We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pines is not a Resort”
Review of Pines Resort

Pines Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copper Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pines Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pines is not a Resort”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Pines Resort is NOT a "resort". It is an old fashion pull up to the door "motel". The room was fairly clean, but old style and need maintenance very badly. There was mold in the bathroom, which was bad for my asthma. There is no air conditioner or celing fan. In fact, the room was so hot and muggy that we went to the General Store and purchased the only small window fan available. The so called "hot tub"... appeared to have neem down for months The "Sauna".... closed for repairs. The "sun porch"... They enclosed the cement in front of the doors to the rooms and threw their old living room chairs out there. View.... It is not near the water. The view out our window was an old truck behind the kitchen trash cans.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BamaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Escanaba
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Did not stay at the resort but the restaurant is very good. Food was excellent and prices were good. But, the waitresses were the best. Friendly and helpfull to no end. Will definitely eat her when in Copper Harbor again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank easyrider67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
370 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Clean cabin, furnishings, towels. No a/c which is typical of this area but there was a ceiling fan and table fan which was adequate for the heatwave while we were there. Very convenient location and very friendly staff at the bar and restaurant.. Furniture was also very basic, no frills. Would definitely stay 1-2 nights but not much longer. Can't comment on the motel rooms but the cabin and motel prices were the same. Very convenient to snowmobile/ATV trail which comes in right behind the motel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagotoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nw wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We stayed in one of the cabins for 4 nights while we set out to hike and explore the tip of the Keweenaw. We had two dogs with us (well-behaved, of course). While the accommodations were somewhat dated, the cabin was very clean and the couch and bed were comfortable. The staff were very personable, friendly and helpful - we had a little trouble figuring out how the hot water supply in the shower worked but the manager came over right away and solved the mystery. We cooked some of our meals in the cabin, but the staff gave us an excellent recommendation for a special dinner out. Zik's Bar, where we stopped for pre-dinner drinks several evenings, is definitely a local hangout but the locals were fun and conversational. We'd stay again if we go back because we always appreciate places that are dog friendly and comfortable.

  • Liked — dog friendly pleasant staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pilgrimNwWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

The Pines Resort advertises all remodeled rooms. DO NOT take the room #2. It is NOT remodeled. It is moldy and I became sick after staying in it. They even placed charcoal and some other type of oder eating sand in the room under the couch, that did not work. I sprayed with Lysol, that did not work either. They were not very friendly either. They did not listen to my complaint or offer to do anything about it. I would NOT go back and stay there.

Helpful?
4 Thank stuey1Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2007

Visited in the middle of a cold snap for the UP, so definitely a lot of snowmobilers around.

The room is not at all fancy and, while clean, was definitely worn. The bedspreads and linens have funky patterns and are thin. The bathroom was clean and basic...the entire room is paneled with knotty pine so it gave off a pretty kitschy vibe. Bring all of your amenities with you, like shampoo and a hairdryer.

We went to Zik's Bar for drinks before dinner at the restaurant across the street, and had breakfast at Zik's in the morning, which was very good (more piney splendor!)

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DPT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robbinsdale, mn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2006

I have been staying at the Pines at least once a year for a long weekend since 1992. It is clean, comfortable and the wait staff is top notch. I usually go in late October during the weekend of the lake Superior road rally. the cars do come through the town which makes it interesting.
I have no problem recommending this fine establishment to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of the big city

  • Liked — The comfort and quiet
  • Disliked — needs a better cable TV package
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank packbratbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines Resort

Property: Pines Resort
Address: PO Box 122, Copper Harbor, MI 49918-0122
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Copper Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Copper Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing