We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice campground”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Covert-South Haven KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Portage, MIchigan, USA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice campground”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed for Memorial Day weekend in 2013 in our travel trailer. Located in Southwest Michigan, it is close to many great lake shore towns and Lake Michigan beaches. Close distance to boutique shopping, wineries, apple orchards, pumpkin patches and other outdoor activities. But you don't need to leave the campground to find fun. Campground is only 7 years old so grounds and buildings are in good condition. The facility is gated so no non campground traffic can drive through. Check in even on a busy holiday weekend was easy. They had a reception person at the gate giving us instructions. Registering inside went quick, they had a special offer on campfire wood and they also allow you to have a "tab" at the store so you don't have to keep giving the kids money for the activities.

An employee loads up your wood order on a cart and escorts you to your site, shows you where all the hook-ups are and deposits your wood next to the fire pit. All RV sites are pull through so it makes getting set up easy. No arguments with the wife trying to get backed in just right :)

As far as amenities, they have a nice heated pool. Even though nights were in the 40's when we were there, the pool was in the 80's. Main lodge has nice store, ice cream shop, and other food. They will deliver pizza to your site from the lodge. Main lodge has nice, clean bath rooms accessed from the inside so no bugs in the potty room and temperature controlled. There are also 8 individual "closet type" showers in there as well. A cool thing for dog owners is their dog park with agility course. A nice place to let the dogs burn off some energy off leash. Basketball court, sand volleyball court, horseshow pit, two carpet ball games, indoor game room and laundry facilities at the lodge, and of course a large jumping pillow to let your kids burn off energy. There is a hiking trail in a back woods and a small fishing pond.

Most of the sites we saw were nicely laid out and level. However some sections are on a slight grade so while your RV parking will be fine, your "yard" may be sloped. The alternate bath house to the back of the site is unimpressive. 4 closet showers, a couple with doors that didn't lock properly. A small bath room with no outdoor door closure. Men's was one urinal and one stall and a tiny corner sink. No bugs when we were there but you probably would be swatting mosquitoes on the pot in the summer time. If nice bath rooms are important for you, request a site close to the lodge. Unfortunatly, most of the non-full hook up sites are closer to this other bathhouse.

We only had one issue while we were there. At check-in our price was higher than what we were quoted on the phone. The person at check-in couldn't help me so I returned the following morning when it wasn't busy and spoke to the manager/owner. While we probably determined that the person at the "800" number didn't ask enough questions to quote me the right price, she refunded the difference back to my original quoted price which was satisfactory for me.

You will notice that they are a little pricy for a stay although I think that is common with a KOA. Be aware, the base site price only is for two people, more people are extra per person per day. I will say their activities and amenities are above average and that is what you are paying for.

The staff is very friendly and accomodating and there are a lot of them. They come around several times a day to pick-up trash by your site. I saw the bathrooms being cleaned and checked regulary. We were surprised at how quiet the campground was too. No problem with putting young kids to bed early. The only golf carts we saw were the staff carts so no noise polution or extra traffic from people driving those around all the time.

Overall it felt like a safe, clean, friendly and relaxing place to stay. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pevk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This KOA is a very nice campground. Very clean and the staff is very friendly. Throughout the weekend there are alot of activities for the kids. There is a dog park and a nature trails for your furry kids . I will return and bring friends :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giggly711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Let me start by saying that the family that runs the Covert/South Haven KOA is very nice and seems to genuinely care about their campground. I think they have the right mentality to one day have a gem of a KOA. They just aren't quite there yet. We stayed in one of their 2-room cabins during our 3 night stay. When we arrived, it was in the mid-90's outside and our cabin was sweltering. We turned on the window AC unit and suddenly the cabin started shaking. The AC unit was so loud we practically needed earplugs when we were inside the cabin, and it vibrated so bad that it shook the whole cabin. It did very little to cool the cabin down, basically just made a ton of noise. We were there to enjoy ourselves though, so we made the most of the loud and steamy cabin and didn't complain. The cabin was right next to the camping kitchen, which we really find to be a useful "must-have" at any KOA. A few lights in the kitchen would be a welcomed addition though. The bathrooms/showers are a little bit of a walk, and are extremely tiny. We used the ones connected to the office because they were nicer and the closer ones were always occupied.

The Covert/South Haven KOA offers activities, but they all cost money. It's unfortunate, because we chose this KOA based off all of their activities they list on their website. When you're a family of 5 you travel on a budget. When you're not expecting extra unplanned expenses it gets to be disappointing when you constantly have to tell your kids that we can't do any of the fun stuff. The Sunday pancake breakfast cost as much as a restaurant would charge, the t-shirts cost, the jumping pillow cost each day of use, their blueberries cost. I emailed the owners about this and received a very kind email stating that they don't explicitly state on their website that anything is free. But at the same time, they don't say that anything costs extra either.That part of the stay definitely dissapointed our family, which was a big part of our choosing their KOA.

Luckily, this KOA is very close to a lot of beautiful scenery and things to do, and we took full advantage of Van Buren State Park and South Haven. If there was nothing to do in the area and we had to rely strictly on the KOA for entertainment we would have been sadly dissapointed. Because we had plenty of other stuff to keep us occupied we were able to take it for what it was worth, enjoy being together as a family, have a few nice campfires, laugh about the jet engine AC in the back of our cabin, and get a little bit of sleep in between.

While our experience was average at best, I think we'll try the other KOA's in the area and compare before we come back to this one again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdcyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iadoreprince
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We weren't planning on staying here but our plans changed and we needed a place and they were able to help us out for a couple nights.

We stayed in a two room cabin close to a camping kitchen that was very handy and nice. We used it a few times. They have nice lodges in the woods around a small fishing pond that looked fun. There was a jumping pillow , crafts , movies each night nice pool , game room , walking trail etc. They are close to Lake Michigan if you feel like playing in the waves and they have their own blueberries you can pick.

very friendly owners who offered us their rv to stay in seeing they were booked for the weekend.

It wasn't a planned stop but sometimes the unplanned turn out to be the funniest. Thanks for all your help and we will be back.

Stay here you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: lodges around the fishing pond are new and look fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iadoreprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covert
6.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
339 reviews
9.0 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
9.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
15.7 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#1 of 6 in Saint Joseph
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covert-South Haven KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covert-South Haven KOA

Property: Covert-South Haven KOA
Address: 39397 M 140 Hwy, Covert, MI 49043-8711
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > Covert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Covert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covert / South Haven KOA has everything you need to enjoy a relaxing vacation in the great outdoors. Enjoy our beautiful location just a few miles from Lake Michigan as well as all the amenities we have on the campground including a jumping pillow, heated swimming pool, planned activities and much more. Campers will love our spacious RV sites, shaded tent sites or two different types of cozy cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Covert-South Haven KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing