel. Now- this is a good thing so long as you know in advance what to expect and you like that sort of thing.
Please read their website so you know what to expect because it is not to everyone's taste.
Complimentary tea and scones on arrival served in TV room for us to watch the Tour de France and use the wi fi hotspot. The public rooms are very comfortable and traditionally furnished. Everyone you meet us warm friendly and obliging. The bedroom is comfortable but a bit shabby and dated and could do with redecorating sometime soon.

Dinner is served to all guests at 1930. It is a 4 course set menu. All home cooked with local quality ingredients and served efficiently. We enjoyed it a lot but some may not like the communal atmosphere. Breakfast is served 8 til 9. Lots of food - including a vat of porridge. The cooked breakfast was excellent quality ingredients perfectly cooked and served.

We enjoyed our stay here and will return for a longer visit. It does exactly what it says on the tin. This means traditional good service and food in old fashioned surroundings. We found it very comfortable and the staff were all lovely .

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SidBarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Thank you for your recent review. As you say we don't suit everyone but we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. We think we are quite true to our website and description and specialise in being friendly and comfortable which works well for lots of guests especially walkers which is our main market segment.
We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Stayed her with my dad. The was at the end of our second day walking on the coast to coast and we had come over from Ennerdale so long hard walk. Room was immaculate as was the en suite. Dinner was arranged for us and we were served a fabulous 4 course meal for £16. Great value and very tasty. Wonderful breakfast. No negatives about this hotel. The snug bar was my favourite.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank Missesmattoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2016

We stayed here after our first day's walking the Inn Way from Ambleside - a rather different experience to the 'normal' B&B!
Their booking has to include an evening meal, which is not a problem except that it is a single menu choice (subject to prior notification of dietary requirements) served for everyone at the same time after the gong has been sounded. Luckily it was fish (which I have to say was very good) on the night we stayed as we have been non-meat eaters for a good while now and I hadn't read the small print in advance.
Internet access is very limited; the staff can be a bit stern at times; and the rooms could do with some modernisation.
All in all, not necessarily a place that I would recommend to fellow walkers, although the local options are rather limited.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank One_of_the_BOFs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Thank you for your review, we are a little different from most B&B's but that should provide a little variety for you. Our set meals are all freshly cooked and we are glad you enjoyed the fish, had it been meat we would have arranged another option even at short notice but it is easier if we know special dietary requirements in advance.
Internet access is limited to the television room because of the thickness of the walls in this 17th century farmhouse but is provided free of charge.
Regards
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Stayed at the Royal Oak for one night on the Coast to Coast walk. I have written 18 reviews on this site of all the places we stayed and all have been excellent or very good. The Royal Oak was the most expensive place that we stayed and was the lowest standard of accommodation which included, hotels, pubs, guest houses and family bed and breakfasts. Looking at other reviews I feel a bit like this is a case of the Emperor's New Clothes and people are being blinded by the words "quaint and traditional" when they should be using, cost cutting, overpriced and run for the ease of the management not for the customer. Room tired, and tatty and bed uncomfortable.Long walk along landing and down a flight of stairs past an outside door to the bathroom. The gong was banged for dinner, there was no choice of time for the meal and no choice of food. The waitress informed us that the soup was tomato and orange! Probably not right but it certainly tasted of orange and was the same consistency as orange juice. The main course was lamb, not everyone's favourite, overcooked veg and a vegetarian option which was some kind of breadcrumb covered fried offering. What it was made up of I have no idea. When cheese and biscuits were put on the serving table everyone descended on them as everyone was still hungry. When they quickly ran out and the waitress was informed her reaction was "Oh you've eaten them already have you and want more?" It was like a scene from Oliver. After dinner coffee was served in a lounge where everyone sat around the edges, so like an elderly persons home. Breakfast was very 70s. Is tinned grapefruit still acceptable for breakfast? Most establishments now acknowledge that people prefer fresh fruit. Staff had to be asked for more cereal as they ran out. Looking through the managements comments after poor reviews it is obvious that if shortcomings are never acknowledged they can never be addressed. I can only imagine that it will carry on in the same way until there is a change of management or it gets serious competition. Wi fi only available in a small television room accessed from the car park outside. I like quaint, I like traditional but I don't like to pay for poor quality accommodation, service and food.

Room Tip: Do not book a room without en suite facilities unless you like a loooong walk
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank family777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Thank you for your comments. We always dissect very point, in every review and discuss everything with all of our staff. Please be reassured that we have read and debated all your comments
We are as distressed as you that you left feeling so negative about your stay. We are here to try and make peoples' vacations enjoyable and while certainly not complacent take heart from the positive reviews we also receive. What you describe is the very same experience as those that leave us Five Star reviews. We are certainly not a five star hotel but a family run walkers' hotel trying to provide an informal, comfortable and friendly service.
We co-operated with your booking agent to squeeze you in - by providing our spare room in an attempt to accommodate you with the party you were joining,... when the other local hotels were unable to do so. An attempt at assistance we now regret!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

A night at the Royal Oak includes your 3-course evening meal which greatly enhances one's stay. The dining experience is wonderful. There is a set meal (with a vegetarian option) which is served at 7:30. The staff is very profession and the food well prepared and presented (along with delicious home baked bread). After dinner you can enjoy coffee or tea in the parlor along with chocolates. The rooms are roomy and the bathrooms feature with modern appointments. There is limited wifi but it can be accessed in a sitting room behind the office.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
Regards
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews