We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place, No Air Conditioning”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Curtis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Curtis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Charming Place, No Air Conditioning”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a night at Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn during the heat wave that reached all the way to the Upper Peninsula (UP) of Michigan. When we arrived, I noticed some box fans in the windows and my heart sank. It was in the low 90's with almost 90% humidity and no breeze. Sure enough, when we checked in we discovered that not only do the rooms not have air conditioning, the restaurant and bar also do not. Now, I understand that this is the UP and it normally does not get this hot, but it is unforgivable, in my opinion, for a place that charges over $100 a night for a room to not have air conditioning. Our room also faced the parking lot and with the windows open (a necessity in the heat), we got cigarette smoke from the kitchen staff hanging out below our room and bright light from the parking lot all night long. With that said, we made the best of it, partly by going for drives in the car with the air conditioning on, taking cold showers, and filling up the hot tub with cold water and soaking in it.

On the positive side, the Inn is charming, the view of Manistique Lake is unforgettable, the food was incredible, (we ate lunch, dinner and breakfast the next morning - all were top notch), the service was excellent, and they had live music. So, I guess what I'm saying is, we would have had a fantastic stay if the place was air conditioned. Without air conditioning, the stay was just okay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmeade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    21
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was my husband's favorite place of our trip around the lake. Good table service hot breakfast and they allowed my husband to use the kayaks to paddle around the lake. I get a sense that this is the best restaurant in town though we didn't have an opportunity to try it. The room was older but sufficient for our family. We would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We called at the last minute and got the last room. We were so lucky because this was a great place. Food was excellent and ambiance really old school. Hospitality was incredible and they even had a two man band the night we stayed. They have a great view of the sunsets from their front porch. We loved this place...

Room Tip: The third floor rooms are a little warm in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We headed up to Curtis for a wedding found Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn Bed & Breakfast. The staff were extremely nice, Bud & Kelly greeted us every morning @ breakfast. Breaksfast was especially delicious for the big eater, It was truly a "lumbarjack" breakfast. We stayed in room 14. had a great queen size bed, a twin bed and futon, chair & 1/2. private bath. very clean, waking up in the am to a beautiful view of the lake. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband and I wanted a quick end of the summer get away and recently spent a night at Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn. We had a great time from start to finish. We traveled from Sault Ste. Marie approx 80 miles west to Curtis Mi on our motor bikes. The weather was beautiful 75-80 F the entire trip. With a touch of autumn in the trees. We enjoyed a refreshing beverage served by the owners Bud and Kelly and went down to the lake and enjoyed a kayak to an island full of roosters. (yes roosters) We ventured back and dined on a delightful meal of whitefish and ribs with warm bread topped with rasberry butter. Loved the entertainment by Potters Field which topped the evening off perfect. Woke up to a breakfast of pancakes and bacon. Took the shore line along Lake Superior home The Eastern Upper Penninsula of Michigan is breathtaking. We are proud to be true Yoopers and live in this beautiful area. The Inn was charming a trip certainly worth taking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris42684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Inn was a beautiful restored lumber baren's home at one time. I do think it served at one time as a place to stay while traveling by rail also. There was a total i believe of 15 bedrooms. Several had their own private bathrooms. We were one of the lucky ones. Antique furniture throughout the Inn. A hugh back porch with awesome views of Lake Manistique. The back porch was also used to dine on if weather permitted. While we were there the weather was beautiful so we did eat our breakfast's both days we were there and that was wonderful. Guests could sit and drink coffee or other beverages and just visit with the owners or other guests. They had kayaks for use also. Beautiful lake and very shallow near the shore and dock areas for swimming. Watch for blook suckers as my husband found one on his toe after swimming. The biggest surprise was the food served for all meals. They were wonderful!! Great choices for lunch and dinners. Breakfasts were just one choice, but were filling and delicious. We were blown away how good the dinners were. People from all around the lake would come and dock their boats up at the dock and have a meal and sit and talk with the owners and guests. We met a lot of locals who come on a regular basis to eat there. The food was a little pricy, but well worth it. We would recommend this Inn for a nice little get away anytime you're up in the UP of Michigan.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room with a view of the lake and one with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Ole Forest Inn provided us with a wonderful stopover in the UP en route to Petoskey, MI from Madison, WI. The location is to die for if you love the woods and water (and the weather cooperates, I guess, as it did for us). The setting on the lake is gorgeous and the Inn is well-maintained. We stayed in the Chamberlin Suite which was spacious, private and very clean. The weather was unusually warm but there was good ventilation and we had no regrets being on the 3rd floor.

It's a pretty casual place but everyone was genuinely friendly and VERY attentive and accommodating. You want to eat on the porch or take some port to your room - no problem! Dinner and breakfast were excellent; we really can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the 18 hours we were there. It was the perfect break for a long drive, allowing us to meet our friends for lunch in Petoskey the next day. We'll come back again when we get the chance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Curtis
15.2 mi away
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
#1 of 2 in Naubinway
50 reviews
13.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
0.0 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn

Property: Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn
Address: Big Manistique Lake, P.O. Box 307, Curtis, MI 49820
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Curtis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Curtis
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing