We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$212
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$168
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$255
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$255
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$196
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
157
73
38
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
157
73
38
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesother guestsevening mealcoast to coastset menulake districtdrying roomsmall bardinner gongsouppuddingtv loungeold fashionedrum butterbakewell tarthome madeblast from the past
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 287 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This is a family run hotel. Having stayed at this hotel in Rosthwaite 6 times in the last 5 years and found most of the residents like my wife and I are regulars at the place, staying once or twice a year there clearly is something very positive about it. The rooms are clean, the food is excellent and quite adeqauate, The staff are very friendly and helpful, The location for walking in Borrowdale is superb and cannot be bettered. We like many other people will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms vary some have bath and shower others only a shower. There is ample off the road car parking.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englandlancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Very welcoming but more like a retirement home. That said all the guests were very entertaining. Food portions are a little on the small side for a hungry man that has been out all day. Room very clean and big and plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterboroughSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We are really delighted to have found this hotel.For years we have looked for a comfortable base for our regular Lake District trip and now we are happy to return to the Royal Oak.It is in Rosthwaite village , the heart of Borrowdale but it is not simply the location but the whole experience.
The decor has a hint of the 50's but we think the ambiance is fine.We are less interested in this than in a thoughtful and unobtrusive service There is a friendly spirit among the staff and the food is plentiful and well cooked. There is a lot of local knowledge and lots of Lake District books . Coffee, mints and chat in the lounge with a real fire but internet access in the back lounge if you need it. If you want to go to the theatre in Keswick, you are simply served early without fuss so this is also recommended
I even had a comfortable bed!(If you read my other reviews you will understand that this issue has ruined other places for me) Our room was spacious with noise of stream
I note the comment about an insecure drying room and do not think I have seen a secure one.. Surely the point is that there is somewhere to dry your wet things which you the guest can access.There is a sense ot trust here and all are here to enjoy the often wet Lakeland so why would they steal your boots etc when they must have their own?
There are loyal customers who keep returning, we will join them.

Room Tip: the annexe may be quieter
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank persistent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I've never been anywhere that sounds a gong for dinner and some of the furniture belonged in 1950.....hmmm...and as for the floral wallpaper! This place is very dated, certainly not suitable for walkers who can't guarantee when they will be back. Dinner is 7PM prompt! The staff were helpful and friendly enough and the location is A1. Some of the group complained about overly soft beds.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWP479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed here after 3rd day on Cumbria Way. Recd a warm welcome. Room was fine with good sized bathroom, WITH A WELCOME BATH! Nice to have the quiet of no TV in rooms. But, as it was Wimbledon, went to TV room and watched in the company of a couple who have been staying here for many years. A great recommendation.
Dinner was served to all at 7.00 Good home cooked meal efficiently served. No choice as such but very good roast beef. Same for breakfast.
Coffee and mints served in cosy lounges. Village a delight for a stroll after dinner. It is the sort of place we would return to. You will get to know the other guests if you stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews