We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best campgrounds we've ever been to....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copper Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is one of the cleanest, nicest campgrounds we have stayed at. It's quiet and within walking distance to most everything. We love it!!!!

Room Tip: There are full hook-up campsites with sewer, cable, water, electric and free wi-fi on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glamfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 86 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

My wife and I have been going to this resort for over 25 years. The current owners have always been friendly and do a good job running and maintaining the place. This is why we keep coming back year after year. These are the nicest facilities in Copper Harbor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I reserved a cottage for 2 days this past weekend. After I had unloaded my 4 old sleds, unpacked the truck, groceries in the frig, etc. I then decided to take a ride. I ran into a buddy attending the same event. He asked if I would help him unload his sled, I said sure, we have nice big snow bags at my cottage. So, we drove back to Fanny Hooe, backed up to the snow bank, slid the twin track Skidoo off the truck, and looked up to see the owner coming at us screaming(and curisng) because we were un-registered and using his snow bank! I explained to him I was registerd and staying in cottage 4. That didn't seem to matter, words were exchanged, and I was thrown out and given 30 mins to pack up everything and be gone, or he was going to call the cops. It was bad enough getting thrown out and my weekend plans virtually ruined, as my buddy from down state was staying in the cottage next to me. I now had to go home or find other accomodations. Luckily, after people heard of my bizzare incident, a very FRIENDLY local offered me his room. I told my story later to several riders that night, and several of them had similar stories of their own about how rude and un-hospitable the owners are of Lake Fanny Hooe. I'll go back to Copper Harbore because I enjoy the area, and met alot of nice locals, including other business owners. BUT I would sleep in the snow bank(not by Fanny Hooe) before I'd ever stay anywhere near Lake Fanny Hooe!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while snowboarding at Mount Bohemia. The view out the back was beautiful, overlooking Lake Fanny Hooe. The room itself was a bit dated, but extremely clean and well kept. The beds were comfy. There is wireless internet and a small balcony or patio.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WIcamper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Well cared for motel, cabins and campground. Our motel room was somewhat dated however extremely clean with very nice shower/bathroom, good mattress and pillows (only wish a fitted bottem sheet would be used) kitchette and super view of the lake. The walls were a little thin but all guests seemed to respect each other, no problems with loud or wild parties. Located on many trails for hiking, atv's, biking or winter activities. Great location in town, off the main street but close enough to walk to dining, churches, shopping and local bars. Drive into town and around the area (Brockway Mt. and Eagle Harbor) is breathtaking with an aray of fall colors. Full house so it must be a winner. We will use this resort again, very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagement2, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

We're pleased you enjoyed your accommodations and your stay with us. Thank you for the review and we're looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The owners here obviously take great pride in their property. The grounds are well maintained - buildings, bathrooms and showers, and even picnic tables look like they've just been painted. The bathrooms and showers were always clean as a whistle, the clubhouse neat and tidy. Lake access is great, with a buoyed swim area, dock to fish from, and lots of space to just sit. The playground has a great playscape for the kids to use, and there's a community fire pit if you have a large group. Fees are reasonable and in line with other private and state campgrounds we've stayed at. The folks in the office were always pleasant, and very helpful when I had questions about the local businesses. No cell phone service available here, but Wi-Fi is provided and accessible in the clubhouse and from some campsites. Highly recommended as a nice quiet place to enjoy Michigan's Upper Peninsula.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagement2, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our campground and amenities. Thank you for sharing your enjoyment with other TripAdvisor members. We appreciate the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is our 5th or 6th time camping at Lake Fanny Hooe and once again we had another great experience. The bath houses are always clean and the staff is helpful. We love that we can ride our ATV's from our camping site.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrisP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagement2, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

We're happy to know our efforts are appreciated and we always look forward to seeing our repeat guests year after year. Thank you for your continued patronage and compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground

Address: 505 Second Street, Copper Harbor, MI 49918
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Copper Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Price Range: $65 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasonal resort with two-bedroom cottages and lakefront motel with kitchenettes and individual balconies on historic Lake Fanny Hooe and bordering 250,000 acres of northern wilderness. Modern campground with water/electric and full hook-up sites for tents and RVs. Centrally located and walking distance to most of Copper Harbor's shops and restaurants. Great fishing spot with many nearby attractions such as Ft. Wilkins State Park, Copper Harbor Lighthouse, Brockway Mountain, Isle Royale National Park,and Lake Superior. Resort amenities include clubhouse with hot showers and clean bathrooms, indoor fireplace, game & snack room, sandy swimming beach, outdoor fire pits, picnic tables, grills, gift shop/camp store, LP gas, dump station, laundromat, playground, and boat rentals on premise. Direct access to hiking, biking and ATV trails. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing