We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
History!!

The state of Michigan has done an incredible job preserving the Fort. It really gives a sense of... read more

Reviewed December 12, 2018
Emmy L
Nice park

Stopped in when we were in copper harbor. Well kept state park.beautiful view and very informative... read more

Reviewed October 14, 2018
csobel
,
Macomb, Michigan
via mobile
Read all 270 reviews
  
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
176
73
13
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
176
73
13
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake fanny hooe self guided tour step back in time daily life laundry facilities costumed interpreters camp host great history history buff re enactment gift shop interesting historical site several buildings early in the season camp sites are answer questions on display
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 270 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2017


Take a couple of hours to talk with the characters that portray the people who lived during the era of Fort Wilkins.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Babskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

We spent a morning here on a recent trip to Copper Harbor and really enjoyed our visit. The location, right on Lake Fanny Hooe is scenic. The self-guided tour of the fort was very interesting. We got to learn about the history of the fort, what life was like there, and also a bit about archaelogists piece together the history of the location based on their findings. It was a fun way to spend a morning.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank HeroicPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

An older State Park but kept up pretty nicely. Our campsite was a little unlevel but when we made the reservation on-line it did warn us of this so we were prepared. We had a beautiful view of Lake Fanny Hooee. It was so peaceful and quiet our whole stay. This might be our favorite Michigan State Park. Definitely worth the drive.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful campground with nice trail system for bikes. Beach, history, nature in one and biking distance to town. We had a site at the far west end of the campground and it was large, private and had a paved pad. My kids enjoyed swimming in Lake Fanny Hooe, even though there isn't a formal swimming beach.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank jennifersY6722UM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

The building had great informational signs explaining what life was like at the fort. Sometimes there can be too much information but this was not the case here. It was set up with hands on activities for younger kids. Expect to spend about an hour here at most, unless it's really crowded.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews