We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice park

Stopped in when we were in copper harbor. Well kept state park.beautiful view and very informative... read more

Reviewed October 14, 2018
csobel
,
Macomb, Michigan
via mobile
Great place to camp with the family

I have been camping here with my dad since I was 2 years old and now im about to start bringing our... read more

Reviewed October 12, 2018
Chris M
,
Door County
Read all 269 reviews
  
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
175
73
13
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
73
13
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake fanny hooe self guided tour step back in time re enactors daily life laundry facilities costumed interpreters camp host enjoy history great history history buff gift shop hands on activities rock collecting interesting historical site several buildings early in the season
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 269 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2017

Fort Wilkins is an above average campground with a good historical component. Good for hiking and rock collecting. Enough activities to keep families occupied for a weekend. I would definitely camp there again. My only criticism is that there is not much privacy between campsites. For us, it was not a problem because we went before the camping season really kicks into high gear (in June, during the black fly hatch). The campsites are quite close together with few trees or shrubs for privacy, as compared to many other wilderness campgrounds.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank WeatherGuy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017

This State Park is just Northeast of Copper Harbor and nestled between an interior lake and Lake Superior. The sites are grassy, and nicely sized. We used electric hookup, so we were in the West section of the park. There is a fair amount to see within walking distance and town is about a mile away using a paved bike path.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank suzyQ2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017 via mobile

Really cool place to visit. Lots of history, the buildings are really neat to walk through and lots of pictures and artifacts. The gift shop has a great little ice cream shop to visit after walking through the park. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank BigMamaNonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017

One could spend a lot of time at Fort Wilkins State Park (hiking in and out). All you need to get in is the MI Recreation Passport (only $11 for residents, and good all year). It takes about an hour to go through the fort if you take the time to look at everything. The grounds are very pretty and well upkept, and the history is interesting. It is not quite the fortress that one imagines if they've visited the fort on Mackinac Island, but it is fascinating nonetheless. Definitely watch the video located in the first building you come to. From the state park, there are several trails and nice waterfront views. Picnic tables and playgrounds are also present. Cross the street for a nice view of the lighthouse and a harbor perfect for skipping rocks if you can locate the right ones.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank kcturner96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017

This place is so cool. The re-enactors are incredible. They take you back to a time when it was an outpost for fur traders and explorers. Beautifully restored....a definite MUST SEE.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank jerdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews