We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scafell Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveler rating
575
211
51
30
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
575
211
51
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriverside barcocktail barthe publovely hoteltravelzoo dealhotel restaurantthe barnes wallis suitemain restaurantwalkers barhigh standardrelaxed atmospherethe staff were friendly and helpfulone night staylake districtspa bathnice bathroomkippers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 890 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We hadn't been to the Scafell Hotel for about 10 years and was very surprised with improvements made since then. The bedrooms and bathrooms were well appointed and decorated. The Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was up to the standard we remembered. Thankfully there were not many dogs around! Will return someday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robwickenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I recently spent five nights at the Scafell Hotel in deepest Borrowdale. The hotel is located in the tiny village of Rosthwaite and is surrounded by gorgeous scenery. I also found it to be very conveniently located for all the walking that I wanted to do including Scafell Pike, Great Gable etc. There is plenty of good walking directly from the hotel door too and a bus service from Keswick.

I found the daily rate to be very reasonable considering the location, comfortable accommodation, hearty breakfast and fabulous five course dinners. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londoner54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had a lovely weekend break.Hotel is in a wonderful location with fantastic walking.Room was lovely with beautiful decor and modern bathroom,but lacked a view .Staff very friendly and helpful.Ate one night in riverside bar which was very reasonable and treated ourselves to eat in the restaurant on the sat night.Food and service was superb.Lovely garden to have a drink in after walking.Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here when walking the coast2coast.This was the most expensive and worst value.
Rooms are very small and expensive.
I was quoted a price of £85 but charged £130 for a twin room,
As the hotel hadnt bothered to confirm booking and price by email The unhelpful staff refused to charge the quoted rate.
Avoid
Try Glaramara which was much better the last time I did C2C

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I used to stay here often but returned after an absence of a few years recently. The hotel is in a lovely part of the Borrowdale valley but suffers from lack of views from most rooms and public areas overlook the car park. Despite this I used to stay here because it was like coming home, Miles Jessop, the owner would greet you like an old friend, but alas, not any more. The staff smile with gritted teeth and treat you like an inconvenience

The hotel has benefitted from a part refurbishment which is very good but it only extends to some of the rooms, my initial room was very tatty and shabby. I complained that it didn't resemble anything on the website and the receptionist made a big deal of moving me to a much better, refurbished room. I was made to feel like they were doing me an enormous favour despite the hotel being very quiet when I stayed.

Dinner was good, the food is always good here, not fine dining but plentiful and served on hot plates. Breakfast is a standard English breakfast, had better but also had far worse at other hotels.
The hotel is a good base for this part of the Lakes but it does lack any good views which is a pity. The lounge is a nice place to sit, that's the only part of the hotel with wifi.

On check out nobody asked if I enjoyed my stay, on check in nobody said welcome back. I don't expect VIP treatment but when you are a regular you expect appreciation. The management seem to court discount websites, one off stays who get offered heavily discounted rates while regulars are charged the rack rate.

It wasn't like this when Miles ran the hotel. Pity, I won't return

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room otherwise you will be disappointed. There is no discount for the old tatty rooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank JRyan1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews