We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay the night again - or a week!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Curtis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Curtis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Ole Forest Inn provided us with a wonderful stopover in the UP en route to Petoskey, MI from Madison, WI. The location is to die for if you love the woods and water (and the weather cooperates, I guess, as it did for us). The setting on the lake is gorgeous and the Inn is well-maintained. We stayed in the Chamberlin Suite which was spacious, private and very clean. The weather was unusually warm but there was good ventilation and we had no regrets being on the 3rd floor.

It's a pretty casual place but everyone was genuinely friendly and VERY attentive and accommodating. You want to eat on the porch or take some port to your room - no problem! Dinner and breakfast were excellent; we really can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the 18 hours we were there. It was the perfect break for a long drive, allowing us to meet our friends for lunch in Petoskey the next day. We'll come back again when we get the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 87 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

Very nice bed and breakfast in the U.P. of Michigan. The room was very comfortable, nicely decorated, with own private sink. The shared bathroom down the hall was no problem- very clean and nicely decorated. The restaurant /dining room had great food & service. The full breakfast was excellent!! All of the staff was very personable and attentive.....The porch view of the lake was so relaxing, my only wish is that we could have stayed longer!! The 'Doowops' Quartet made the night!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karekosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We had stayed at this Inn once before and when passing thru Michigan, last week, decided to try it again (which is sometimes a mistake because it's not always as good as what you remembered). We were not disappointed. Had a corner room, facing the lake. Our dinner was delicious and the entertainment was fun. Morning breakfast was very good. Would highly remcommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Chamerlin's for a few nights on a trip to the UP and loved it. We got the package that included a few dinners and drink vouchers, which was a real bargin. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant, the room was spacious and comfy and the food was excellent. The only slight hitch was that sometimes the service during dinner was a bit slow, but that was a minor issue, everything else was great. Breakfast came with the room and was very tasty and hearty. The view from the back porch of the lake was also really lovely.

It is also a good jumping off point to get to the Pictured Rocks as well as points south. We had a fabulous experience and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgeandgracie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We have now stayed at Chamberlin's several times and will most certainly keep going back! The owners, Bud and Kelly, and all of their staff are such wonderful hosts that we would go there even if it was just a shack! Conveniently, it's not! As an extra added bonus to the hospitality we've really come to enjoy, it's a beautiful inn with amazing food in an absolutely beautiful setting! Going to Chamberlin's always feels like coming home!

The restaurant portion of the Inn serves wonderful food and the included breakfasts are amazing.

On our last trip we took our then 7 month old daughter with us and it was great. We'll definitely be back as soon as we get the opportunity!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h2project
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I found this on Google and booked their package that included Dog Sledding at Nature's Kennel. Was a nice, warm and charming building. Bud & Kelly were very friendly and accomidating.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thej999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We were greeted by Bud, the owner, on arrival, right during the middle of their dinner rush. He graciously directed us to our rooms--no need to pay then, they'd sort it out when we got ready to leave. This quiet kind service was routine for our stay. (Just a note--the prettier view of the buidling is from the water side.)

We had reserved 3 rooms for our family trip. The best was room #15 on the top floor--gorgeous view & spacious room. The other two rooms were quite nice as well. The showers had plenty of hot water & good water pressure. The beds were comfy. Much to our surprise, they even had wireless internet.

We'd planned to have dinner the first night at Chamberlin's and then find another place to eat the next night, but we were so pleased with our first dinner that we decided to try a second night. We weren't disappointed--the 2nd night was even better than the first! We also had 2 hearty & delicious breakfasts. The staff was incredibly friendly & helpful with our selections as well. We never felt rushed, and meals were served in a reasonably timely fashion.

We took a day trip to Pictured Rocks the first full day we were there, and when we arrived home, we were cold & wet. Bud had started a fire just for us, and he kept it going the whole time we were there.

The house has great history and a wonderful view of the water. Sunsets are stunning from the walkway to the water.

We were all very pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed our stay. We felt right at home and would happily stay there again. They have a Follywood production in July, and if we have time to get back there for that next summer, we'd love to do it.

As a previous poster mentioned, if you're trying to find a place to stay within 100 miles of Curtis, I can't imagine finding a better spot.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LLMCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn

Address: Big Manistique Lake, P.O. Box 307, Curtis, MI 49820
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Curtis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Curtis
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing