We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$213
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$202
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$256
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$256
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$196
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
156
73
37
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
73
37
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesother guestsevening mealcoast to coastset menulake districtdrying roomsmall bardinner gongsouppuddingtv loungeold fashionedrum butterbakewell tarthome madeblast from the past
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 285 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2011

After a long days walking on a Coast to Coast holiday we were looking forward to a relaxing evening. On arrival at the Royal Oak we were greeted most curtly for being 30mins late for our evening meal. This is served at 7.00pm, and 7.00pm only! There is no option for the evening meal seating, when the 'gong' is struck all guests must be seated. We tried to explain that we had no signal to call ahead from the lakes but this was ignored. We were told to change immediately and come down. There really was little understanding that we were paying guests not residents in a nursing home. As a result we missed our meal as we needed more time to shower etc. We were however charged for a meal we didn't eat. A free pack-up was given the next morning but our evening had been ruined.
The decor was dated, shabby at best and resembled a care home. I appreciate that people have different tastes but this isn't even 'traditional' it is dated. We stayed in some superb places during our holiday, we would never return here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while walking the Cumbria way. This is a gem of a place. As other reviews state the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Both the breakfast and evening meal were excellent. and even in May on a damp night we were able to sit around a wood fire and exchange stories with other walkers. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We have been staying here for 18 years. We were recommended by a walking friend. We are not true blue walkers ourselves but 'we do our bes!t' and find this valley idyllic. The staff will do anything for you. For fear of showing my age and sounding like an old vermouth TV advertisement, anytime any place, anywhere should be the staffs' slogan of the The Royal Oak, Rosthwaite. A truly family run establishment, their children double up as chamber maids, receptionists and waiting staff when not at university. We watched them grow as the hotel's reputation has grown. Bright cheerful and ambient, interweaving traditional and modern themes. We had the misfortune to have our car broken in to many years ago near Ullswater, whilst staying here. One of their staff who has been there longer than the owners, found us the number of Penrith Police station, calmed my frantic partner down, and reassured her and explained what we needed to do, all whilst she was serving the dinner.
We managed to come when the foot an mouth crisis plagued every farmer on this island. For this we were awarded the accolade of an Oak customer and are suitably rewarded for this.On the same visit we were accompanied by my partner's mother who is elderly and is not a native speaker. The staff were doubly kind to her and made her feel at home.
What we like about this place is that the rooms do not have televisions (there is a TV room though) they do not have Wi Fi, and there is no mobile phone signal till you get to Catbells when you receive indignant looks from the sheep whilst phoning home. The menu is set but you have the choice of asking in advance and it will be changed for you, they cater for vegetarians. The hearty home made soups are made for fell walkers, the robust dinners with subtle touches, the light desserts, the ample help yourself cheeseboard, Carol's filter coffee, Keswick chocolate wafers.....oh and Ann's pastry is to die for. You just have to walk it off. There is a tiny bar with a full cellar including a full wine list. They will provide you with fresh milk at any civilised hour of the day, (no UHT on the hospitality tray). You can meet and chat with old friends from past visits or you can keep yourself to yourself, with 2 further cozy lounges good reading and good company and a log fire on chilly evenings. The staff will bend over backwards to ensure you enjoy your stay here, finding you bus and train times. Their knowledge of the area is abundant. We bumped in to two red deer stags round the corner at Grange one evening, the resident red squirrels stopped for a photo call for me. As did the pair of gooseanders in the fast flowing beck which burbles next to our bedroom.
When we visit each year ......it's like coming home to family.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We have stayed at The Royal Oak Hotel for many years, very welcoming and full of charm, it just keeps getting better,
This is a gem of a family run hotel set in the loveliest square mile of Lakeland and I can honestly say if you visit it once you will return again and again to sample its unique delights.
The rooms are comfortable and you wake refreshed to a wholesome breakfast of porridge /cereal / fresh fruit and a full cooked breakfast followed by toast and home made marmalade , a meal to set you up for a long walk in the fabulous surroundings.
A warm welcome will greet you on your return with an afternoon tea of freshly baked buttered scones served with home made apricot jam and brandy butter and in the winter months this is served in front of a crackling log fire in the comfortable lounge.
The evening meal of freshly prepared soup with granary bread, main course such as local lamb with all the trimmings (no choice but the menu changes daily) a good wine list and puddings to die for followed by local cheese and biscuits, fresh fruit and just brewed coffee, the perfect meal after a day on the fells.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and are a real asset to the hotel, nothing is ever too much trouble.
Most of the guests have stayed here many times and evenings can be spent talking to experienced walkers and novices alike about their Lakeland adventures.
If you are looking to stay in this part of the Lakes I can thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sproutlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We have been visiting The Royal Oak several times every year since 1990 ! So it must be good for us the staff make us most welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. We meet up with follow guests from previous visits and enjoy the "crack" in the bar or round the log fire. Heres looking forward to next visit in 2011 you wiil find my picture on the web site under Artists impressions entitled Clancys Bar. Good luck to every one at the hotel and best wishes for christmas and new year. Barbara , Ken & Clancy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_bailey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews